We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey but excellent Japanese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Sumo at the Riverwoods

Happy Sumo at the Riverwoods
4801 N University Ave, Ste 810, Provo, UT 84604-5593
801-225-9100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 263 Restaurants in Provo
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
Restaurant details
Kaysville, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but excellent Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very authentic and tasty. I love just about everything here

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Tempura Deluxe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I always have to have Tempura when we go to the Happy Sumo. Absolutely heavenly. All the menu choices we have tried always are flavorful and delicious. YUM!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Happy Sumo keeps us happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

There are not great Japanese restaurants in Utah Valley as far as I can tell, but Happy Sumo delivers consistently good sushi in a nice setting. Service can be slow if they are very busy, which they often are in the evenings, but we have never had bad service, just slow service. The menu is good and the quality is consistent.

I wish they had a full bar, instead of just beer and wine, but mostly I wish they had hamachi kama (broiled yellowtail cheek) and uni (sea urchin roe). (As far as I know, the only place in the valley that serves those items is Koi in Am Fork.)

I'm not sure why there is a small flurry of bad reviews on Trip Advisor, but it certainly runs counter to my dining experiences. For a local sushi place in Utah valley, Happy Sumo delivers a nice meal. This is a good place that we frequently visit, especially in the warm weather when the patio is open.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Poor value.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The quality and timeliness of the sushi at Happy Sumo is quite erratic. I would recommend Shoga, Yomato, or Demae for comparable quality. If you are trying to impress someone for a date, the ambiance of Happy Sumo is quite nice, however, I believe you would do just as well with Shoga. Ultimately, at around $25+ a plate per person, it is hard to justify the cost over the other options in the valley.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Utah Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Sushi here is good for a city away from the coast. Far better then local competition. Decor is nice and modern and service is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Sumo at the Riverwoods also viewed

Provo, Wasatch Range
Provo, Wasatch Range
 
 

Been to Happy Sumo at the Riverwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Sumo at the Riverwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.