We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre hotel, wouldn't stay here again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1555 North Canyon Road, I-15 exit 272 Univ Parkway, Provo, UT 84604   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Provo
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    57
    88
    90
    102
See reviews for
191
66
54
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ephraim, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in July 2014. (Temps in the 90's) It was bad, of course, but you have to know what to expect for the price. -And to know to ask for a new room and keep asking until you get one you can live with. Also, keep a sense of humor with you and write down a running list of what's wrong with your room(s). I’ll give you the story first, then the good things at the end of my review. DISCLAIMER: You can't make this stuff up!
We didn't read any reviews but selected Provo Super8 solely on price. (our bad) After we made the reservation, we called the hotel to ask about pets. They had a hard time finding the reservation number (!), but finally found it and let us know we could bring our pet for an extra $20/night (not cheap, but ok). When we got there and checked in, we were happy to see a mini-fridge and microwave in the room (we have medication that required refrigeration). But it was hot, so first things first: the AC. The room's AC didn't work, the cover was falling off, and a sign said not to turn it up past "8" so it wouldn't freeze up. (no chance of that!) Hmm... Went to call the front desk, but the telephone didn't work. (!!) Went to the front desk and asked for a different room and why. Guy at front desk said "OK" and proceeded to make up new key cards for the same room we were in. (haha, not funny) (don’t they place broken rooms on an “out of service” list?? Guess not) But anyone can make a mistake, right? Back to 1st room and let kids know we’re moving down the hall. Found out the hard way the bathroom door doesn’t latch (oops, sorry!) It’s ok ‘cause we’re changing rooms, right?
We get to the new room and the AC works but we still can’t turn it up past “8”. (does this have anything to do with the “8” in the hotel name?) When checking under the beds in room #1 for any of our things that might already have fallen there, we see old pop bottles, tons of dirt, and a bunch of peanut M&Ms. C’mon, guys. (no wonder our dog kept trying to crawl under the bed).
In the 2nd room, we were all settled in when we noticed there was no shower curtain. Went to front desk to ask for one. He (different guy, similar lack of training) looked in the back room but came back to say he didn’t know where housekeeping keeps them, so he would switch us to a new room. I didn’t tell him this would be #3.
In the NEW new room is a modern AC with digital display that blows much colder air. But the bedside wall lamp arm is broken and falling over and the closet shelf/rod is falling off the wall. These we can live with. Oh, and there’s no fridge or micro. But we were done messing around. We made room #3 work for us. Nevermind the headboard falling off the wall, or the mold all over the side of the other headboard. Or the bathroom door that is so twisted it almost can’t latch. Or the entry door with no weatherstripping or sweep. (I guess that’s how all those spiders got into this room) Or the broken telephone (again).
This is by far not an exhaustive list of problems. (3rd room did not have any kind of dresser, which I understand is an AAA requirement) In all 3 rooms the beds were not cleaned underneath. But we enjoyed the pool and the breakfast was good (all carbs with a little fruit) and the beds were fairly comfortable and the shower had hot water and they gave us all the towels we asked for. The price was decent and they let us bring our pet. (I suppose the non-pet rooms are a little nicer) Our family bonded over all the goofy things and we just might come again.

Room Tip: keep asking for a new room until you get one you can live with. Keep a good sense of humor and keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Consider yourselves warned: this was the grossest, nasty-est hotel I've slept in. I stayed July 25th. It's one thing to stay in an old, musty, out-dated hotel, but when you combine that with filth....it doesn't get much worse. There was food and plastic utensils under our bed, drops and spatters of who-knows-what on the walls, mold on the ceiling in the bathroom, the list goes on! The pool area was littered with garbage, a decapitated Barbie, and torn-off leaves from the fake plants, all which had dust on them, so you know the garbage had been there for a long time. My son even said he wanted to get out if the pool because it was really dirty on the bottom. The spa has an old sign in it that said it had been closed down by the Utah Health Dept., so don't expect a dip in the hot tub. But the worse thing that happened was our AC didn't work, and it was hotter the Hadies in there! It was in the 90's outside, and felt even hotter in the room, and we had our children with us. After toying with it a bit, it still wasn't working. I went down to the front desk and told him what was going on, and that their were children in the room. He told me to go back to the room, and he would be up in 5 minutes. A half an hour went by, and by then we were literally sweating! I went back to the front desk, and asked him a second time to fix the problem. He finally switched us to another room, and NEVER even apologized! Terrible customer service!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our sincerest apologies! I truly am sorry to hear that your air conditioner was not working properly, but I am glad our front desk moved you to a room for you and your children to cool off in.

Our hot tub has not been available for a bit of time, as the health department requires it to be cement instead of fiber glass. Right now we are focused on renovating the guest rooms. We are repainting the walls, replacing the bedding and headboards, and will be purchasing new art for the walls. We hope that these changes will be satisfactory to our guests, such as yourself!

We would like to extend our gratitude to you for taking time to let us know of your concerns regarding your last stay with us. We honestly and truly hope that knowing we are making a conceited effort to improve our property, that you will return for another visit during your future travels!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

First please understand Super 8 Hotels are franchised and independently owned so do not judge all Super 8 Hotels by this Horrible property.

If you are ever in Provo Utah and are considering staying at this Super 8 Hotel please just sleep in your car. You will have a better stay.

This Super 8 has got to be the worst place on the planet to spend a night. It started out as we entered the hallway we overheard a maid demanding $20.00 tip from a guest for giving fast service. The guest responded offering a $5.00 but again the maid was demanding a $20.00 tip for providing fast service.

Our room was near the laundry room and the back door was not secured and SLAMMED closed so hard it shook the walls. This went on all night long.

The room had a musty smell and the sheets did not fit the bed. To use an electrical outlet for my laptop I needed to unplug the TV or the lamp.

We checked in on a Thursday and checked out Sunday morning and never did we receive maid service. On Saturday morning we left the room about 9:00am and I pointed out to the maid in the hallway doing a room two doors down she can do our room. We returned Saturday evening about 7:00pm only to see no maid service. We complained to the front desk and all they could say is the maids are off for the day. We were offered a new room but at 7:00pm we were in no mood to pack and move since this was our last night.

We made the reservation on line a month earlier and there was refunds otherwise we would have found a better hotel, and that would have been very easy to do.

The bottom line is to sleep in your car. If you must stay at a Super 8 Hotel there is one at 125 South 850 East, Lehi, UT

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Lloyd,

I assure you our housekeepers do not demand tips from our guests, as it is only up to the guest to leave a tip or not. I spoke to our manager at our property and the head housekeeper was briefed about this situation. She does not believe it happened, however, she will make sure it does not happen.

I am truly sorry that your room was not cleaned as you had requested. Though you were offered a new room, it is unfortunate that this incident even occurred. We would like to inform you that we are changing a few things at our property currently. Some of those things include freshly painted walls, new bedding and headboards, and new wall art to place on the newly painted walls!

We hope that your recent experiences will not hold you back from returning to our hotel during your next trip through Provo with your friends! Please, again, accept our sincerest apologies and we really do hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem

Address: 1555 North Canyon Road, I-15 exit 272 Univ Parkway, Provo, UT 84604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Provo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Provo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Provo Byu Orem Hotel Provo
Super 8 Provo
Super Eight Provo
Provo Super Eight
Provo Super 8
Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel Provo BYU Orem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.