We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Mexican Food, Fast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
2250 N University Pkwy Ste 816, Provo, UT 84604-1500
(801) 375-5133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 238 Restaurants in Provo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh Mexican Food, Fast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Mexican food at Cafe Rio is, to be more specific, Mexican-American food, but it is delicious Mexican American food that is prepared quickly before your eyes. You order in front of a food counter, and in nearly every menu item, your meal begins with a freshly-cooked tortilla (and now whole-wheat tortillas are an option!) upon which everything else is placed. My favorite item is the vegetarian salad which comes with beans (black or pinto) seasoned rice, fresh Romaine lettuce, pico de gallo, a dash of Parmesan cheese, and a scoop of fresh guacamole. The salad is topped off with a handful of crispy corn tortilla strips.

The restaurant is usually very busy on weekend evenings, and it can be crowded, so consider phoning ahead for take out (or just pick it up at the take out counter and eat it there in the restaurant). This is a restaurant my wife and I visit monthly at least. We've never been disappointed with one of their meals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    17
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Its An Ok Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

All my friends love this place. For me it is just ok, i rather have authentic mexican food else where. They only have pinto and black beans. They are too fast in the line and dont listen to customer requests, they just rush through to the next customer. I heard the pork salad is the best menu item.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferron, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“My friend brought me a salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was a pork barbacoa, at least I think that's the name. It was so full of flavor! I really like all the items they put in their salad. Black beans, lettuce, a freshly made tortilla underneath! Just wonderful flavor!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Bad Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Cafe Rio is delicious but I would not recommend going to this one. For the few times that I've been to this one the service there is not up to par. I came in for a To Go order & the two To Go girls, who were just standing there with nothing to do, let me stand there for 5 minutes. Finally one of them told me that the cashier on the line would help me. So I went & stood at the other register where the cashier, instead of asking me what I had & let me pay for it, waited for the man coming down the line & checked him out before me. I felt very disregarded & that my business didn't matter. I love Cafe Rio but I would recommend going up to the Orem location. I live in Provo & drive the extra few miles to the Orem store.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Always Wonderful Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

One of my favorite Mexican restaurants. Fixed just how you like it. This place is always busy, but just go. The atmosphere is fun. The service is always great. Clean. It's reasonable priced, plenty of food, and they have great horchata.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

Provo, Wasatch Range
Provo, Wasatch Range
 
Provo, Wasatch Range
Provo, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.