We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sheep Cafe

Black Sheep Cafe
19 N University Ave, Provo, UT 84601-4429
801-607-2485
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Sheep Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 263 Restaurants in Provo
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Provo Center St
Jacksonville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

In Provo for the day and chose the place at random...thought it looked interesting. I am very glad I did! Very eclectic, kindly funky place with wonderful food and very friendly staff. Southwestern/Navaho themed menu. The green chile stew was incredible and large enough to be your entire meal. Hog jowl tacos are a must! Lightly barbecued pork with jicama slaw on a blue corn tortilla - truly excellent.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The wait is worth the result”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a fairly new cafe in Provo that I hope stays a long time. It is eclectic and has an upscale feel without the upscale prices. The food is different - very interesting yet tasty and fun. I had a wonderful squash soup and amazing bread called nanniskadii. It takes longer to get your food because they make it from scratch. The cafe is located in an area that is enjoying revitalization so hopefully people will try it and return to keep it in town!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Business Lunch in Provo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I am a regular at the Black Sheep Cafe, and the star of the menu is the Bleu Cheese Burger with sweet potato fries. The Navajo Tacos offer a nice change of pace. If available, try to the Hog Jowl Tacos, which taste much better than the name. If you like a very sweet drink, Cactus Pear Lemonade is excellent. Service can be a bit slow because everything is made fresh, so don't go if you are in a big hurry.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Native American excellence!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The only reason because I'm giving a 4 instead of a 5 is because the reduce menu they have, which also is never changed. Besides that, the food is great! They have some of the best hamburgers I've ever tried, with homemade/handmade hamburger meat, and an interesting and original kind of pita bread...This is a family owned restaurant and they make your food when you order it, no reheating or anything like that, therefore, orders take a little while...bear with them, and enjoy your food!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A KEEPER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Black Sheep Cafe opened in a space that we have seen lots of other restaurants fail. Always up for trying something new we gave it a shot. We loved it and made sure we told friends and family. 18+ months later and I guess many others had the same experience and the word has gotten out because it is almost impossible to get a table unless you reserve early on a Friday or Saturday. Navajo/Mexican/Southwester fusion (I guess) it is really great. Their Green Chile Stew with fire roasted green chiles, slow cooked pork, & braised vegetable is a favorite and the Navajo tacos are great too. Don't forget their fry bread with honey butter or the great street corn on the cob. However my favorites are the burgers: The Bleu Burger stuffed w/ bleu cheese & topped w/ caramelized onions, organic mixed greens, smoked bacon, a cabernet sauvignon reduction, & mayo, wrapped in homemade nanniskadii bread is RIDICULOUSLY AMAZING. Their “Goat” Burger stuffed w/ goat cheese & roasted garlic, topped w/ portobello mushroom slices, fire-roasted red bell pepper, arugula, & adobo mayo, wrapped in homemade nanniskadii bread also AMAZING. GO!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Cafe also viewed

Provo, Wasatch Range
 
Provo, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Black Sheep Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sheep Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.