We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, clean accomodations, far from Main Street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Powderwood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Powderwood Resort to your Saves list
Powderwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   6975 North 2200 West, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, clean accomodations, far from Main Street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We booked at Powderwood resorts for our business trip to the Sundance film festival and were a bit worried after reading negative trip advisor reviews. Our condo turned out to be very clean and the All Resorts staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Turns out, the resort is now being managed by a very competent gentleman named Gary who jumps through hoops to make sure customers are satisfied. Our only bit of advice for people booking to attend Sundance in Park City is that All Resorts accommodations are a good 45 minutes to an hour bus ride away from Main Street (which is contrary to what resort staffers told us when we booked). So car rental is highly recommended if you don't want to waste hours commuting. All said, the actual rooms (with full kitchens and fireplaces) are basic, but very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASRLodgingPC, General Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed our staff during your stay, but are equally disappointed with the time it took for you to get to and from main street! We make efforts whenever possible to get guests downtown via cab or by public bus as fast as possible, and have found the average commute to be around fifteen to twenty minutes to Main Street. Sundance Film Festival is notorious for long delays, but we've had a successful year this year using the event-offered bus lines getting people to their films on time or far in advance! We've also utilized our private shuttle to get people up to the Canyons at no extra charge, from where they can hop on the express right up to Main Street. All in all, we care about your time and are here to do whatever we can to get you to your location fast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Well, to start, being welcomed with a letter from another tenant regarding mold issues between his condo and the one we were to stay in was not the way we intended on starting our weekend vacations. After being horrified by the contents of the letter we entered the condo and the horror continued. It was so disgusting! There were boogers on the wall, soggy, half eaten pretzels on the floor, red couches with armrests stained black, a wooden dining chair that reclined due to missing nails and nails protruding the seat, blue silly string on the ceiling in the master, a toilet that wouldn't flush, missing pillows, a suspicious stain on the coffee table, no AC, made the mistake of turning on the heat (thinking it was AC) and were bombarded by the most horrific smell I have ever smelled. One of the people staying there with us ran out of the condo to throw up because the smell was so bad! When we went to the office, the person said that there was nothing they could do. So after strong arming we were able to get new accommodations. So after two hours and two cranky tired kids back to bed, we were able to sit and share with you this grotesque experience and warning. Feel free to take a gander at the pics provided. Needless to say, DO NOT STAY AT THIS ROACH MOTEL!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHVManager, Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Powderwood Resort is managed by All Seasons Resort Lodging and has new management for our Kimball Junction Resorts which includes Powderwood Resort. We are dedicated to ensuring that each guest receives great service and an excellent value. We have had some challenges in the past but those are being fixed! We look forward to having you as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

The condo looked nice when we arrived. The kids wanted to watch tv so we pulled down the murphy bed. There was a HUGE URINE stain on the sheets all the way down to the mattress. It was awful. We called and they said they couldn't do anything. It was late so most of us crowded into the other bed and my daughter and her baby slept on the small couch. It has NO air conditioning. We played with the fireplace and it didn't work. The tv in the bedroom didn't work. It was awful. DON'T STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHVManager, Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Powderwood Resort is managed by All Seasons Resort Lodging and has new management for our Kimball Junction Resorts which includes Powderwood Resort. We are dedicated to ensuring that each guest receives great service and an excellent value. We have had some challenges in the past but those are being fixed!

The response you received from the staff that there is nothing that could be done regarding the cleanliness issues is absolutely unacceptable. We now have many procedures in place to remedy such problems and have trained the staff to make guest comfort and security their top priority.

Unfortunately most residences and condos in Park City, Utah do not have air conditioning due to the very short summers and cool mountain air. During the summer months to conserve our natural resources the gas fireplaces are turned off.

We look forward to having you as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This place is very cute. It isn't very fancy, so if that's what you're looking for avoid. But if your laid back then no worries. The place is in a great location and the staff is extremely helpful for a first-time traveler to the area. The prices are very affordable. I felt like I was one of the only people there, even though there are so many condos. It's very private and cozy. I will definately return to Powderwood!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

When I pulled back the sheets to go to bed there was a bunch of HAIR all over the bottom sheet! Obviously they had not changed the sheets..GROSS!! Also there were no sheets to the hide-a-bed where my other family members were to sleep. When running a bath for my grandkids the hot water was beyond any safe temperature and it burned my hand! I am just glad I check the water before putting the kids in! This place needs a serious property manager and housekeeping service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHVManager, Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Powderwood Resort is managed by All Seasons Resort Lodging and has new management for our Kimball Junction Resorts which includes Powderwood Resort. We are dedicated to ensuring that each guest receives great service and an excellent value. We have had some challenges in the past but those are being fixed!

We look forward to having you as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

There were 9 in our party, 6 adults, 3 children. We selected a 2 bedroom, plus loft unit.
Upon arriving at check-in, I was immediately not impressed. Asked about some of the things we had requested as was told they had no special requests listed on our reservation.
Upon arriving at the condo unit, I was immediately dissatisfied. It was dirty. Looked like the fan had not been dusted in months, ants on the floor of the bathroom, hair in the second shower, and electrical outlets that did not work in the bathroom or bedroom.
The sofa sleeper was a real joke. Am not sure if anyone could have actually slept on it as the springs in the mattress were unbearable. Our grandsons were going to sleep on it, but chose the floor instead.
I contacted the front desk about the uncleanliness of the room and was met with a ho hum attitude. Manager of housekeeping did call, and they did send someone over to clean the fan, however, they wanted to do a full cleaning of the condo, which was just not going to be convenient.
The kitchen lacked any ammenities and the dishes and glasses that were in the cupboards were dirty. Had to wash coffee cups, wine glasses and drinking glasses before we could even use them.
When speaking with housekeeping I was told that they thought the unit was "owner occupied" and that was the reason for it not being clean. I found that to be ridiculous, as they should have know when they received the payment for the rental that it was not currently being occupied by the owners.
I would not recommend this property to anyone and do not planning on staying their on our next trip to Park City.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHVManager, Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Powderwood Resort is managed by All Seasons Resort Lodging and has new management for our Kimball Junction Resorts which includes Powderwood Resort. We are dedicated to ensuring that each guest receives great service and an excellent value. We have had some challenges in the past but those are being fixed!

The experience you encountered is night and day from the feedback we are getting from our guests. Our owners have done upgrades to the two bedroom with Loft units which makes for a much more comfortable stay.

We look forward to having you as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Our condo was neat and clean, comfortable and quietly located - just right for the two of us. Although we didn't use all the accommodations provided in the condo, we appreciated them being there for our use. The only thing that could be negative for some folks is that you have to go to a different location (about a mile away) for the key. But it was easy to find and no problem to us. There were plenty of bath towels, etc, in the condo, but if we had been in need of something, it could have been a slight inconvenience. The view and outdoor scenery around the condo was wonderful. And the price was great!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Powderwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powderwood Resort

Address: 6975 North 2200 West, Park City, UT 84098
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Powderwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

PowderWood offers guests a choice of 1- and 2-bedroom condominiums as well as 2-bedroom loft condominiums, with mountain-style spiral staircases accessing the cozy lofts.

For the same price as a hotel room, guests enjoy all the comforts of home here - with full kitchens, spacious living rooms, comfortable bedrooms, and private balconies to take in the mountain air and stunning seasonal views.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Powderwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powderwood Hotel Park City
Powderwood Resort Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powderwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.