We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn St. George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn St. George to your Saves list
Hampton Inn St. George
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   53 North River Road, St. George, UT 84790   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unusual Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I'm a real fan of Hampton Inn. I've come to expect good service, comfort, and quality. Surprisingly, the Hampton in St. George, Utah, didn't make the grade last Friday night/Saturday morning.

The hotel is currently being renovated and staff clearly does everything possible to minimize any inconvenience. The problem, however, one that I would never have anticipated, arose at 5:00 AM when I climbed out of bed and into the shower. There was no hot water! By the time I finished my shower, the water temperature had risen to luke warm.

I informed the hotel clerk of my experience and he said he would "leave a note" regarding my complaint. He confided that he had difficulty brewing coffee, seemingly due to cold water. Beyond my unpleasant experience in a cold shower, I was also disappointed by the fact that nobody from the hotel contacted me to acknowledge my complaint. I'm not sure that management was ever informed.

This is not what I've come to expect from Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: I'm still a fan of Hampton Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vapor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor E, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn St. George, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to water temperature and the courtesy with which the situation was handled. We encountered an issue with our water heater and it was quickly addressed, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you return to the area so that we may provide the Hamptonality you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our family stayed here for 2 days during our first visit to Zion. Located 45 min outside of Zion, this hotel continues to uphold the Hampton Inn standards we look forward to: a clean room/bed, bathroom with ample space for toiletries & towels and a delicious breakfast. The hotel staff were polite and helpful. Another benefit is that this hotel is located directly across Old Navy & Target. Our favorite restaurant, the Cracker Barrel is also close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonitaCA_Partyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor E, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn St. George, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on trip advisor. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to you staying with us again in the near future! We love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for a week while hiking in Zion.
The hotel is right off the freeway and everything you could want is nearby.
Staff was very friendly and professional.
Rooms are small and old needing to be updated.
Cleaning could be better although the bed was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was good with many choices.
The pool and hot tub were clean although it looks like the ceiling has a mold issue.
They were doing renovations the week we were there so things are improving.
Snow Canyon State Park is close by and worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savanna888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor E, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn St. George, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Zion Park. We are currently under renovations in our lobby area and will begin our rooms in the coming weeks. We invite you to come and see us again when we are finished with our renovations. We love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Few Hampton Inns match this one! Great rooms, efficient elevators, well-organized breakfasts with fresh coffee. I give this a 10/10. Hamptons only go downhill from this one! You can walk to any number of restaurants which allows you to have a drink without driving.

Room Tip: If you're in the St George area, stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor E, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn St. George, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. We loved having you stay with us and look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Yellowstone from LA. It was very clean & comfortable with a standard buffet type breakfast included. The bed was on the "firm" (hard) side with a choice of comfortable pillows. One complaint: only one available plug for chargers.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 4th floor if you dont like hearing others above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGirlSouthBay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor E, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn St. George, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip through St. George! We are glad that you were able to enjoy our breakfast. Something exciting is just about to begin here at the Hampton, we are right around the corner from beginning a remodel. One of the many things we will be renovating will be the guest rooms. We will be adding a few extra outlets into the wall for easier access and make it more convenient for you during your next stay! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz In Rome
Level Contributor
117 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a night after visiting Zion national park. The hotel is conveniently located close to freeway and shopping center. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_in_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor E, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn St. George, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent trip to Zion Park. We agree with you that our location is very convenient to a lot of fantastic places of interest here in St. George. Also, we are glad that our staff took care of you during your stay! We look forward to having you here with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

It's right by the freeway near Bluff street. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. We had a king size bed in a large room. The breakfast was great - lots of choices both hot and cold foods. Much better than the average 'continental' breakfasts. I would like to see better options for the pillows. We don't like down and the alternative pillows were not quite right for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sehbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor E, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn St. George, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us, as well as taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the feedback that our guests have for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast. Regarding the pillow options, we are always trying to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. We will definitely look into more pillow choices, to make your next stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#1 of 41 in St. George
5.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
#13 of 41 in St. George
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. George
3.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. George

Address: 53 North River Road, St. George, UT 84790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. George
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. George
#6 Family Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely remodeled hotel in the heart of St. George Utah. Now 100% Non-Smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. George Hotel St. George
St George Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing