We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a night if you're tired, but this hotel needs work!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 S. University Ave., Provo, UT 84601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Provo
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Okay for a night if you're tired, but this hotel needs work!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that I would not recommend this hotel! I booked this hotel online for two nights as we were on our honeymoon traveling through Nevada, Utah, Colorado, and Arizona.

We arrived at about 9 PM on a January night. When we spotted the hotel from the road, we thought it looked average for a LaQuinta and having past positive experiences with the brand, we felt relieved. That reputation was soon to change.

We walked in to the front-desk area and took a place in line behind another man who was checking in solo. While waiting, I observed that the front-desk area appeared to be a buffet line as someone's dinner was spread out all over the counter area. When it was our turn, we let the clerk (Adam) know that we were there to check in and we had a reservation. He quickly pulled up our reservation on the computer and told us that "hotwire has you booked for 2 nights in 2 queen beds". Immediately, I asked if there was any way to change the request (we were on our honeymoon afterall). The clerk didn't even check to see available rooms (but from the looks of the parking lot there were plenty) before telling us that he wasn't allowed to make changes. He did however push the restaurant on us, by handing us a coupon for a free appetizer and telling us that his food (pointing to all the food on the counter area) looked good, then we should go check it out. He directed us to our and told us to pull our car around to a stairway, go up the stairs and our room was to the left.

We did as told and before long, we found ourselves facing a steep set of stairs to tote six suitcases up between the two of us (fishing was part of our trip and we didn't feel comfortable leaving our gear in the car). When we entered the room, it seemed dated and had an "old" smell to it but overall was pretty clean. The furniture and bed linens are in desperate need of an update - think 1993 hotel room. We freshened up a bit, before heading down to the restaurant for a bite to eat. We walked down the hall to another set of stairs so that we could avoid walking outside in the cold since the restaurant is connected to the hotel. On our way, we passed a room service tray with leftovers from someone's supper on it (please take note of this fact as I'll talk about the tray again later).

That night, after eating an average meal at the adjacent restaurant, we chose one of our queen beds and settled in for the night. My husband, who'd driven the majority of the day, was exhausted and fell asleep before I could even get in bed. Immediately, I noticed that there was a slope in the bed on my side which made it almost impossible for me to sleep. After several hours of tossing and turning, I could bear it no more and woke my husband up at about 3 AM to tell him we had to switch beds. We moved all of our suitcases off the other bed in the middle of the night and switched to what was a somewhat more comfortable bed (although it would have been nice to have a king).

The next morning, we awoke early and went to breakfast about 7 AM. The breakfast spread was impressive for a free hotel breakfast - there was sausage, eggs, fruit, assorted cereals, pastries, toast, juices, coffee and more. After getting our fill, we returned to the room before heading out for the day. The maid service had begun their daily routine. I noticed that the tray of leftover food, previously mentioned was still in the same spot it had been the night before. As we were leaving later that day, I observed a maid pick up the tray and place it on the floor in the hallway next to the vending machines on the second floor.

We stayed another night, which was slept in the better of our two beds and checked out at 4 AM the next morning. As we were lugging all of our suitcases down the stairs, I saw the same leftover tray of food still sitting on the floor in the hallway (eww!)! We stopped by the lobby to check-out and two employees were behind the counter. Before I even got close, one of them asked if they could help me. I told them I just needed to check out. He typed a few keys and said "all set" without asking me even once how my stay was or if there were any issues.

Overall, this a great budget friendly option if you're just in need of a bed to sleep in (and willing to roll the dice on level of comfort). I wouldn't recommend this hotel nor would I stay here again if visiting the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you have luggage and don't book through Hotwire if you'd like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zackary B, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive, memorable experience each and every time you stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta.

