We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all around value and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prospector

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Prospector to your Saves list
The Prospector
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2175 Sidewinder Drive, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best all around value and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

I would challenge anyone to find a more centrally located hotel in Park City. I made it to all 3 resorts over a 5 day trip. I rode my bike to PC mountain resort and also deer valley! The free bus took me to canyons, and it runs very frequently. I took the bus to Main Street as well, but I usually walked home at night, it was gorgeous at night in August. My room was updated, clean, I didn't see much staff, but they seemed friendly. The pool and hot tub were just fine. For an outdoor enthusiast this place can't be beat. The "rail trail" was right behind my building, and it pretty much leads you to any type of terrain you could ask for. I will stay here again, and will try and stay here over the summer. I have heard that rooms vary, but mine was just perfect. And you can't beat the price. No need for a car, walk to grocery store, restaurants, and then use the free shuttle for everything else. Overall, very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    4
    6
    13
See reviews for
7
11
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I've stayed at The Prospector before in winter, but this was my first summer stay. This place is a gem! Everything about our room was charming. We booked through the HomeAway website, listing number 346404. The owners have more than 1 condo so we are always able to find a room. The room was newly updated, with granite, a floor to ceiling stone fireplace, and a really comfy bed. Our kids slept on a pullout sofa, which we liked. It was nice to put the bed away & have extra playspace on the floor. The room was bigger than your average hotel room. The full kitchen made preparing meals super easy, and saved $$ on our trip. The heated pool was refreshing & very quiet...we had the whole thing to ourselves. And while we had a car, we never used it because the free shuttle stops really close to the condo we stayed it. We loved it!!! I wouldn't hesitate to go to this place, but seriously recommend booking through Vrbo or HomeAway. You'll find amazing deals like I have!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I loved staying here so much! The staff was amazing, they treated my friend and I so great and were extremely helpful. The location is also great and the rooms are really cool! I thought the staff was very efficient and answered all of our questions. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

If your not into hotels like the Holiday Inn or something of that class than the Prospector is perfect for you for it is a step down. They have multi type rooms such as lofts, hotel rooms, and condos all of which are very basic. It is very centrally located to downtown Park City and to a few good restaurants which is a good thing. Would I go back? No. If you want a bed and no frills and old and need of new then this is the place.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn Express out at the junction
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. I would highly recommend spending the extra cash for a better hotel. The room only had one full bed. I assumed at the time of booking that the hotel standard was queen. There was hair left in the shower stall. The shower was also so small. The walls are paper thin. Our room was right next to the entrance and we were woken up by other guests who were coming and going all night long (the door slams every time it closes). Also we could hear kids running around all hours of the night upstairs. The electricity would also go in and out. The heater was extremely loud and would wake us up again every time it kicked on during the night. If we were planning to stay more than one night I would have checked us out and found a different hotel.

However, the front desk staff was very friendly. The only thing this place has going for it is the great location and the free shuttle stops right in front of here and takes you to main street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a "condo" hotel, meaning all the units are owned by pretty much absentee owners. And it shows. While they've just refurbished the lobby, the room we were in was at least 40 years old. The in-room heater made enough noise as a jet engine and had to be "restarted" by maintenance. Maid service was spotty to say the least. One day, the room wasn't even made up, the other days we got a potpourri of towels and washcloths. Sometimes two bath mats and no washcloths. No one ever answers the desk phone. There are no drawers to unpack your clothes and store them so we lived out of a suitcase. And we shared the "living" area with a full size refrigerator that, when combined with the noise from the heater provided a wonderful cacophony for sleepless nights. When we listed the problems with the hotel manager, she wrote them all down and said she'd call us back to resolve. NEVER heard from her. Avoid this "hotel" at all costs. You won't be happy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Main area being upgraded. This will be nice when it is done. In Jan 2014 it was incomplete. Pleasant surprise with the room. Nicely painted and furnished. Everything worked and was neat and clean. On the small side but we did not spend much time in the room. Good value for a ski weekend.

Room Tip: Luck of the draw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Prospector? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prospector

Address: 2175 Sidewinder Drive, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Prospector 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Park City like a local and enjoy breathtaking scenery, unparalleled skiing, mountain recreation, fine dining, and so much more. The Prospector Lodge and Convention Center, an official venue of the Sundance Film Festival, has ideal corporate meeting space and lodging facilities conveniently located within the heart of Park City. With ski resorts and Main Street only 5 minutes away, The Prospector Lodge is the perfect place to stay. Our privately owned condominium style accommodations offer a real Park City feel. Guests can choose studio accommodations with either one or two queen beds, a loft with 1 queen and a sofa sleeper, or a 3-bdrm condo that sleeps 8. Most units have full kitchens, many have fireplaces and some even have a washer and dryer and dishwasher, and all are within a block of the Silver Mountain Sports Club and Spa. We have a 24 hour Front Desk for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Prospector reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prospector Hotel Park City
The Prospector Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prospector, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.