We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced with attitude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley to your Saves list
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Stein Way, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Park City
scottsdale
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“overpriced with attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

we recently stayed at the stein eriksen.The first day started out with disappointment. We had reserved a room that was described to us as a deluxe room, 2 kings, large picture window, and small porch. What we got was a room below ground level looking at a wall .My wife called first to see if we could remedy this situation. A woman named virginia responded with "your problem is that your not a skier'.The second call I spoke to a women named jeng who tried to upsell me but failing that dismissed me in her best brusque and condescending tone possible.High points of the place the ski staff who were very good to the kids. Also the restaurant glitertind was very good,with a very good wait staff.Bottom line I would have dinner there but could not recommend it as worth the money.As I said high on hype low on service

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    56
    22
    16
    10
See reviews for
122
155
18
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

I have stayed in some very nice places, but the suite at the Stein Eriksen Lodge was the best of all of them. It was large, beautifully decorated and had every amenity I ever thought about wanting. The kitchen was so well equipped that we cooked dinner in one night. The restaurant was very good; a good range of choices prepared well. The spa facilities were nicely designed, and the quality of the spa services lived up to the decor. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are more little touches than I can list, like an offer of a bottle of water whenever you go in or out of the front door. If you can get there in the off-season, as we did, it is a tremendous value. Park City itself didn't thrill me, but I hope to return to the Stein Eriksen Lodge. This place deserves a 5th star from Mobil.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Park City
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion National Park, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

We booked a night at the Stein Eriksen Lodge for our anniversery. It is only an hour drive from our home, so we are somewhat locals.

We arrived earlier than check in because we had reservations for their fabulous Sunday Brunch. It was amazing food and service! After brunch they told us our room was ready- which we were pleased with because it was only 12:30 and check in wasn't until 4:00.

We were ushered to our fabulous room! Because of the low summer prices, we opted for a mountain view balcony room with a hot tub on the deck. The rooms were very clean and appealing and quite large. We spent more time then we normally do in a room because we just didn't want to leave!

When we did finally leave the room, we used their shuttle service, which happens to be a roomy Lexus. They will shuttle you to and from anywhere in Park City. Very nice! Parking was Valet ($10 a night in summer, $20 a night in winter) so it was easier to just have the shuttle take us.

The staff is very friendly and helpfu and the property is beautifull!

We did not use the pool/spa area and we did not use room service, so no comment on that.

We highly recommend the Stein Eriksen Lodge and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

My boyfriend and I had a lovely weekend here in June '06. The service was just fantastic -- bordering on too much, but all very friendly and thorough. The bellmen, shuttle drivers, housekeepers, wait staff, etc. all worked hard to see that our needs were met. This meant that tips added up over the weekend, but it was worth it. Parking is valet only, and $10 a day in the summer, $20 in the winter. The hotel provides free shuttles into town, so you don't really need a car.

The room (a Deluxe King) was not overly large, but had the deck that we had asked for and a view of the mountains. The room itself had an incredibly comfortable bed, plus table and chairs, and deck chairs outside. Nordic lodge themed decor in tasteful colors. Big flat TV with cable, too. The bathroom and dressing area added significant square footage. The bath was large and lovely (granite counters, travertine tile, etc.), with spa tub. The dressing room included a second sink, plus lots of mirror space, outlets, make-up mirror, hair dryer, closet, and toiletries. A second closet in the room held a small fridge which came in very handy.

The restaurant was tasty but pricey. We had a very good dinner (excellent lamb; about $160 including tip for two with appetizeres, entree and dessert and two glasses of wine) and breakfast ($35 for two), though $4 for a cup of coffee seemed a bit much. The homemade granola with lavender yogurt was delicious, however.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, with plenty of flowers this time of year. We spent a lot of time in the pool, where the warm, soft water was very relaxing at the end of the day. The pool area features a hot tub with waterfall -- probably really great in cooler weather.

One thing to keep in mind if you go is that the hotel is at 8000 feet. This is about 1000 feet above Park City. We had planned to hike and mountain bike, but were having a bit of trouble adjusting to the altitude. We rented great mountain bikes from the Lodge (about $30) on our third day and did some biking on the trails behind the property (very convenient and easy to access); wound up riding down the mountain and taking the lift back up ($14 each for the tickets).

Great place for a romantic and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, ut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2006

As locals, we had the chance to take a advantage of a wonderful promotion that Stein is running while they renovate their main lodge and restaurant. We stayed in an amazing 1 bedroom suite, the second nicest room I have ever stayed in. We had two bathrooms, a huge master with giant jetted tub and seperate shower and a secondary bathroom that still had a full bath and shower. The room also had a huge murphy bed, much more comfortable for the kids than a sofa bed. We also had two fireplaces, with plenty of wood and fire starters, so that anyone could get a fire started. We also had a huge deck with amazing views of the Deer Valley Ski resort.

I took the kids swimming, they had a large heated pool, with a very cool spa that had a waterfall. I didn't use the the gym, but it was fairly large with state of the art equiptment.

The staff was extrememly friendly. The evening housekeeping was very thorough, even left us 2 bottles of Evian water. I do a lot of traveling, ususally I feel like hotels are doing every thing they can to get every nickel, here they went above and beyond all the time. We have stayed at alt least 7 or 8 places in Park City, Stein is definitely our favorite.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

We stayed at Stein Eriksen a few weeks ago, and always view it as our home away from home - a true first class hotel with unmatched setting. It is the perfect weekend getaway, especially in the "off season", during the late spring, summer or fall.

The colors and majesty of the mountain view from our suite was breathtaking, and the cleanliness of the hotel and our suite was first rate. Everything from luxurious marble bathrooms, spacious granite kitchen and rock fireplace with flat panel television can be found at Stein.

The restaurant and room service was incredible.

We look forward to staying again soon......

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2005

I stayed at the Stein Eriksen for a business convention for 3 days and I could not have been more pleased. The room was magnificent, the service fantastic and the food delicious!

After a long day at the convention, I was thrilled to return to my room. The turn down service made the room so inviting and cozy...by turning on the fireplace, leaving fresh water at bedside, diming the lights and turning on nice jazz music.

Lastly, the concierge was phenomenal! She handled all activites and transportation to/from the airport. She was always very helpful and her knowledge of the area (and surrounding cities) was superb.

I will definitely return with my family in the future.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley

Address: 7700 Stein Way, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Park City
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#3 Spa Hotel in Park City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#4 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stein Eriksen Lodge is Utah’s only Forbes Five Star/ Five Diamond resort. We are centrally located at Mid-Mountain Deer Valley. Only steps from all the activities that Deer Valley has to offer and only a short shuttle ride to Historic Main Street, Park City. We are North Americas premiere mountain destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Eriksen Hotel Park City
Stein Eriksen Park City
Stein Ericksen Lodge
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.