Your continued satisfaction and trust in La Quinta are our top priorities. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    48
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
57
40
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at La Quinta in Provo and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it is. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. The rate was reasonable too. They even called after we had gotten settled in our room to see if everything was ok. The beds were like new and the room was very clean. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zackary B, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Provo La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We where told to stay at La Quinta from the school our son attends. When we arrived we had to look around for someone to check us in. One person working multiple jobs. Our room was clean, not extra soap or shampoo. Bed was very uncomfortable. Blankets where alittle short. Breakfast was ok hard boild eggs instead of scrabbled, had to wait awhile to make your own waffles. Yes its close to a mall & walking distice to other stores & resturants but I think next time I will stay at another hotel. No ice in the ice machine.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2021... no microwave, not many clothes hangers. no dirty clothes bags & no ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zackary B, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the issues that occured during your stay here at the La Quinta Inn. It is always our goal to keep our breakfast well stocked at all times and to do our best at keeping every guest happy and comfortable, We appreciate your feedback and hope to make your future stays more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We chose a La Quinta for the first time and it was an okay experience. The staff were very good, the room was clean but not very soundproof, price was reasonable, location was convenient to walk around and get a bite to eat. Breakfast was okay - the usual fare, nothing special. We didn't have any complaints and we may use La Quinta again but probably like to stay at hotels a little bit higher quality and therefore price! An okay experience

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zackary B, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Provo Town Center La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

we continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manti, Utah, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here in november of 2012 and when i walked through the doors i was immediately seen and greeted with a very friendly front desk lady. She already had my reservation ready when i gave her my name so i just had to sign my name and receive my keys. I went to my room and when i opened the door, I smell a clean fresh smell. The room is gorgeous. In the morning I went to the breakfast bar and was pleasantly surprised to see a huge variety of hot food and cold juice, coffe and fresh fruit. Food tasted awesome. Then i went back to my room and i got to relax before my business I had to attend and the reason I got to relax is because their check-out time is 12oclock instead of 11 am or 1. I have never been anywhere that offers you the check-out at 12oclock. They also have a restraunt built right onto the hotel. Its a beautiful, clean restraunt. the food is very delicious and the staff is very friendly. The hotel is a perfect place to STAYstay for business and pleasure because of its location. It is right next to the provo mall ANDand right off the freeway, so it makes it easy to get into and out. Their are lots of other businesses and restraunts around. I love ths hotel, I give it 5 stars and I would deffinately reccommend it to everyone, wehter it be for business or pleasure. I went to this hotel because it was highly reccommended by some business collegues of mine and I am sure glad they did. This hotel is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zackary B, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Provo Town Center La Quinta.

we continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in room 204 the end of October. The TV was old (not a flat screen) and the remote did not work. The room was a little cool so I turned up the heater. It worked well. The blanket was thin and short. I felt like I was pulling on it all night to cover my shoulders. The pillows were fine. The towels were some of the best I've had in a hotel...actually looked at the brand to consider ordering some for my home. The shower head was high on the wall...important to us since my husband is 6'8". The breakfast was standard, folded eggs with cheese melted inside, bacon, waffles, beagles (no cream cheese or butter that I could see) toast and pastry's. Apple & orange juice. Fruit was bananas or apples and the normal hot and three choices of cold ceral. Our room had two beds...pretty sure they were full size beds, not queen. They were average...I've slept on worse at a Hilton in St. George. Tried to call in to fix the bill...they charged my credit card which we used to hold the room and also charged our debt card that we used the next morning at check out. Stayed on the phone for 10 minutes while I typed this review and NEVER got a live person. Just got the recording over and over about all the service reps being busy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laquintaprovo, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center during your recent visit to our area.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of not working Remote and Blanket to look into the matter and see to any necessary replacement or repair.

• I am glad that you found towel in the room assign to you the best.

I hope that the next time you are in our area you will once again choose to stay at the La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center

Address: 1460 S. University Ave., Provo, UT 84601
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Provo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Provo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aside from a great location - close to I-15, the Provo Towne Centre Mall, and many choices of eating establishments - The La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center offers outstanding amenities and beautiful, comfortable rooms. Each spacious guest room is equipped with free high-speed Internet access, a coffee maker, hair dryer, refrigerator, and much more. The hotel offers a refreshing outdoor pool (seasonal), convenient onsite fitness center, as well as two meeting rooms for up to 170 guests at La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Provo Town Hotel Provo
La Quinta Provo
Provo La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.