We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are repeat customers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saigon Cafe
440 W 300 S, Provo, UT 84601
8018121173
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 266 Restaurants in Provo
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Provo, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“We are repeat customers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Sometimes you are lucky enough to find a restaurant that rates high enough for repeat visits. That's the case with Saigon Cafe. It is a quintessential Chinese restaurant with a nice variety of offerings that come out hot and tasty. You can get bland or you can get spicy and everything in between - something for everyone. The family who runs it is attentive and friendly. The food, service and low prices keep us coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove, UT
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

When going out to eat with work colleagues, someone suggested Saigon Cafe. It wasn't quite as good as they raved about, particularly the fried rice, but otherwise it was tasty and a good value. Our service was prompt.

I didn't give this five stars since there are as good, or better, choices available in Utah Valley.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Lots of good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had dinner here following the recommendation of our daughter who discovered this restaurant while attending school in Provo. As soon as we got out of the car and smelled the mouthwatering aroma coming from the kitchen, I knew this was going to be a great experience. The Saigon cafe is a small family run place, a little out of the way, but well worth the trip. Service was so friendly and really fast. For a mere five dollars, we were served a bowl of soup, fried chips, egg rolls and a large entree with fried rice. None of us could finish all the food. I'm not qualified to say whether the food was truly authentic but everything we tried was delicious. My son had the garlic shrimp, my daughter cashew chicken, my husband orange chicken and I had the low mein. I admit that I generally take home leftover food because I hate wasting food--and then I throw it away later because leftover restaurant food rarely appeals to me the next day. But in this case we had the leftovers for lunch the next day! I would definitely eat there again when in Provo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“BEST DEAL IN TOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lot's of food, cheap price! I love this place because its such a great family run store. They're really nice and the restaurant has got its own cool vibe. A must for any take out order or nice 1/2hour break from work or school. The General Tso's chicken is my personal favorite.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NOT a Vietnamese place!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I don't know about the Chinese food here since I haven't tried it but the Vietnamese food is gross! I got the vermicelli noodle salad and I didn't even finish it! The noodles were slimy and mushy and the sauce was pure fish sauce. It was only $5 but it was a waste of $5. If you like cheap Chinese food then this place sounds good but if you want Vietnamese food go somewhere else! Rice King Noodle on Center St. is a much better choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Cafe also viewed

Provo, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Saigon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.