We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days in double room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Apres Lodge

Save Saved
You added Chateau Apres Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Apres Lodge
1299 Norfolk Ave., P.O. Box 579, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 59 hotels in Park City
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“3 days in double room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you are looking for a friendly place with simple but clean accommodation, this is the lodge.
Private rooms are very clean and have everything you need. The breakfast downstairs is good with an atmosphere that ensures you get to know a few fellow skiers. The staff are always helpful and most lodgers enjoyed the winter olympics together. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: all rooms were fine. The dormitory was basic, however, it did create an atmosphere of commerarderie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
It's always fun to watch the Olympics after a day on the slopes! Glad you were able to do that, Kim, and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Thanks for sharing that, and keep us in mind for next year!

All the best,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
9
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

It's basic and clean. It's location is exceptional. Can't be beat if your looking for something simple for a few days. Good for the guys and not the wives. The staff are friendly and most helpful. You can walk anywhere and do not need a car. Close to bus stop also.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Nope, you can't beat this location! So glad you had a blast with us, Richard. We'll be here next time you get the urge to hit the slopes!

Take care,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just finished 5 days at the Chateau. Location is pretty much perfect as you can walk easily to the lifts as well as into town. All the employees seemed friendly and helpful. The room itself is very small but has the essentials (bed, couch, closet, tv, and bathroom). I was a little put out by the shag carpeting in the room and what seemed like an old comforter on the bed but I was there to ski so barely stayed in the room (like a Las Vegas trip...). It does get loud at night when people are coming home and in the morning when people are going skiing due to the paper thin walls but you should be up skiing anyways! This is a simple and no frills place to stay when doing a few days skiing but I would put it more in the "guys" trip than a place you would bring your significant other.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks for making us a part of your trip, Kevin! Although I'm glad you had a blast on the slopes, it seems like you weren't as impressed with your room. As you mentioned, we do keep it pretty basic, but those touches allow us to offer our rooms at such an affordable price. We do improvements every year, and new comforters are always on the list. That said, I hope you'll give us another shot next time you and the guys want to hang out on the mountain. Between our location and this great weather, I know you'll have a great time!

Thanks again,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have been staying at Chateau Apres Lodge for years. The location is convenient, the price is right and the personnel are helpful. The beds are comfy and there is ample hot water. No, it is not "fancy" and the "continental breakfast" is pretty basic but those factors are not important to me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
It's always good to hear from a long-time guest like you! On behalf of our entire team, thank you so much for making us a part of your winter getaways, and for sharing your kind words. We can't wait to welcome you back again!

Warm regards,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day trip to Park City and we stayed for the second time at Chateau Apres Lodge. As last time, we were not disapointed. You can bet the location (10 min walking distance from the lifts) and very close to the downtown. We took the car to go out and eat but you can walk or take the free buses. The rooms are very basics but have everything you need ( even TV) and very clean. Breakfast in the morning is also very basics but very good. Finally the staff is always very nice and welcoming. The only thing missing is a hot tub for the after ski.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in Park city for a very decent price.

Thank you!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room far from the stairs as it gets pretty noisy in the evening and the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for thinking of us once again! We're so glad that you enjoyed your trip, and we hope you'll consider us next time you're craving a little time on the slopes. Until next time, thank you for the kind words, and let us know if there's anything else we can do to make your next visit even better!

Regards,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Chateau Apres for a week in March 2013. I was looking for great location and low cost. Chateau Apres fit the bill: it's within an easy walk to the main entrance of the Park City Mountain Resort (even loaded down with skis) and to a main stop of the free buses to Park City's other ski areas and its Downtown. In fact, you can walk into town, if you wish. The outside of the Lodge looks quite dated but that is misleading: the inside has been updated (though some might say it's been "updated" from the fifties to the seventies - which may be true but isn't a criticism). For me, the best thing about the Chateau (beyond location and price) was its cleanliness -- and I mean really clean. The low room rate included breakfast, minimal but more than adequate -- no hot food except make-your-own oatmeal plus coffee and tea; lots of cold cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries. It's tempting to call my room "no frills" but it included a very comfortable queen-sized bed, a sitting divan, a night table with reading lamp and alarm clock, a very ample bureau, large mirror, a very ample closet, a very up-to-date wall-mounted TV with many channels, a wall mounted telephone (local calls free), and a small private bath (supplied daily with fresh towels) with sink, toilet, stall shower, and medicine cabinet with mirror. Forewarned by prior TripAdvisor reviews, I brought a large bath towel with me. My one caution: a large person would find this particular bathroom uncomfortably small (at 5' 8", 165 lbs., I did not) so a call to the owner in advance would be well advised for larger folk in order to secure larger accomodations elsewhere in the Chateau. The hotel provides free wi-fi and a computer in the lobby (which I used to check e-mails, confirm my outgoing plane reservations, and print my boarding passes). The hotel is three stories and there is no elevator. I might have regretted that absence but, upon my arrival, the Chateau's owner met me at the front door and, without saying a word beyond "Hello and welcome", grabbed my 50-pound valise and led me up to my 3rd floor room, leaving me to follow with my ski & boot bags, feeling guilty all the way up. That initial courtesy and assistance was typical of him and his staff the entire week of my stay.
Bottom line: for value and location in Park City, Chateau Apres can't be beat.

Room Tip: I chose a corner room on the third floor and it was very quiet. I can imagine that, when the Chatea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Great location at a great value—that's what we're all about! Thanks for taking the time to share your detailed review with fellow travelers. It was a pleasure to read! Hope to welcome you back next time you're looking to get away.

Thanks again,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I booked this place expecting the worst because of how inexpensive it is and ended up being surprised of the value it offered. Yeah it's outdated & frozen in the 70's etc but if you are going to Park City on a budget, I can't imagine there are any better options than this.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the location is 2minutes from the mountain/bus stop, a very close walk to downtown and also to a local 7-11. You can't expect fireworks for this kind of budget but all the tools you need to have a stay that is bearable are there. The included breakfast is super minimal, towels as mentioned are tiny, beds and pillows were pretty hard, not sure if there was even a thermostat anywhere near our room but at lease there was Direct TV and free WiFi much to my surprise.

Maybe its not a great place to spend a week or more for some, and definitely not for bringing your date, but for a cheap, extended weekend with friends where you can laugh off a few cheesy details, it is pretty ideal. I've stayed in some pretty posh places for snowboarding trips in the past but I would definitely come back here any year to save a few bucks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
It's great to hear that you're looking forward to your next visit! We're looking forward to having you back, and we'll be sure to keep your suggestions in mind for our future updates. After all, we want to do everything we can to make our guests feel at home! Until next time, thanks for the great review!

All the best,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Apres Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Apres Lodge

Address: 1299 Norfolk Ave., P.O. Box 579, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#15 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Apres Lodge offers affordable, convenient and comfortable lodging in Park City. We are a true "Skiers Ski Lodge!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Apres Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Apres Hotel Park City
Chateau Apres Lodge Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Apres Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.