We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch Mexican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
2250 N University Pkwy Ste 816, Provo, UT 84604-1500
(801) 375-5133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 259 restaurants in Provo
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top notch Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I'm talking about the Cafe Rio in Orem on State Street. They are much better than the one up in Leigh. Orem Rio gives better portions of meat in the salads. Great crew. Place is noisy because of all of the chatter from behind the line as they are preparing your order. It is almost like the Samari Warrior working in the burger join. But instead of "Cheeseburger, Cheeseburger" you just hear them asking the customers if the want "Pintos or Black beans", Lime, or whatever goes with you dish. But, the food can't be beaten.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    40
    22
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We love Cafe Rio! We have moved away and miss going there! My favorite is the steak salad and my husband loves the pork burrito! Every time we visit Provo we visit Cafe Rio!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Grill by Far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Absolutely the best! Restaurant quality food at a great price and made to order right before your eyes. I love the pork barbacoa. The medium enchilada sauce is not more spicy than the mild, it is simply more flavorful. They will add it to your quesadilla or salad, upon request. My favorite: Pork barbacoa salad, savory rice, black beans, (a scoop of medium sauce), lettuce, pico de gallo, guacamole, tortilla chips, a slice of lime, and fresh cilantro. All of this is served in a lightly grilled home made tortilla sprinkled lightly with cheese and complimented by an amazing tomatillo ranch dressing. Everything listed above is standard except what I placed in parenthesis. The burritos are equally delicious (have it "enchilada style" with medium sauce). The quesadillas are amazing (add a scoop of medium sauce to the meat). We have taken many out of town guests to Cafe Rio and each time it has been a delightful success.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A fun and popular place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you know anyone in Provo, Utah then you probably know that Cafe Rio is one of the most popular places to eat. It's not all hype - it is really very good. We usually eat there at least once while we're in town.

The food is very fresh and flavorful. The service is fast and the only challenge is finding a table where you can eat after you order. But the good news is that you can also order your food to go.

The menu is a bit different from the typical Mexican food restaurant and you just about have to experience it for yourself to see what it's like. We've tried most of the menu items and everything is good. Burritos, quesadillas, tacos, tostadas, "taco" salads, and enchiladas are the items and each have many variations. The flour tortillas are made by hand on location and you can watch them prepare your order right after you tell them what you want. The portions are very generous!

* One time my husband ordered the tacos and it was so busy that they didn't get all of the "fixings" on his taco, which was disappointing. So keep a close eye on your order if you go and it's super busy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

When this place first opened it was a revolution. Started something very new and different that has many times been imitated but never duplicated.

The lines were out the door and it was worth it. While there is now a location closer to me, I still drop by this one when I am in the area and the food is always just as good as I remember, better than the local Cafe Rio.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

 
Provo, Wasatch Range
Provo, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.