We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Outstanding Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington School House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Washington School House Hotel to your Saves list
Washington School House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Outstanding Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

you will not be disappointed if you decide to stay at the beautiful Washington School House Hotel. Every detail is thought of and the breakfast is big and delicious. The pool is private and spotless. It is romantic if you want, but it can also be a perfect place to just spend a couple nights while you hike around Park City and explore the area. I thought the staff was exceptional. I wish I had spent more time at the hotel enjoying the charm. Next Time!

Room Tip: every room is different--look a the floor plans online
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
38
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Following a four day whitewater rafting trip where we got gritty and sweaty, a girlfriend and I opted for civilization and indulgence before heading home. We booked two nights at the Washington School House and our high expectations were exceeded. When we arrived, we were ushered into our gorgeous rooms where we could spread out and recover from the drive and the rafting. The lovely antiques, crisp linens and beautiful bathrooms were the perfect antidote to our camping experience.

We had deliberately left our full day in Park City open, and the staff had great ideas for where to go and what to eat. They printed out directions, helped us conceive of an itinerary, and even packed us a snack to take on our hike. They later helped us secure seats at a very popular restaurant on short notice. They were thoughtful, considerate and informed. This is a place that takes customer service seriously, but the staff does so in a way that is warm without being intrusive.

We took advantage of the hot tub (where we enjoyed a delicious charcuterie plate) and we had tea in the lounge. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious. The Washington School House doesn't miss a trick in making its visitors feel comfortable and special. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent five days in May at this lovely, boutique hotel. The location is in walking distance of Main Street so we didn't need a car to go to dinner. Our room was a two story bungalow with a metal spiral staircase. The service is exceptional. Kudos to Danielle who made sure my half and half was warmed and my husband's tea seeped for three minutes. Breakfasts are big and wine and water were all on the house. We are hikers and a great trail is just outside the hotel. If you want a romantic get away where all your needs are met, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had the wonderful pleasure of spending a few nights in this beautiful boutique hotel as part of our touring holiday this spring. When travelling around Europe and Asia I always choose to stay in small boutique hotels as the experience is genuinely unique and memorable. The Washington Schoolhouse was no exception.
The ambience created by the minimal, yet opulent, furnishings immediately surrounds you with a sense of calm and relaxation. The staff are such a vital part of this hotel. They are relaxed, friendly and extremely helpful - you get the impression that you are in a home from home with discrete personal staff- breakfast was a personalised banquet each morning. Other guests appeared to be just as relaxed, happy and at ease. I was inclined to give staff hugs rather than handshakes on departure!
In fact this hotel is so unique, even on an international scale, that we plan to pay a return visit during the summer season 2015 to coincide with Park City's Art Fair.
With only 12 rooms this little school house is like a fully staffed private Villa with pool. However, being just off Main Street, you are right beside everything. Park City itself is one of the most beautiful places I have visited in the States. Full of old world charm with its wonderfully preserved old town centre. There is much to see and do even if you don't ski.

Room Tip: We called in advance to discuss as all rooms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Washington School House Hotel in October 2013. The hotel is absolutely amazing. Michael greeted us upon our arrival, helped us with parking and our bags, and we were off on a wonderful experience. The feeling is like being a home you never knew you had. The staff is warm, helpful, and makes you feel immediately at home. The rooms are all unique and cleverly situated. While not large, our room was extremely comfortable and had plenty of space.

Once we settled in we joined other guests in the living room for drinks, a snack, and some great conversation. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful as well. Every detail is attended to, and in the best way possible.

It was raining out so we did not visit the pool or spa, but they are on a lovely deck in the back of the building.

If you like boutique hotels, don't hesitate to consider Washington School House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This very well appointed inn is located on the top of main street and reminds me of a New England inn. If you are going to Park City or Deer Valley to ski or snowboard, I would recommend staying at a hotel that offers better skiing accommodations. It was incovienent to get back and forth from the slopes. I will staying someplace else when I return to Park City.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
S R,

Thank you for taking the time to review Washington School House Hotel. Given our centralized location in the heart of Old Town Park City, we strive to make transportation as seamless as possible by providing a ski valet and complimentary ski shuttle to all three local resorts. I am sorry that you found it inconvenient to travel to Deer Valley and The Canyons. Please feel free to email me directly at michael@washingtonschoolhouse.com. I would very much appreciate hearing more about your experience.

Regards,

Michael Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at WSH. We stayed there for 3 nights for our ski trip in Utah. The location is awesome! The food was great.The services were excellent. All staffs were friendly and was able to assist for anything we could ask for. They were so terrific! Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Washington School House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington School House Hotel

Address: 543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#6 Family Hotel in Park City
#14 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington School House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive downtown Park City boutique hotel where you can expect… well, the unexpected. Built as a school in 1889, Washington School House has just graduated to a new level of luxury with the completion of its stunning renovation. Original quarried limestone exterior. Twelve spectacular rooms/suites. Historic living space with 16ft ceilings. Roaring fire. Chic ski lounge. Heated pool terraced in the hillside. Wine, aspen trees, stars. You get the picture. School is out but the hotel team is in… providing unprecedented service for an unequaled experience in an unparalleled location. The new Washington School House. Where old school is the new cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Washington School House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington School Hotel Park City
Washington School House Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington School House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.