We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, Below Average Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1800 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Below Average Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

So, I didn't actually book this hotel. I originally booked the Best Western Plus down the street but was walked to Park City Peaks hotel who then walked us to the Yarrow Hotel. The hotel, physically is average, below average for Park City when you look at comparable hotels. But, the rooms were clean and everything worked so I can't complain too much. However, what really got me was the poor service I experienced.

Check-in was average, but it was 2:00 a.m. in the morning when I checked-in due to the eight hour drive from Las Vegas. It was smooth and efficient the agent that night helped me settle everything due to being walked to the property.

My biggest complaint is with the front desk agent Deirdre Laverty, who, according to "Andrea R's" review below who has only left one review and only talks about how great Deirdre is and nothing about the hotel makes me believe it's fake. Anyways, I went to the front desk because my keys had been deactivated and she answered the phone when I was walking up to the desk. Instead of putting the guest on the phone on hold, I had the pleasure of waiting 10 minutes for her to complete an ENTIRE reservation in front of me. It was extremely annoying and horrible customer service; all front desk agents know to assist guests at the desk FIRST before helping guests on the phone. Then, after she finishes the never-ending phone call, she doesn't even apologize to me for the long wait or anything of that nature and has a very annoyed, condescending tone with me. Very disappointing, she is the biggest factor as to why I will never stay at this hotel again.

I would have given this hotel 2 stars had it not been for the great service I experienced with the female agent the next morning.

Here are some more detailsl:

Pros:
- Good price for the location
- Clean rooms
- Working A/C and heater
- Bathroom was clean, albeit small
- I believe all rooms have balconies
- Starbucks on property
- Two gyms (although one is closed)
- Pool was clean

Cons:
- Dated rooms
- No free breakfast
- Restaurant was closed for renovations
- Larger gym closed for renovations
- Jacuzzi closed for renovations
- Front desk agents are hit-or-miss
- Strange smells in some hallways
- Sheets too small for the beds

Hope this helps any future travelers on your next stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmyarrow, General Manager at Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Colby,

Sorry to hear you were "walked" from place to place. We are glad you finished your "little trip" at our place. Thank you for describing your stay from the 02.00am check in through listing pros and cons. I would like to apologize for the long wait during the time front desk agent was making reservation for someone else. You are correct. We could have done better. On your list of the cons most items are in the process of addressing. It is just a matter of time when this short disturbance in amenity offerings will result in amenities that are adding value to your future stays. The free breakfast does not fall under this category but it is a idea that we will work on. Again, thank you so much for the time to write this and share your thoughts about our property.
Andreo Girardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    76
    68
    29
    21
See reviews for
70
85
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just concluded our annual Risk Management Conference at the Yarrow. So impressed with every single employee we worked with. They were pleasant and so accommodating to our requests--even some last minute food changes. They are getting ready to start a major remodel to update the hotel--when complete this will be a first-class resort hotel. Our conference was excellent-- our presenters had exactly what they needed for their presentations thanks to great AV people at the hotel, the kitchen staff went above and beyond--can't say enough nice things about the staff at this hotel-- looking forward to a return trip after their update remodel. Thanks to great staff management!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmyarrow, General Manager at Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Jan,
We are excited to learn that your conference was a success again. The best part of your review is reading about the staff as that is the one single thing management has full control over. We thank you for writing about our members going an extra mile and exceeding your expectations. We actually already started our remodeling project and work is done in several areas of the hotel but if you did not notice the difference, that would be another compliment to the staff and crew that performs work. Thank you again,
Andreo Girardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Not bad, I've stayed there three times now. Rooms are clean but dated, off season rates are reasonable. It's only a couple of miles from downtown Park City where there are a couple of great restaurants. Close to a Starbucks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmyarrow, General Manager at Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Jay,
Thank you for coming back to us three times. We must have done something right to attract you back. We appreciate you finding the time to write about Yarrow hotel. Thank you again and see you soon.
Andreo Girardi,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I arrived at this hotel with a friend. Dierdre was at the front desk, and I am so glad that she was the person who assisted us. She had a delightful and cheerful demeanor, and sought out the room that accommodated us the best. Deirdre's friendly, and outgoing personality makes her perfect at her job, and she clearly knows the hotel and surrounding area inside and out.

Thanks for making the Yarrow experience so lovely Deirdre!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmyarrow, General Manager at Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Andrea,

Thank you for fantastic review.
Andreo Girardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on our roadtrip from Cali to Michigan. We booked it last minute sitting at a restaurant a few miles away on kayak. It had a lodge feel to it and was well kept. The woman who checked us in was very informative. Our room was average, nothing special but it was clean and well maintained. There was no continental breakfast, just a restaurant but there was a starbucks very close by. There were a lot of conference rooms here so I think a lot of business people stay here. Overall just an average hotel stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmyarrow, General Manager at Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Jenna,

Nice that you chose to stay with us. I know you had so many other choices. Thank you for noticing and mentioning nice customer service at the check in. Our staff is trained to provide superior assistance ans service. Yes, you are correct. Our hotel is an older hotel but as you mentioned we try to keep it as nice as it is possible. We are going through remodeling and when you come next time we will look so much better.
Andreo Girardi,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

May 2014 Convention. Diedre at front desk was ready with advice on nearby hiking trails and directions to an Italian restaurant. The building is okay for a convention, there are lots of stairs. The people are all outstanding. From the front desk, to the bartender in the pub, they were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Conference food was a big surprise because it was fresh and yummy. No rubber chicken served. One of the breakfasts included made to order omelets. .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmyarrow, General Manager at Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Warren,
Thank you so much. Your review made us feel even better as it helped move our ranking spot on the TripAdvisor page. It was pleasure serving you while you were our guest. See you soon.
Regards,
Andreo Girardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Deirdre at the front desk is excellent. She informative, and knowledgeable. If you need help or have questions she doesnt hesitate to go the extra mile to help. Rooms were nice and clean. Even maintenance helped. Loved it. This is our second time staying and were already planning another trip here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmyarrow, General Manager at Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello There PG family,

Thank you for the review. To see you planning return trip based on previous experience is the most we can expect. We will make sure our hotel and our service serves you even better next time. Thank you again.
Andreo Girardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1800 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Park City
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarrow Hotel Park City
Yarrow Resort Park City
Yarrow Hotel And Conference Center Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarrow Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.