We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Powderwood Resort

Save Saved
You added Powderwood Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Powderwood Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   6975 North 2200 West, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Satisfactory...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We rented a two-bedroom condo for a 12 day skiing trip and were genuinely satisfied with the standard and cleanliness of the rooms. The apartment was spacious and big enough for 4 people, six (as advertised) would be cosy. All rooms were of good size with adequate storage, facilities and TV's in the living and bedroom areas. The basis for choosing this location was purely financial, as it offered a reasonable rate for two bedrooms during peak season, therefore there were some drawbacks.Firstly we were on the ground floor which meant that views of the mountains (as advertised) were non existent. Additionally, as our living room blinds did not open the room always seemed quite gloomy, even with the many table and standing lamps switched on. The lightswitches at door entry did not appear to do anything which resulted in a fumble around anytime you entered a darkened room. My biggest gripe was the periodic noise generated by the furnace which was adjacent to the main bedroom - it absolutely howled the air out into the bedroom which was very annoying for the first few days or so, until we got used to it (and after a few days on the slopes after which you can sleep through anything!). However, as we were only spending the odd evening in the apartment we were not overly concerned with these issues. Finally, did not use any of the external facilities therefore cannot comment on them.
Overall the reception staff were extremely friendly and the apartment offered clean, spacious living accomodation with adequate facilities and utensils, at a budget price. We would rent here again although not a ground floor residence !

Room Tip: Ground floor unit had excessive a/c noise and restricted/no view of the mountains....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We appreciate your response and want to apologize for the inconvenience of the maintenance issues encountered. We strongly encourage guests to contact our 24-hour staff no matter what issues are encountered so that we can address them before they're even a problem. Whether its a buzzing furnace to broken blinds, we're here to help you get the most out of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

1st Item- When we arrived we tried to look for the offices to check in. We ran into some maintenance guys and asked where the offices were and they said the offices were not on site and that they were down the road. They said that this kind of thing happens all of the time, that the 3rd parties (CheapHotels) need to do a better job at informing their guests where to check in. So if it weren't for the maintenance guy's I'm not sure how we would of checked in. 2nd item- Instal AC for the summer time. Fans were nice but didn't do much to beat the heat. 3rd item- on the web site there were pictures of the club house that showed a pool table, so we were excited about that. We got to the club house and NO pool table, so that was a bit frustrating.
4th item- Very classy rooms, we were pleased with how fancy and nice it looked when we walked in.
5th item- Pool temperature was great. Just a note on security, Im assuming you a permanent residents that live there year round. Not sure if the pool is included in there contracts. If it is then disregard this but if not then the fences and the locked door didn't seem to stop people from coming in and using the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We're happy to hear you enjoyed the condo! Our offsite check-in is about a mile and a half away from the condominium complex, conveniently located right off of highway 224 as you exit the freeway. While the pool table is unfortunately absent from the clubhouse, we hope guests will still take full advantage of the year-round hot tub and the summer pool hours. Cool mountain temperatures at night do wonders to beat the summer heat, but we're always happy to ensure fans are provided for the warmer temperatures during the day. We hope you'll come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Every one of these is different. It's hard to rate a place based on what the owner of the one I rented. The one we rented was nice had nice furniture, beds and felt very homey. I was less impressed with the shared amenities. The two tennis courts only had one net, the pool was closed for maintenance and the hot tub wouldn't bubble (it was hot however). If the price were right I would stay here again, but at the same time nothing stuck out to me that made this a place I had to come back to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We're glad to hear you enjoyed the condo you stayed in. While the pool is closed during the fall and winter, the hot tub does remain open for guest use year round. We hope Powderwood's competitive rates year-round will bring you back again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is a very very cute place to stay. My mom and I stayed in these in order to go shopping and see the area-- a little get away. The condo is extremely clean and so nice. We got the one bedroom, and there is a TV in the bedroom and the living room, both flat screens. The living room had a full, pull out bed, not a stupid sofa bed like we thought. The kitchen is spotless and has everything you would need. There is a washer and dryer in the unit, as well as complimentary laundry detergent. There is a coffee maker, with coffee, sugar, etc. I think this unit must have been renovated, it was just so clean and spotless. We stayed in room 6k. The bed in the room is so big and fluffy and luxurious. There is also a balcony.

