We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley to your Saves list
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Stein Way, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 2 Nights Get 3rd Free
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
salt lake city, utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were skiing at Deer Valley and decided to check out the new hotels. The newer ones (St Regis and The Montage) have pretty good amenities but the ambience at Stein Eriksen's is wonderful. Skiers service ( Bob and Joan) gave us some helpful tips (how to get up after you fall.....difficult for some of us). We love Stein's and will return for lunch or dinner soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    60
    22
    16
    11
See reviews for
137
166
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I visited Deer Valley on the advice of a friend who attested to it's personal service (help donning and doffing boots, carrying skis etc.) and luxury. We opted for the SEL mostly because I'd always wanted to stay there. We bought a package that included room, breakfast, skis, and lift tickets.

Upon arrival, we were first shown a somewhat subterranean room, not in the main lodge, that featured a view of a wall. We requested a different room and after several calls between the front desk, their boss and us, our request was granted, although we had to pay extra. This was a little surprising since the hotel was virtually deserted. The upgraded room was one of the nicest we'd ever stayed in with a fireplace and an unbeatable view in the main lodge and worth the extra money.

SEL offers yoga in the well appointed spa. Unfortunately the first time that we opted to take a class we were disappointed to find that it had been canceled. Apparently we needed to sign up before hand, a detail that we could have easily complied with had we known. The spa and outside hot tub is truly a wonderful experience that we took advantage of each day after skiing.

The lodge very much needs a little bar in the lobby as a good beer apres ski really hits the spot. Apparently the waiters must come out of the restaurant to serve drinks. This has to do with Utah's rules regarding alcoholic beverages. The arrangement is a little odd and not up to the standards in the rest of the hotel. That being said, we loved the SEL. The location, the service and the food were exceptional in every other way and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

i have stayed at SEL several times over the last 20 years .........this visit was a return after some 8 years ........... the hotel has expanded but the quality of the rooms , the service, the amenities , the hospitality all remain undiminished .......... sure it is expensive but it is GOOD ........... very very good .......... great care and attention to detail

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The SEL is a fantastic place to stay in Deer Valley. The property is fantastic overall. The people are very nice and attentive to guests' needs. If you are skiing their service is outstanding with ski lockers and ski valets. A private chairlift drops you at the door of the lodge in an uncrowded spot where you can drop your skis and walk 50 feet to get lunch or a drink. At day's end you can drop your skis again and a valet will take care of them for you. This is all wonderful and even a touch over the top but it sure is convenient.

The lodge layout of the property makes it unique but also a bit challenging to navigate in the cold weather. If you want to go to the pool or spa some rooms are a long walk from those areas and most of the walk is done outside (unless you cut through the parking garage, which has its own risks). That said the pool, spa and hot tub are in a fabulous spot, with amazing views. All of the amenities are top notch and in perfect repair and clean and fresh.

The one caveat (and the only reason i couldn't give it an excellent review) is that for a property of this caliber (and price point) there are rooms that have no view at all. When I say "no view" i mean exactly that and even worse, no natural light entering them. If you are booking on jet setter or the like, beware, they will more than likely put you in one of these rooms. Typically in a property of this kind I wouldn't expect that they would have rooms with a view of a concrete drainage pit one and half levels below ground, but sadly, they do and probably more than a few... Overall though, i would heartily recommend it just be certain that you insist on something with at least a little natural light coming in.

Room Tip: see my review, but insist on a room with natural light, no below ground rooms with the drainage pit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, General Manager at Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I’m happy you enjoyed your stay. However, it is disappointing to learn your room was not up to expectations. Stein Eriksen Lodge is a unique property designed as a traditional ski resort with many different room types offering a selection of amenities including hot tubs on desk and wood burning fireplaces.

I appreciate your comments and would like to welcome you back for a future visit. I will send you my contact information and hope you will reach out to me personally.

Sincerely,
Dan Bullert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Best location on mountain with access to several different ski lifts. The ski valet's are marvelous and seem like they genuinely want to help you with your boots and will take your ski's in and out without having to ask.
Rooms are cozy with lots of complimentary extras, plenty of bottles of water and very comfortable beds, walls are thick and we never heard anyone next door.

Unfortunately when we checked in our room smelled of smoke, i'm not sure if we were in a smoking room, I called and housekeeping sprayed the room, this just masked the smell but we decided to live with it as we had unpacked several bags already. We were also in a room that seemed to be the farthest away from the restaurant and ski locker so there was a long walk back and forth in the cold.

The biggest frustration was at meal times. The buffet breakfast is very good with lots of choices and the servers are very attentive. Lunch and dinner at the same restaurant isn't so good, the food is poor and the menu tiny. Unless you want to take a shuttle down to main street you are tied to this restaurant. The hotel could do with a nice cafe, somewhere to grab a coffee or something small and quick to eat.

With all that said I would stay here again for the proximity to the ski lifts and the staff working there are very good and do pamper you. I think you would be hard pressed to find a nicer hotel in Deer Valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, General Manager at Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for the feedback and we appreciate the compliments. I would like to apologize for the unfortunate room issue; we are non-smoking property and it is discouraging to know your room smelled like smoke upon arrival.

It is also disappointing to know the food quality was a frustration. Our menu items are designed for Mountain comfort providing an element of heartiness. I’m truly sorry you felt the food was not up-to-par.

I’m happy you noted a return stay and I would like to be the first to invite you back.

Sincerely,
Dan Bullert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The best food on a ski slope hands down. I've been skiing for a long time and have been to resorts all over the US and Canada, and you flat out will not eat at a better lodge. I live in chicago and we eat out a lot, and its hard to name 5 restaurants in Chicago that can top this place. Lunch buffet is legendary, and really just a selection of entrees. Cheap as far as what you're getting, but more expensive than the average lodge(not by much). If you are in Deer Valley you should not miss this. The sleeping accomodations were not reviewed, we stayed in a cabin.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

When you go to a hotel and are immediately made to feel comfortable, but in a way that is genuine, you know you'll return again and again, and that's the Stein Eriksen. We stayed this winter and though the snow wasn't as heavy this year, we are going to return same time next year because everyone at the hotel made us feel at home, remembered our names, our favorite table at Troll and even that we preferred decaf in our kitchen. Sounds silly, but when you get the details right, the big picture can be just perfect! It is older and may not have the fancy bells that the newer hotels have, but I would stay here and tell my friends and family to stay here because I know I'll be cared for.

Room Tip: We had a suite in the Main Lodge, convenient to the restaurants and the ski lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley

Address: 7700 Stein Way, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Park City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#2 Business Hotel in Park City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stein Eriksen Lodge is Utah’s only Forbes Five Star/ Five Diamond resort. We are centrally located at Mid-Mountain Deer Valley. Only steps from all the activities that Deer Valley has to offer and only a short shuttle ride to Historic Main Street, Park City. We are North Americas premiere mountain destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Eriksen Hotel Park City
Stein Eriksen Park City
Stein Ericksen Lodge
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.