We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington School House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Washington School House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington School House Hotel
543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 hotels in Park City
Highland, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband surprised me with a stay at this B & B for my birthday. It was wonderful! The staff was very attentive and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. The pool area is beautiful and we enjoyed sitting by the fire pit at night. The appetizers and breakfast were delicious. It truly was a special stay and I felt very pampered. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaWSH, General Manager at Washington School House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear KimS286,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your birthday stay and hope your husband surprises you again next year with a return visit!

Warm regards,
Jessica Davis
General Manager
Washington School House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We travel a lot around the world and used to be staying mainly on luxury resorts, like Aman Resorts, Four Seasons, Mandaron Oriental, Shangri La...We also are looking for very charming places to stay, where we have the opportunity to feel more closely the country we are visiting.
And then, we found exactly a mix of what we like: a top luxury resort level of service and in the same time, the feeling to be at home!
The design is amazing, the staff is just here for you...and if you like an incredible breakfast, this is really the place to stay: a very nice gift to our son, some refreshments/food for our next trip without asking!
Our main concern is: as the hotel stands very far from our home, how and when to come back?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Washington School House Hotel is the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Beauty, service, location... everything was perfect.

We arrived on Friday afternoon and were greeted by Haley. She personally took us to our room and showed us around. She already knew that we planned to visit the Kimball Art Fesitval and gave us access wrist bands and VIP passes for the event! She also gave us lift tickets for the Town Lift, which offered amazing views of Park City and a look at some cool, old, abandoned mine buildings.

We stayed in the 16 Foot Ceiling room. It was decorated beautifully and squeaky clean. The bed was completely comfy and the bathroom outfitted with everything we could ask for. The first evening, turn-down service left us two darling little Victorian "advice" books on how to be a good wife and husband. On the 2nd night, chocolate chip cookies were left for a yummy midnight snack!

We were offered drinks on many occasions (which we took them up on)... my favorite being a glass of the Malbec and my husband's a drink made with the local High West Distillery's whiskey. In the late afternoon, they served a snack of salad, olives, cheese and bread. We had breakfast twice and both times, it was amazingly delicious. My favorite was the Caprese Scramble and my husband can't decide between the French Toast and the Blueberry Pancakes.

The swimming pool and spa are inviting, clean and decked out with comfy lounges, tons of towels, water, slippers and of course, pool side drink service.

When some family stopped by to visit us, we watched a movie on the huge TV in the "casual sitting room". It was very cozy with a long couch, chairs and again, (you guessed it) drink service!

When they say things like "unprecedented service" and "unequaled experience" on their website, they mean it... Thanks to Haley, Michael & Jessica for an amazing stay at The Washington School House Hotel! We can't wait to come visit again...

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect.... serious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Full disclosure: I have never been a guest at this hotel. But I was lucky enough to be able to visit during the Park City Museum's recent Historic Home Tour, since the Washington School House Hotel was originally built in 1889 as an educational facility for grades one through three. What was once a simple, three-room schoolhouse is now a jaw-dropping gorgeous boutique hotel just steps away from bustling Main Street and a few blocks from Park City Mountain Resort's Town Lift. Architectural details, like a view of the old schoolhouse bell as you walk up the staircase, make it a one-of-a-kind destination. The setting lends itself to under-the-radar getaways, where guests can enjoy a private locale away from the busy hotel scenes. If money is no object, the property would be perfect for a family reunion, wedding or Sundance group homebase. For those who have to live within a budget, like me, it's worth putting on the Top Travel To Do List once the lottery hits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were welcomed with warmth and attention. The staff all gracious and kind. Our suite was so unique with fab gifts on our pillows made from amazing linens. Spotless mix of traditional and contemporary with a flare of fun. A mere 30 second walk and we were on Main Street in P.C. for some shopping. Afterwards a swim and a soak in the gorgeous pools over looking town and the ski slopes. Cozy slippers, robes and a cocktail apre' ski by the fire. All inclusive food, beverages and amenities made our stay relaxed and carefree. We'll be back...asap!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was the most incredible hotel I've ever visited. It felt less like a hotel and more like an exclusive, private estate with hand-selected art and antiques. The food was amazing and we met and talked with the private chef several times during our stay. He knew exactly how we liked our eggs, coffee, tea, cocktail -- everything -- after the first day of our stay. Our room was gorgeous and we had a hard time rousing ourselves out of it to ski and walk around Park City, which was all within walking distance. There was also a ski valet that did all the dirty work for us. I cannot wait to go back and see Park City in the summer and stay here again. I went the first time with my husband, but think this would be a great girls' trip location or place for the whole family to gather. I cannot say or write enough good things about this property, but it should definitely be on everyone's travel bucket list!

Room Tip: We had a chance to peak at several of the rooms and they were all fabulous. My dream trip would take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

What luxury! My husband and I spent a night at the Washington School House over the MLK weekend. From the greeting with a selection of wine and small bites to our gourmet breakfast, we were overwhelmed with the service and level of this hotel.

French press coffee anytime? Done. Perfectly heated swimming pool and hot tub in the middle of Historic Park City? Sure. Chocolates, fruit, and complimentary water as well as Molton Brown toiletries greeted us in our room. Clean, polished, and still cozy. Oh, and the bed rocked.

Granted, our room was on the small side for Park City hotels, but keep in mind that this is an old school house. Everything else makes up for the size. And, it looks like they have a penthouse and other suites, which we didn't check out as they were fully booked!

The decor is a stylish mix of antiques and clean lines. Lots of white and light, with abstract paintings to add color to the spaces.

The Washington School House recently completed a (to the studs) renovation and it shows. My husband is a developer, and he couldn't fine any faults with the construction or finish details. And we're very picky. We would have loved a full-length mirror in the room, but that was our only (small) complaint.

Room Tip: Ask for a tour and photos of the rooms-- the website doesn't show all of the details and spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington School House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington School House Hotel

Address: 543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#13 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive downtown Park City boutique hotel where you can expect… well, the unexpected. Built as a school in 1889, Washington School House has just graduated to a new level of luxury with the completion of its stunning renovation. Original quarried limestone exterior. Twelve spectacular rooms/suites. Historic living space with 16ft ceilings. Roaring fire. Chic ski lounge. Heated pool terraced in the hillside. Wine, aspen trees, stars. You get the picture. School is out but the hotel team is in… providing unprecedented service for an unequaled experience in an unparalleled location. The new Washington School House. Where old school is the new cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Washington School House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington School Hotel Park City
Washington School House Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington School House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.