Downsides are the bathroom, is it located inside the bedroom, so if you are staying with someone, they will need to come through the room in order to use the bathroom-- not so nice when you have a sleeping baby in the room. The major annoyance was the check in process. Plan on going a couple miles up the road to go through a maze in order to get the keys-- oh, and don't go without a charged cell phone. If you don't have a phone, you're screwed. All in all, the room was amazing, so much better than i could ever imagine, and i am always going to book at powderwood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall S, General Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope you'll keep us in mind the next time you make a quick getaway to Park City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at Powderwood Condominiums for 4 nights during Sundance Film Festival. We rented a 2 bedroom condo with a loft and felt there was plenty of room for all 7 of us. The place was pretty clean but a little dated. There were 2 bathrooms a full kitchen and even washer/dryer. It is located by the outlet mall which is about 10 miles away from main street in Park City. There is a free bus or it is a $20 cab ride to main street. When I inquired about the internet, they said there wasn't any but when we got there we were able to find a signal. If you have high standards this isn't the place for you; it is no four seasons but not a motel 6, either. It was nothing fancy, but for the price and how many people stayed there it was great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASRLodgingPC, General Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
We here at All Seasons Resort Lodging appreciate guest input about the dated status of various units. We've instituted over the past year a Minimum Standards Program that requires all of the privately owned condos we rent to meet a specific standard, otherwise we won't rent it. This has done wonders for getting our units updated and we're upgrading our standards each year to ensure our guests have enjoyable units with a standard they can rely on. We absolutely care how our guests feel about their stay and value loyal guests who stay with us repeatedly. Potential guests are invited to contact our front desk prior to their stay to inquire about unit preferences so we can do our best to match your requests and ensure the unit you get is a part of your enjoyable vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We booked at Powderwood resorts for our business trip to the Sundance film festival and were a bit worried after reading negative trip advisor reviews. Our condo turned out to be very clean and the All Resorts staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Turns out, the resort is now being managed by a very competent gentleman named Gary who jumps through hoops to make sure customers are satisfied. Our only bit of advice for people booking to attend Sundance in Park City is that All Resorts accommodations are a good 45 minutes to an hour bus ride away from Main Street (which is contrary to what resort staffers told us when we booked). So car rental is highly recommended if you don't want to waste hours commuting. All said, the actual rooms (with full kitchens and fireplaces) are basic, but very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASRLodgingPC, General Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed our staff during your stay, but are equally disappointed with the time it took for you to get to and from main street! We make efforts whenever possible to get guests downtown via cab or by public bus as fast as possible, and have found the average commute to be around fifteen to twenty minutes to Main Street. Sundance Film Festival is notorious for long delays, but we've had a successful year this year using the event-offered bus lines getting people to their films on time or far in advance! We've also utilized our private shuttle to get people up to the Canyons at no extra charge, from where they can hop on the express right up to Main Street. All in all, we care about your time and are here to do whatever we can to get you to your location fast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Well, to start, being welcomed with a letter from another tenant regarding mold issues between his condo and the one we were to stay in was not the way we intended on starting our weekend vacations. After being horrified by the contents of the letter we entered the condo and the horror continued. It was so disgusting! There were boogers on the wall, soggy, half eaten pretzels on the floor, red couches with armrests stained black, a wooden dining chair that reclined due to missing nails and nails protruding the seat, blue silly string on the ceiling in the master, a toilet that wouldn't flush, missing pillows, a suspicious stain on the coffee table, no AC, made the mistake of turning on the heat (thinking it was AC) and were bombarded by the most horrific smell I have ever smelled. One of the people staying there with us ran out of the condo to throw up because the smell was so bad! When we went to the office, the person said that there was nothing they could do. So after strong arming we were able to get new accommodations. So after two hours and two cranky tired kids back to bed, we were able to sit and share with you this grotesque experience and warning. Feel free to take a gander at the pics provided. Needless to say, DO NOT STAY AT THIS ROACH MOTEL!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHVManager, Manager at Powderwood Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Powderwood Resort is managed by All Seasons Resort Lodging and has new management for our Kimball Junction Resorts which includes Powderwood Resort. We are dedicated to ensuring that each guest receives great service and an excellent value. We have had some challenges in the past but those are being fixed! We look forward to having you as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Powderwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powderwood Resort

Address: 6975 North 2200 West, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Specialty lodging in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Powderwood Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Seasons Resort Lodging welcomes you to PowderWood Resort. Guest will enjoy these attractive condominiums at affordable prices, as well as their close proximity to Park City's ski resorts (within 10 minutes), Tanger Outlet Center, and other area attractions. Access all this and more by hopping on the free citywide bus or take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service throughout the Kimball Junction area during the winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Powderwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powderwood Hotel Park City
Powderwood Resort Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powderwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.