We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington School House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Washington School House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington School House Hotel
543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 hotels in Park City
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from a 4-night stay at this wonderful Park City gem! This place is everything I love about small boutique hotels, but better! From the personalized, attentive service, the unique design/décor, to the fresh, delicious food.

I don’t think I’ve seen a more beautifully designed hotel – this place deserves to be featured in Elle Décor as much as Travel & Leisure. Every single space is maximized and elegantly decorated with period accents. Our top floor Town King room was bright & comfortable. The beautiful bathroom & amenities made it hard to leave our room! Only warning – the walls can be a bit thin if you have some frisky neighbors, as we did.

The service at WSH exceeds all standards. Everyone we met was so friendly, welcoming, and made us feel so at home. All of our needs were seamlessly taken care of. Megan, Haley, Danielle & Caleb were awesome!

We looked forward to the fabulous daily breakfasts from Chef Ernesto – some of the best we’ve ever had on vacation or anywhere! And the après ski snacks were always a perfect treat! My husband loved the local beer selection while I enjoyed the local artisan teas.

This place is truly a work of art – one I feel lucky to have enjoyed. Thanks WSH!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for President's Day weekend and WOW! We are so lucky to have found this place. Every attention to detail has been made, from the time you arrive to the time you leave. I have never stayed in a place with such wonderful customer service. They made us dinner reservations every night, arranged airport transportation and were able to store our skis and boots and the boots had warmers! They would even offer us hand and toe warmers each day when we headed out to ski.
Our room was fabulous. We had the king room with the loft. Our daughter slept in the loft bed and they brought in another bed for our younger daughter. They loved having their own area to sleep in. Our bed was so comfortable that it was hard to get up in the morning. And this never happens to us when we travel!
We loved all the little toiletries in the bathroom. Lip balm yes! Our room was cleaned twice a day and each evening they would leave a little something for our girls. One day it was teddy bears and another it was little notebooks with pencils. Our girls couldn't wait to get back to the room to see what had been left!
The breakfast in the morning is simply divine! We actually couldn't believe it was included with our stay. The muffins, the eggs and the pancakes are so yummy we miss them already.
Each night they have an appetizer time, where they serve a sweet and something else. Our girls called this ''snack time'' and would ask each night when snack time was. The food was so good!
The pool and hot tub on the roof were the highlight for our girls. They have nice, fluffy towels and water available. So relaxing.
On our last day, our flight didn't leave until 9:20 p.m. The hotel happened to not have anyone checking in that day, so they let us stay in our room until it was time to go to the airport. This was so nice!
Each day, we were taken to the ski slopes and picked up by the hotel. They have us wonderful lunch and dinner recommendations.
I just can't say enough how wonderful and lovely our experience was. Yes, it is a little pricey, but it's worth every dime.
The employees are so helpful and accommodating.
It was so hard to leave the Washington School House Hotel. We miss it. But will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
218 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our excellent stay started with a warm welcome before we had even got out of the car. Then, miraculously, before we even knew it our ski equipment had been placed in a warm storage area, our bags had been delivered to our room, our car parked underground and a glass of wine was in our hands. After that it just kept getting better.
Our room, a Pool King was charming with a super comfortable bed, powerful shower and a view of, you guessed it, the steaming outdoor pool. The room was provided with every treat possible, fruit, chocolates, robes, slippers,Moulton Brown toiletries, ipod dock and even a welcome bottle of sparkling wine. The room was not exactly oversized but you have some absolutely gorgeous public areas in which to relax. There is a formal sitting area which is graced by a huge fire and wonderful chandelier and another more relaxing area downstairs for more casual apres-ski.
The breakfasts are delicious and cooked to order. The chef is very generous with the portions and everyday a different 'special' was offered.
The outdoor pool and hot tub were wonderful after a hard day of skiing and the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine which the staff graciously brought to us.
The hotel is beautiful and has been restored most sympathetically. It has been decorated with some very special pieces but remains comfortable and functional. Its location is great, just one block from Main Street and a very short walk downhill to the ski lift. At the end of the day I believe that you can ski almost back to the door.
The building's exteriors and interiors are worthy of being featured in any high class design magazine but it is the staff who created our fondest memories. We were fortunate to receive fantastic service from the minute we arrived to the moment we departed. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile - early breakfast, printing us a driving instructions, restaurant recommendations, valet service for our car and skis and wine by the pool. We were thoroughly spoilt with their genuine friendliness and efficiency. Thank you.
Like the last reviewer stated - it is hard to leave this cozy oasis but you ski all the better knowing what luxury awaits you on your return.

