We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of My Travel "To Do" List” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington School House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Washington School House Hotel to your Saves list
Washington School House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top of My Travel "To Do" List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Full disclosure: I have never been a guest at this hotel. But I was lucky enough to be able to visit during the Park City Museum's recent Historic Home Tour, since the Washington School House Hotel was originally built in 1889 as an educational facility for grades one through three. What was once a simple, three-room schoolhouse is now a jaw-dropping gorgeous boutique hotel just steps away from bustling Main Street and a few blocks from Park City Mountain Resort's Town Lift. Architectural details, like a view of the old schoolhouse bell as you walk up the staircase, make it a one-of-a-kind destination. The setting lends itself to under-the-radar getaways, where guests can enjoy a private locale away from the busy hotel scenes. If money is no object, the property would be perfect for a family reunion, wedding or Sundance group homebase. For those who have to live within a budget, like me, it's worth putting on the Top Travel To Do List once the lottery hits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were welcomed with warmth and attention. The staff all gracious and kind. Our suite was so unique with fab gifts on our pillows made from amazing linens. Spotless mix of traditional and contemporary with a flare of fun. A mere 30 second walk and we were on Main Street in P.C. for some shopping. Afterwards a swim and a soak in the gorgeous pools over looking town and the ski slopes. Cozy slippers, robes and a cocktail apre' ski by the fire. All inclusive food, beverages and amenities made our stay relaxed and carefree. We'll be back...asap!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was the most incredible hotel I've ever visited. It felt less like a hotel and more like an exclusive, private estate with hand-selected art and antiques. The food was amazing and we met and talked with the private chef several times during our stay. He knew exactly how we liked our eggs, coffee, tea, cocktail -- everything -- after the first day of our stay. Our room was gorgeous and we had a hard time rousing ourselves out of it to ski and walk around Park City, which was all within walking distance. There was also a ski valet that did all the dirty work for us. I cannot wait to go back and see Park City in the summer and stay here again. I went the first time with my husband, but think this would be a great girls' trip location or place for the whole family to gather. I cannot say or write enough good things about this property, but it should definitely be on everyone's travel bucket list!

Room Tip: We had a chance to peak at several of the rooms and they were all fabulous. My dream trip would take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

What luxury! My husband and I spent a night at the Washington School House over the MLK weekend. From the greeting with a selection of wine and small bites to our gourmet breakfast, we were overwhelmed with the service and level of this hotel.

French press coffee anytime? Done. Perfectly heated swimming pool and hot tub in the middle of Historic Park City? Sure. Chocolates, fruit, and complimentary water as well as Molton Brown toiletries greeted us in our room. Clean, polished, and still cozy. Oh, and the bed rocked.

Granted, our room was on the small side for Park City hotels, but keep in mind that this is an old school house. Everything else makes up for the size. And, it looks like they have a penthouse and other suites, which we didn't check out as they were fully booked!

The decor is a stylish mix of antiques and clean lines. Lots of white and light, with abstract paintings to add color to the spaces.

The Washington School House recently completed a (to the studs) renovation and it shows. My husband is a developer, and he couldn't fine any faults with the construction or finish details. And we're very picky. We would have loved a full-length mirror in the room, but that was our only (small) complaint.

Room Tip: Ask for a tour and photos of the rooms-- the website doesn't show all of the details and spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington School House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington School House Hotel

Address: 543 Park Avenue, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#9 Family Hotel in Park City
#18 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington School House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive downtown Park City boutique hotel where you can expect… well, the unexpected. Built as a school in 1889, Washington School House has just graduated to a new level of luxury with the completion of its stunning renovation. Original quarried limestone exterior. Twelve spectacular rooms/suites. Historic living space with 16ft ceilings. Roaring fire. Chic ski lounge. Heated pool terraced in the hillside. Wine, aspen trees, stars. You get the picture. School is out but the hotel team is in… providing unprecedented service for an unequaled experience in an unparalleled location. The new Washington School House. Where old school is the new cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Washington School House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington School Hotel Park City
Washington School House Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington School House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.