We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Wingate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham St. George to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   144 West Brigham Road, St. George, UT 84790   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Wingate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We've been making the rounds in St. George and really enjoyed our stay at the Wingate. It's a very clean, contemporary hotel in Bloomington - just outside St. George. The manager at the front desk couldn't have been more accommodating! He was so nice!! I'm so sorry I can't remember his name - Mike? He is PERFECT for his job. We upgraded to a suite, and loved the extra space. Very comfortable bed, nice linens.. my only complaint would be the scratchy towels. they should probably be replaced soon. The hotel was very quiet - which is a huge bonus. No slamming doors, no hearing conversations in the room next door. Very good hot breakfast buffet that is included in the price. Eggs, sausage, oatmeal, great waffles - fruit, yogurt, etc. Very nice pool area. We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on an upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Mike, our front office manager, really is perfect for his job. We are luck to have him! We hope to see you again next time you are in St. George.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    167
    53
    10
    6
See reviews for
218
142
21
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Wingate twice in the past year, and find it to be one of the cleanest and most up-to-date hotels in the St. George area.

The front desk clerks and staff were very courteous and professional, welcoming you to this gem. The rooms are very clean, with quick access to I-15 at the Bloomington exit. There aren't a lot of restaurants within walking distance but if you want a clean comfortable room, this is the place.

The hot breakfast in the morning is very convenient, complete with "to-go" cups for another cup of joe for the road. The pool and the fitness area are also nice to let the kids work out their restless energy.

I have just booked myself for another weekend there, coming up in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are so glad that you enjoy your time here and we are excited to have you back!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night on our way to Zion Nat'l Park. The location is convenient, right off the freeway and close to shops and restaurants. Our room was huge! Nice furnishings, great breakfast buffet. Nice pool, kind of in a courtyard-like area which shaded against the hot sun. I didn't use the workout room, but it looked very well equipped. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for stopping on your way through! I am so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will see you again.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our one day trip to Zion National Park. It is a short 45 minute drive to Zion, and less expensive than trying to stay closer. This is a newer hotel and was very clean and well managed. The hot breakfast was a real plus for us. Desk clerks were very pleasant and helpful and even gave us a map of the area. The only negative thing I can say is that the bed was a little hard for our taste, but everything else was excellent. They even had a pool and exercise room, although we didn't use them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our great staff took good care of you while you were here. Please come and see us again when you are in the area!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, UT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our way back from California. The desk clerk was very polite, the room very clean. I did get a chance to walk around the area a bit before having to leave. The pool and the surrounding area looked clean, as did the fitness room. The staff seemed friendly. The next time we travel to St. George, we will definitely give this hotel another try. I loved the bed...it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We wish that you could have stayed longer as well! We are so glad that you chose us for a stop on your way home. Please come and see us again.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel. A bit off the beaten path and 2 miles from restaurant, but nice nonetheless. Bed comfy, good pillows. Only complaint is that the tub didn't drain...eeeuuuu. No one at the desk when we tried to check out, but that was fine as we were prepaid. Clean and comfortable.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I apologize that we did not direct you to some of the great restaurants that we have within our development. We should have been a better guide and saved you a little travel time. I also apologize about your tub not draining. That is definitely not a pleasant thing to find in your room. We did receive that comment about a tub from a departing guest about the time your review was written and fixed the problem immediately. Again, your comments are appreciated. We hope you will visit us again!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one year ago and gave it a great review, but it has taken a turn for the worse. We first noticed the carpets were stained in the room, soda splashed on the wall behind the garbage can, there was garbage under the bed and behind the chair and our kids said the pool and the water in it was gross. It was obvious that the rooms were getting just a quick once over, there was dust on the headboard and all of the other edges in the room. The building maintenance has been let go. There were two lights out of six out in the drive-up area, the thermostatic control in the room had been disconnected instead of fixed (that was where we had adjusted and programmed the room controls last year) and throughout the hotel there were slight tears to the wallpaper and bites out of the wall trim that had not been repaired or replaced. We attempted to use the business center, but I had to fix the broken drawer on the printer/copier to get my document (this was one of the things I was taking vacation to get away from). The breakfast has also gone downhill, they didn't have whipped cream available for the waffles, they moved around the line-up so the coffee/hot water station was in the corner and you had to elbow your way through the room and breakfast line just to get a cup and the young lady in charge of the breakfast buffet could not keep up with the demand. Overall, this location has fallen a long way. They have a nice quiet location at the edge of town, walking distance to a few restaurants and you can even take a moonlight stroll in the neighborhoods surrounding the hotel. I hope that corporate will take a look at this property and restore it to what it was.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a hall, upstairs, with a western view. And preview the room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
I wanted to take a moment and let you know that I am so sorry about your negative experience this time around at our hotel. Our goal is not only to meet, but to exceed the expectations of each and every guest that we entertain. As the comments we receive from our guests are generally positive I was very concerned when I read your review. I can assure you that the items you addressed are being seriously considered as we make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay for each guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and to give us notes on what we might be able to improve.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Address: 144 West Brigham Road, St. George, UT 84790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. George
#6 Family Hotel in St. George
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham St. George is just 3 years new offering contemporary style with oversized rooms with your choice of one King bed or two Queen beds or our Two Room Suites with a King Bed and sofa bed. Your stay includes a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, milk, breads, cereal and extras. We are conveniently located for those visiting Zion National Park, Tuacahn Amphitheatre, Dixie State College and Southern Utah activities. Our courtyard and complex area includes a Super Wal-Mart, multiple restaurants, bank, gas stations, dry cleaners and nail salons. We offer airport shuttle to the St. George Airport. All rooms include flat screen TV, High Speed Internet, Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, In-Room Safe and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Hotel St. George
Wingate St George
St George Wingate
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham St. George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.