We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington School House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Washington School House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington School House Hotel
543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 hotels in Park City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The accommodations at Washington Schoolhouse speak for themselves. You will not be disappointed. What makes the experience is the service. All you need do is ask, and they will do their best to accommodate. A thousand thank you's to all of the staff for a wonderful experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaWSH, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear JECVA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the Washington School House. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to the whole team. It will make their day as it has mine. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Jessica Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sandy, utah
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hidden gem is across the street from Park City's urban Main Street, but feels removed and magical. Every little touch, from the handwritten welcome card with fruit plate and cupcake, to the iphone docking alarm clock, was designed carefully for guest enjoyment. The eclectic decor mixes modern and vintage pieces to create an impressive combination of "old school is new cool." The narrow pool, lit by Christmas tree lights at night, overlooks the view. Our lofted suite had a spiral staircase leading up to the bed, and entrances on both levels, which was unique and charming. Chef Ernesto's breakfast was fabulous; although included with the night's stay, the menu options were varied and included local teas. Pricey but so worth it.

Room Tip: I imagine you can't go wrong, but the lofted one bedroom suite was quiet and wonderful. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaWSH, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear wellsfam,

Thank you for your review and for noticing all the details that go into the Washington School House Hotel guest experience. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in future.

Sincerely,
Jessica Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Washington School House is one of the most dazzling and amazing Boutique Hotels we have ever experienced in the USA or abroad!! From the minute you arrive in Park City, Utah the mountains and the city's ambiance has you in 'awe' and then you arrive to the hotel and one is whisped away to a extraordinary wonderland!! This historical school house has been transformed with no costs spared and through the eyes of someone EXTREMELY TALENTED! The service is impeccable - and so warm and accomodating - the word 'No' is not in their vocabulary. Your every need or want is taken care of by staff like Jessica, Haley, Michael, Nicole, etc... You all are fabulous! Your stay at the School House includes a wonderful seasonal freshly prepared breakfast and delightfully delicious drinks and appetizers in the late afternoon, Hats off to their creative chef! I can not say enough about how wonderful the Washington School House Hotel is - you must go experience it for yourself ..... winter, spring, summer, fall ... we have been there in several seasons ... all amazing!!
Bonus: Scout - the hotel's Golden Retriever - if he is there:)))))))

Room Tip: We love the King Pool room but all the rooms are wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 amazing nights at the WSHH. The hotel itself is beautifully done with tons of attention to detail. The reclaimed wood and antique (yet somehow modern) furnishings were very cool. The room was fantastic (heated bathroom floors, automated sleep shades, very comfy bed, etc). The pool/hot-tub were perfect after a long day of skiing. The best thing about the hotel, however, had to be the service. The staff was amazingly attentive and friendly. They were always ready with a fresh drink (water, tea, coffee, wine, etc) and helped with any request or questions we had. Oh, and the breakfast and apres ski meals were delicious as well.

About the location; it is located very central to everything in Park City, including ski-off access from the Park City Mountain Resort and a quick 4 block ride over to the town lift. For anything that wasn't walking distance, the shuttle (really more of a personal driver experience) took us wherever we wanted and was available shortly after we requested it.

We can't wait to come back!

One more tip - we used Skis On The Run for our Ski rentals, and they did a fantastic job as well. They delivered the skis to the hotel shortly after we arrived and picked them up after our last day on the slopes. Couldn't have been easier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from a 4-night stay at this wonderful Park City gem! This place is everything I love about small boutique hotels, but better! From the personalized, attentive service, the unique design/décor, to the fresh, delicious food.

I don’t think I’ve seen a more beautifully designed hotel – this place deserves to be featured in Elle Décor as much as Travel & Leisure. Every single space is maximized and elegantly decorated with period accents. Our top floor Town King room was bright & comfortable. The beautiful bathroom & amenities made it hard to leave our room! Only warning – the walls can be a bit thin if you have some frisky neighbors, as we did.

The service at WSH exceeds all standards. Everyone we met was so friendly, welcoming, and made us feel so at home. All of our needs were seamlessly taken care of. Megan, Haley, Danielle & Caleb were awesome!

We looked forward to the fabulous daily breakfasts from Chef Ernesto – some of the best we’ve ever had on vacation or anywhere! And the après ski snacks were always a perfect treat! My husband loved the local beer selection while I enjoyed the local artisan teas.

