We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Opions at Deer Valley” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley to your Saves list
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Stein Way, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2 Nights Get 3rd Free
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Better Opions at Deer Valley”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The only reason this hotel rates a 3 is because it has the most perfect location in all of Park City. It is overpriced, dated, and stuffy. There are better options in both Park City in general and at Deer Valley specifically.

Rooms: While I have only stayed in one room (and in their defense I have been told that the rooms differ dramatically) I was very disappointed to get a basic hotel room for essentially $1,000 per night. It had a partial view of the mountains, but was very dark and dreary. The room was very small and the sparse furniture had visible and significant stains on it. For comparison's sake I stayed in a two room suite at The Chateau in January (across the street) for less money and had a bedroom, a full kitchen, two bathrooms and a large, well furnished living room. I wanted to experience Stein's since I have heard so much about it over the years. It was a mistake. This place is living in the past and surviving on reputations earned in prior decades.

Service: The service level at the hotel depended on what you needed. The bell staff and the ski staff were first rate, comparable to any 5-star property. The desk staff and the Concierge staff were OK. The restaurant staff bordered on rude and incompetence (especially if you wanted to grab a quick, light lunch while taking a break from skiing). There is feeling of entitlement that permeates the staff, which is a bit surprising. It's not like this place is Four Seasons Jackson Hole or The Montage Deer Valley. Perhaps management could send the staff out to visit other high level properties so they can see the difference. I stayed at The Peninsula Beverly Hills this past week and I was left stunned at the difference between the two staffs given their very similar ratings on this and other sites.

Location: Perfect. . .could not be moved one foot either way and improve the location.

Restaurant and bar: The restaurant does a great job with its breakfast buffet. Service is fast, friendly and efficient. Lunch is quite the opposite, unless one feels like eating two days worth of food at the lunch buffet. If one does not choose the lunch buffet he should go somewhere else. They simply do not like folks to order from the menu for lunch. I don't know if it's a revenue issue or an efficiency issue; however, we had to ask for menus and literally convince the waitress that we only wanted a bowl of chili. They did get even with us however, as the chili took about 30 minutes to get into a bowl and make it to our table. Dinner was OK, but not anywhere near the quality of J & G Grill or Mariposa. With regard to the bar, there is no bar. There is a lounge that requires table service and takes forever. Given Utah's relatively unique liquor laws this fact is exacerbated if one simply wants a quick beer after a day of skiing. It really is inconvenient for there to be no bar at the property.

Physical Facility: The main building is very nice and comfortable. The property looks nice, but again, if the rooms are like ours, there is a VERY expensive renovation coming in the near future for the guest rooms. We had to walk outside and about 250 yards to the bar/restaurant/ski lockers. While not a big deal if it's 20 and blowing snow it does require a bit of extra bundling.

Conclusion: We will not stay here again unless there is a major commitment to updating the rooms, and even then I'm not sure we would risk it again given the other choices. The Chateau, The Montage, and The St. Regis all offer better experiences at or below the cost of this hotel. I know this review is less positive than many on this website, but over our four-day stay the hotel simply did not live up to the level of competence that one expects from such a highly rated, expensive hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBullert, General Manager at Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review on Stein Eriksen Lodge. I appreciate the positive comments on the bell staff and the ski locker staff. I am concerned and disappointed with your overall experience in service as well as your impression of the guest room. I would like to believe our endeavor for excellence is established within our philosophy along with our reputation. Please let me know if there is further opportunity to discuss the specifics of your feedback. I hope you hear from you at your earliest convenience.
Sincerely,
Dan Bullert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    60
    22
    16
    11
See reviews for
138
166
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My family has visited the Stein Eriksen Lodge for the past ten years. We have found it to be our favorite winter and summer destination. Nothing surpasses the stellar cuisine, atmosphere, memorable service, hospitality and exceptional location. We are continually amazed how they never miss the details year after year. We can't imagine a year without being able to visit the Stein Eriksen Lodge. Our time spent there is always memorable!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at Stein’s on several occasions, in winter and in summer during my most recent trip. The overall level of service at this resort is outstanding. I always look forward to Glitretind for both dinner and the skier’s lunch buffet. The spa facilities are wonderful and continue to be my benchmark. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I have been staying here since it opened in the early 80's, and was concerned that with all the remodeling, it wouldn't be as nice. It still is a perfect hotel. Heat lamps in the bathroom. Thick towels. Perfect service. Door men anticipate your coming and have the doors open before you get there. Great Molton Brown amenities. Gourmet chocolates in the room. Personal note aknowledging your repeat visits. Excellent beds. Great fireplace. East to turn on. Helpful staff.
The only downside..and this is minimal...the remodeled swimming pool on the far side is not as accessible as the old one off the main lobby. How would a handicapped person get to it with all the stairs?
Otherwise, a perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Even the ones that are below street level have cute porches on which you can sit with your cup of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Besides being one of our family’s favorite vacation spots, Stein Eriksen Lodge has been our Anniversary Getaway for the past several years. The personalized service is exceptional, as you feel their staff is helpful at every turn. We will stay a couple of days and the rooms are so fabulous, we never leave the lodge. While Sunday brunch and eating in the restaurants are always delicious, eating in our room is always a must. Stein doesn't just deliver tasty food; they set up your meal with linens and fresh flowers. My favorite is right on the coffee table, so we can eat next to a roaring fire. Our getaway isn’t complete without spending a few hours in the spa. Several hours of quiet pampering is a treat everyone should experience. The staff‘s high level of service and the treatments are exceptional and personalized to my needs. Whether we are with our family or a getaway with my husband, Stein Eriksen always delivers a relaxing, luxurious experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The staff, especially in the restaurant and bar were outstanding- real professionals! Whoever does the hiring and training should get a raise! Live entertainment was very good and the snowboarding at nearby Deer Valley was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is the 5th or 6th time we have stayed at the lodge and each time we come it gets better and better. The lodge itself is beautiful and luxurious, but it is the level of service that keeps us coming back for more. The staff are attentive to our every need and you can tell that they really enjoy what they do. Whenever we find ourselves in Park City, Stein Eriksen Lodge will be our hotel of choice!!

Room Tip: You have to try the lunch buffet in their restaurant! The selection and quality are unbeaten!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley

Address: 7700 Stein Way, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Park City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#2 Business Hotel in Park City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stein Eriksen Lodge is Utah’s only Forbes Five Star/ Five Diamond resort. We are centrally located at Mid-Mountain Deer Valley. Only steps from all the activities that Deer Valley has to offer and only a short shuttle ride to Historic Main Street, Park City. We are North Americas premiere mountain destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Eriksen Hotel Park City
Stein Eriksen Park City
Stein Ericksen Lodge
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.