We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley to your Saves list
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Stein Way, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 2 Nights Get 3rd Free
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for the July 4th holiday for a relaxing getaway. Stein is truly amazing with a gorgeous and peaceful setting. The service was impeccable and our room was so lush! I loved that we even had fresh flowers in our bathroom! Whether you are at Stein for business or pleasure, it truly is an experience you won't want to miss!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    60
    22
    16
    11
See reviews for
137
165
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

While I primarily visited the Spa, everything about this property exudes quality and service.

In the summer, the grounds are beautiful and lush, and if you are looking to escape the heat of the Salt Lake Valley on a hot day, this is worth it. While I did not book a room, I spent time wandering the property and of, course, as a Spa patron.

One doesn't just go for a specific service at the Spa; they make this an experience. You can avail yourself of the pool, hot tubs, sauna, steam room and poolside beverage and meal service. There is also a wonderful Relaxation Room where you can escape and quietly meditate or read.

From the moment I walked into the Spa, the staff was friendly and attentive. They provide Spa Sandals, lockers--you don't need to bring a lock :) robes and towels. There are changing rooms, plentiful sinks, all well appointed.

Outdoors the pool is in a very nice setting, with views of Deer Valley mountain. Lounge chairs and umbrellas, they offer wonderful lounge covers that actually hook over the chair back so they don't fall down. The towels are thick and generously sized. There is a cooler of water available. The attendant is very attentive, bringing menus and beverages. I opted to eat at one of the tables, and he set everything up for me.

My lunch was very nice-a Wild Smoked Salmon sandwich with hand crafted beer sauerkraut. The side salad was very nice, especially the spiced walnuts.

The outdoor pool to me was a bit warm--they keep it at 89 degrees. While I know it can get cool in the mornings and evenings, in the heat of a sunny afternoon, it's not as refreshing as I personally like. However, many people enjoyed it.

The outdoor hot tub is actually hot, unlike many hotels--105 degrees. It's definitely a keeper in my book.

Outside, I enjoyed a great couple of hours before my Spa treatments.

Inside, I also took a dip in the hot tub--also at a perfect temperature. There is a smaller "cooling" tub adjacent, and I took a dip in that (almost). At 55 degrees, it's meant to cool you quickly. I got up to my thighs, and scampered back to the hot tub. It did make that even more enjoyable by contrast.

My Oxygen Facial was awesome, and the aesthetician was great. I felt pampered, which is what I wanted. She did a great facial, and I even got a shoulder, arm, and hand massage as part of it. The best facial I've ever had.

Immediately after the facial, I was met by the masseuse, and had a wonderful massage. It left me wanting more; I was totally relaxed and felt revived. Wonderful massage, wonderful spa.

I took my time and lounged around a bit more--I did have my ride waiting to pick me up, so I didn't dally too much.

On my next visit, I will plan to spend more time, taking advantage of the steam room and sauna, and trying different spa services as well.

I can't say enough that the atmosphere, service and quality are amazing. My husband and I are planning to stay here for an overnight soon.

This was a summer visit; I am also certain the ski season--which is high season in Park City--is full of amazing service and amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I recently enjoyed our best stay ever at a hotel when we spent 5 days at Stein Eriksen.. Every thing about this "lodge" was superb, from the expert and friendly staff, to the marvelous and spacious rooms. The food was on the par with the very finest restaurants we've been to. Every request we made was responded to promptly and with a winsome attitude on the part of the staff. Never having been to Deer Valley before, we were overwhelmed by the beauty and magnitude of the surroundings. Our favorite aspect of our stay, however, was right on the Lodge's spacious grounds - the wonderfully maintained and grand landscaping. What a delight every time we left our room! All in all, five stars does not do this place justice.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a suite and it was worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights over the fourth of July Weekend. The whole staff from behind the desk to the maintenance men were professional, always smiling and going out of their way to make your stay as accommodating as possible. When we first arrived, we were given a personal tour of the whole property. When we saw that our room did not have a fireplace she said she will see if there was one available. We received a phone call in five minutes and then a bellman showed up with keys to two different rooms for us to look at and choose which one we preferred. The shuttle service was always prompt when picking us up from town. Another plus to this 5 star hotel was that they did not nickel and dime you like many others. There was a parking lot close by for self parking. If you did valet, it was $12.00 a night which is less expensive than many other places. The use of the spa was included in the hotel rate. We had a wonderful stay at the Stein Erikson and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We hosted our celebrity charity event here last month and then I had the opportunity to spend a couple of nights myself the following week. We are accustomed to holding our events at first-rate resorts that excel in their service, so our bar is set pretty high. Everyone at Stein from top to bottom exceeded our expectations. Most highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Second time hosting a meeting here and it was as fabulous as the last, which was back in 2008. Went through the RFP process to compare costs and it turned out to be quite affordable for luxury level lodging. The attendees returned high marks for the hotel on their evaluations. They requested to meet in Park City so they could ski and were quite pleased with the hotel. Most of these attendees had not previously been here. Staff is easy to work with and the sales process was fairly seamless. With the addition of other properties to Deer Valley, the Stein is keeping up with Joneses!

Room Tip: This is not your standard box hotel. I've seen many of the rooms, all are unique and offer diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at the Lodge over the July 4th weekend. Our room and the overall facilities are high quality and in line with a luxury hotel. I was very disappointed, however, in the overall service levels during our stay. In my opinion, the Lodge was not staffed appropriately to handle the July 4th crowds and service suffered tremendously. Long waits for tables at breakfast and lunch followed by slow and inadequate service. I appreciated the restaurant’s offer to reduce my lunch bill by $20 one afternoon due to the slow service but I would have MUCH preferred to pay full price and enjoyed good service. I overheard several guests complaining about the wait times for tables when many tables were empty. We paid for the bed and breakfast package but skipped breakfast in the restaurant later during our stay as we didn’t want to go through the hassle. We used room service for breakfast which was a better alternative (and paid twice since the bed and breakfast package didn’t include room service)

The pool was overcrowded and the shuttle service to town was hit or miss. One evening the van was packed with 8+ guests with no air conditioning. It must have been 90 degrees in the van. Felt like I was back in college during spring break on a low budget trip.

The front desk and valet staff were very accommodating and friendly. The Lodge has some nice features but I was pretty disappointed overall

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan F, VP & Managing Director at Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear RKS,

It was extremely disappointing to read that we fell woefully short of meeting your expectations. The most frustrating aspect for me is that we knew that it was going to be busy over the 4th and yet is appears by all accounts that we failed to prepare/staff accordingly. For that I sincerely apologize.

We will certainly use your constructive feedback to ensure that we are better prepared and more organized for the next holiday period.

Should you decide to give us another opportunity I would be pleased to be your personal point of contact.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your valued comments.

Sincerely,
Dan Flick
VP & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley

Address: 7700 Stein Way, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Park City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#2 Business Hotel in Park City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stein Eriksen Lodge is Utah’s only Forbes Five Star/ Five Diamond resort. We are centrally located at Mid-Mountain Deer Valley. Only steps from all the activities that Deer Valley has to offer and only a short shuttle ride to Historic Main Street, Park City. We are North Americas premiere mountain destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Eriksen Hotel Park City
Stein Eriksen Park City
Stein Ericksen Lodge
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.