This place is truly a work of art – one I feel lucky to have enjoyed. Thanks WSH!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for President's Day weekend and WOW! We are so lucky to have found this place. Every attention to detail has been made, from the time you arrive to the time you leave. I have never stayed in a place with such wonderful customer service. They made us dinner reservations every night, arranged airport transportation and were able to store our skis and boots and the boots had warmers! They would even offer us hand and toe warmers each day when we headed out to ski.
Our room was fabulous. We had the king room with the loft. Our daughter slept in the loft bed and they brought in another bed for our younger daughter. They loved having their own area to sleep in. Our bed was so comfortable that it was hard to get up in the morning. And this never happens to us when we travel!
We loved all the little toiletries in the bathroom. Lip balm yes! Our room was cleaned twice a day and each evening they would leave a little something for our girls. One day it was teddy bears and another it was little notebooks with pencils. Our girls couldn't wait to get back to the room to see what had been left!
The breakfast in the morning is simply divine! We actually couldn't believe it was included with our stay. The muffins, the eggs and the pancakes are so yummy we miss them already.
Each night they have an appetizer time, where they serve a sweet and something else. Our girls called this ''snack time'' and would ask each night when snack time was. The food was so good!
The pool and hot tub on the roof were the highlight for our girls. They have nice, fluffy towels and water available. So relaxing.
On our last day, our flight didn't leave until 9:20 p.m. The hotel happened to not have anyone checking in that day, so they let us stay in our room until it was time to go to the airport. This was so nice!
Each day, we were taken to the ski slopes and picked up by the hotel. They have us wonderful lunch and dinner recommendations.
I just can't say enough how wonderful and lovely our experience was. Yes, it is a little pricey, but it's worth every dime.
The employees are so helpful and accommodating.
It was so hard to leave the Washington School House Hotel. We miss it. But will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
218 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
387 helpful votes 387 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our excellent stay started with a warm welcome before we had even got out of the car. Then, miraculously, before we even knew it our ski equipment had been placed in a warm storage area, our bags had been delivered to our room, our car parked underground and a glass of wine was in our hands. After that it just kept getting better.
Our room, a Pool King was charming with a super comfortable bed, powerful shower and a view of, you guessed it, the steaming outdoor pool. The room was provided with every treat possible, fruit, chocolates, robes, slippers,Moulton Brown toiletries, ipod dock and even a welcome bottle of sparkling wine. The room was not exactly oversized but you have some absolutely gorgeous public areas in which to relax. There is a formal sitting area which is graced by a huge fire and wonderful chandelier and another more relaxing area downstairs for more casual apres-ski.
The breakfasts are delicious and cooked to order. The chef is very generous with the portions and everyday a different 'special' was offered.
The outdoor pool and hot tub were wonderful after a hard day of skiing and the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine which the staff graciously brought to us.
The hotel is beautiful and has been restored most sympathetically. It has been decorated with some very special pieces but remains comfortable and functional. Its location is great, just one block from Main Street and a very short walk downhill to the ski lift. At the end of the day I believe that you can ski almost back to the door.
The building's exteriors and interiors are worthy of being featured in any high class design magazine but it is the staff who created our fondest memories. We were fortunate to receive fantastic service from the minute we arrived to the moment we departed. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile - early breakfast, printing us a driving instructions, restaurant recommendations, valet service for our car and skis and wine by the pool. We were thoroughly spoilt with their genuine friendliness and efficiency. Thank you.
Like the last reviewer stated - it is hard to leave this cozy oasis but you ski all the better knowing what luxury awaits you on your return.

Room Tip: All the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington School House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington School House Hotel

Address: 543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#14 Family Hotel in Park City
#23 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive downtown Park City boutique hotel where you can expect… well, the unexpected. Built as a school in 1889, Washington School House has just graduated to a new level of luxury with the completion of its stunning renovation. Original quarried limestone exterior. Twelve spectacular rooms/suites. Historic living space with 16ft ceilings. Roaring fire. Chic ski lounge. Heated pool terraced in the hillside. Wine, aspen trees, stars. You get the picture. School is out but the hotel team is in… providing unprecedented service for an unequaled experience in an unparalleled location. The new Washington School House. Where old school is the new cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Washington School House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington School Hotel Park City
Washington School House Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington School House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.