We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington School House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington School House Hotel to your Saves list
Washington School House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you don't like WSHH, then nothing can please you! It's perfect. It's like B&B meets 5 star hotel meets ski lodge. The interior design is amazing, the public spaces are warm and inviting, and the pool and hot tub are beautiful. Every detail is tended to, from fruit and fresh water in your room to bottled water always stocked by the pool to bedside treats every evening. We wanted for nothing our whole trip. The breakfast is delicious, as are the afternoon snacks and cocktail/wine menu. As others have already commented, the staff is a notch above when it comes to service and friendliness. It was like being a guest in someone's home. If this hotel could be the model for all small hotels, the world would be a better place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
45
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a 5+ star hotel. Stayed there with my family-wife and 17yr son from 11/26-12/1/13. Heard about hotel in T&L and then proceeded with my own research. This i more than a hotel, it is a home. The staff, love dress attire, jeans, boots and white shirts for girls, anticipate your every desire. Invited to my son for Thanksgiving dinner, staff asked if i need to bring anything-of course forgot the pies and they proceeded to contact and arrange from local bakery the pies. My wife forgot hairbrush, they brought her a tray of brushes to choose from. We had 2 rooms, both spectacular. Breakfast fabulous plus the French Press. Afternoon snacks to die for. Must must swim in pool at night-do not worry it is heated to 80. Restaurant selections excellent, and they are honey even with your own list. Simply amazing decor-all white-already have appointment with contractor upon our return to redo our bedroom. Location cannot be beat, 1 block off main street-walk into town, do not need to be bused as the other luxury hotels must do. Simply great experience.

Room Tip: son stayed in 16' tall room main floor which he loved. My wife and i on the 4th floor-floor to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear brooklyn9196,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We loved having your family at the hotel and we are so glad we could exceed your expectations on so many levels. We hope to welcome you back very soon and maybe even become a part of your Thanksgiving tradition for years to come.

Regards,

Michael Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,co
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our stay at WSHH was perfection! The level of service and accomodations were top-notch every step of the way. We very much enjoyed the french-pressed coffee service to our room in the morning and the made to order gourmet breakfast in the morning. Every staff member we encountered provided warm, welcoming and detailed service. It was also VERY close to Main Street in Park City which made it easy to hit restaurants and nightspots easily. Our experience there was heavenly!!!

Room Tip: The front desk staff helped us choose a room that fit our needs. It overlooked the pool/hot tub area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear green44,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It means a lot to our staff to hear such positive feedback. Our team and Chef Ernesto especially take a tremendous amount of pride in our breakfast so we are glad you had such a great experience. We hope you can return in the very near future.

Regards,

Michael Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a very special property. Not only is there a very refined sense of design and decor, but the service is wonderful yet relaxed. We got our room for under 300 dollars, but I think the peak prices are insane and not to me probably not worth it (but to be fair, I don't know what normal ski seasons prices are at the other places). In any event, there is an amazing pool, great attention to detail, nice books, wonderful linens, nice drinks, and a top notch breakfast. I will be coming back to PC just to stay here in the future...but of course during the low season. It's a place where you feel like you are in a great house in a design magazine and not like a commercial hotel. The other guests seem to be seasoned travelers or interesting people.
My only complaint is the fake plants. I think I saw only one, but I think fake plants/flowers have no place at boutique hotels, especially one of such a high caliber. Better to not have anything, or just use a pine cone/berry arrangement, etc.

If the reception is reading this review, I want to thank the girls so much for their hospitality. They were very friendly and sweet and not overly-patronizing. The tone was just right and personable. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 16 foot ceiling room which I think is the least expensive, which doesnt have much o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear 4567QBC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you recognized the balance of attentiveness and privacy which we strive for in our service standards. The staff does read these reviews and they love hearing feedback from our guests. As a side note, our florist will be happy to know her arrangements are so perfect they are mistaken for fake (everything is real...we promise). We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Michael Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We have traveled internationally and in the states for years so have a bit of experience with a variety of accommodations including high end, luxury places. And OMG - this place is stunning! Every possible amenity is taken care of including the lovely extras in the room for bed and bath. Especially nice (and surprising) was the selection of wines and drinks, the just baked cookies and the light snack they offered in late afternoon (I think ours was a jambalaya. No cheese and crackers at this joint!). The breakfasts were made to order, delicious and served in the same room as the late afternoon break. Lovely.

Finally, I must mention the service. Prior to our visit, I received an email and a call and post-visit a card thanking us for our stay. And every single person we encountered provided top notch service during our stay.

Stay here. You will not regret it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaWSH, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear twowelltraveled,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am thrilled that your every need was met and to hear you consider us a favorite spot! I will pass on your feedback regarding breakfast and service to the staff. We so enjoyed having you to stay and hope to see you again in Park City in future.

Warmest regards,
Jessica Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here for our honeymoon in March. I must say that it was extremely difficult to leave the hotel and hit the slopes. Every step of service was simply amazing. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had all our needs met along the way and the hotel itself was simply beautiful.

From breakfast, to transportation to and from the slopes, afternoon snacks in the pool, and fun treats left for us on the bed, everything was executed to perfection. It was a really refreshing experience and one we can't wait to have again.

-Arthur S.

Room Tip: Stayed in the elevated two story suite. Fantastic bed and there was enough space in the room to spre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden,UT.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The renovated school is beautiful. Good design, clean and fresh. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and the service was amazing. Michael, could not have been more accommodating. It is very close to downtown, restaurants, and shops. Great for couples, or a relaxing retreat. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaWSH, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Skeebum,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Washington School House Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Michael – he will be thrilled. We really look forward to welcoming you back again in future,

Warm regards,
Jessica Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
2.1 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 58 in Park City
5.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Park City
Hotel Park City
#4 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#5 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
5.8 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Escala Lodge at Park City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington School House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington School House Hotel

Address: 543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#6 Family Hotel in Park City
#14 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington School House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive downtown Park City boutique hotel where you can expect… well, the unexpected. Built as a school in 1889, Washington School House has just graduated to a new level of luxury with the completion of its stunning renovation. Original quarried limestone exterior. Twelve spectacular rooms/suites. Historic living space with 16ft ceilings. Roaring fire. Chic ski lounge. Heated pool terraced in the hillside. Wine, aspen trees, stars. You get the picture. School is out but the hotel team is in… providing unprecedented service for an unequaled experience in an unparalleled location. The new Washington School House. Where old school is the new cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Washington School House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington School Hotel Park City
Washington School House Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington School House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.