Room Tip: All the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My boyfriend, family, a few family friends of ours and I stayed at the Washington School House Hotel for a 4 night ski getaway. We had the BEST time thanks to this fabulous hotel and the wonderful staff.

We are die hard skiers and we could hardly bring ourselves to leave the place and get on the slopes. The cozy living room coupled with the excellent service (and company!) the staff provide is enough to make me want to move in. We sprung out of bed in the morning because we could hardly wait to enjoy Ernesto's daily breakfast creations. After we hit the slopes we hurried back for après-ski drinks and appetizers by the fire. My dad will surely be talking about the clam chowder we had one evening for years to come. Following our tasty afternoon snacks was always a soak in the mountainside hot tub (with wine in pool-safe glasses!).

Each evening we would walk down to Main Street (a 30 second walk from the lobby) and would enjoy the shops, restaurants and bars. Slowly, people in our group would peel off to sneak back to the WSHH. We had a big group but coordinating who needed to be where was no problem at all thanks to the ideal location - a 15 minute walk (tops) to anywhere in Old Town.

Our room was amazing to say the least. Complete with 16 foot ceilings, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and velvety soft, stark white sheets.

I would bring this place and the staff with me wherever I vacationed if I could. I am beyond pleased with our stay and highly recommend this little gem to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in terms of what they offer - speak with the front desk associate to get the best roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaWSH, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mason406,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay and particularly our location just steps from Main Street. It certainly helps to be that close to home when it is as cold as it was during your stay, brrr. I am glad we were able to keep you and your family warm and cozy. Say “hello” to everyone from the WSH staff.

Best regards,
Jessica Davis
General Manager
Washington School House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two days, an escape from our stressful New York City lives before meeting up with family for the holidays. And what a treat! Lindsey, Haley and the rest of the Washington School House staff were not only attentive but extremely friendly. The staff arranged for our bobsled ride and Lindsey even gave us tips since she had just been herself. The staff remembered our wine preferences for our wine-next-to-the-fire time. Small, thoughtful things. The service was really above and beyond.

And the hotel itself is gorgeous; the antiques, superb renovation and the gray, gold, brown and white palette compliment the natural surroundings as well as provide a warm and welcoming place to come back to after a day out and about. While the rooms are a bit on the smaller side particularly for their cost, the charming quirkiness and service the hotel provides amply make up for it. My boyfriend, who has stayed in myriad luxury hotels around the world said this hotel was the best he has experienced. And I heartily agree! We will definitely be finding ourselves back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband surprised me with a stay at this B & B for my birthday. It was wonderful! The staff was very attentive and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. The pool area is beautiful and we enjoyed sitting by the fire pit at night. The appetizers and breakfast were delicious. It truly was a special stay and I felt very pampered. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaWSH, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear KimS286,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your birthday stay and hope your husband surprises you again next year with a return visit!

Warm regards,
Jessica Davis
General Manager
Washington School House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We travel a lot around the world and used to be staying mainly on luxury resorts, like Aman Resorts, Four Seasons, Mandaron Oriental, Shangri La...We also are looking for very charming places to stay, where we have the opportunity to feel more closely the country we are visiting.
And then, we found exactly a mix of what we like: a top luxury resort level of service and in the same time, the feeling to be at home!
The design is amazing, the staff is just here for you...and if you like an incredible breakfast, this is really the place to stay: a very nice gift to our son, some refreshments/food for our next trip without asking!
Our main concern is: as the hotel stands very far from our home, how and when to come back?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington School House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington School House Hotel

Address: 543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#13 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive downtown Park City boutique hotel where you can expect… well, the unexpected. Built as a school in 1889, Washington School House has just graduated to a new level of luxury with the completion of its stunning renovation. Original quarried limestone exterior. Twelve spectacular rooms/suites. Historic living space with 16ft ceilings. Roaring fire. Chic ski lounge. Heated pool terraced in the hillside. Wine, aspen trees, stars. You get the picture. School is out but the hotel team is in… providing unprecedented service for an unequaled experience in an unparalleled location. The new Washington School House. Where old school is the new cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Washington School House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington School Hotel Park City
Washington School House Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington School House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.