We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Apres Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Apres Lodge to your Saves list
Chateau Apres Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1299 Norfolk Ave., P.O. Box 579, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
273 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I booked this place expecting the worst because of how inexpensive it is and ended up being surprised of the value it offered. Yeah it's outdated & frozen in the 70's etc but if you are going to Park City on a budget, I can't imagine there are any better options than this.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the location is 2minutes from the mountain/bus stop, a very close walk to downtown and also to a local 7-11. You can't expect fireworks for this kind of budget but all the tools you need to have a stay that is bearable are there. The included breakfast is super minimal, towels as mentioned are tiny, beds and pillows were pretty hard, not sure if there was even a thermostat anywhere near our room but at lease there was Direct TV and free WiFi much to my surprise.

Maybe its not a great place to spend a week or more for some, and definitely not for bringing your date, but for a cheap, extended weekend with friends where you can laugh off a few cheesy details, it is pretty ideal. I've stayed in some pretty posh places for snowboarding trips in the past but I would definitely come back here any year to save a few bucks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
It's great to hear that you're looking forward to your next visit! We're looking forward to having you back, and we'll be sure to keep your suggestions in mind for our future updates. After all, we want to do everything we can to make our guests feel at home! Until next time, thanks for the great review!

All the best,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
12
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Early January 2013 stay. Owner managed. It's a nice feeling knowing that the person you are dealing with has a vested interest. You can tell that they take pride in the lodge and care about their guests which creates more of a personal feel to your stay. The woman that works the night shift is equally friendly and helpful. Clean and comfortable but do not expect amenities you may be used to in a more upscale hotel or some of the chains. Small rooms and bathroom but adequate. They offer a continental breakfast consisting of cereals, coffee, OJ and milk and fruit cocktail in the dining room. Would be nice if they had bananas or some other type of fruit. It is a great location with a short walk to Park City Mt. Resort or to bus stops for travel to Deer Valley or the Canyons. No refrigerator in the room but you are welcome to use one in the dining area. No elevator but only one flight up even if on the 3rd floor if you use the back entrance. If you have trouble with stairs or carrying luggage up keep this in mind. It's possible you could hear noise from adjacent rooms or the hallway depending on how quiet your neighbor is. The room doors are not that substantial. We heard voices coming thru the heating duct work in the ceiling. Don't let these things detract from what is overall, a great place to stay at a reasonable price for this location. It was my second visit and hope to be back. A skier's lodge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Chateau Après is an older no frills family owned ski lodge. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rates are pretty cheap considering the lodge is about 150 yards from the ski lifts. Although the place is older its well kept. Small free continental breakfast in the AM. Bathroom towels are a little small. No ironing board or hair drier if you've got a girl with you. No mini fridge. Chateau is about a 2 min walk to the bus stop which goes to Main St. My only complaint was there was no hot tub.
All said and done for the price and location it's pretty tough to be Chateau Après. I would definitely recommend it and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed in a double room at Chateau Aprés Lodge during Sundance Film Festival. The location is perfect, 10 mins walk from Main Street, 5 mins from the Mountain Ski Resort and really 2 mins from the nearest bus stop to take you everywhere you need to go around Park City.
The staff is really friendly and nice and ready to help you with all your queries.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Free internet, cable tv. Could not ask for more. There is no elevator but there is always someone nice to help you with your suitcase. Breakfast included.
I definitely recommend it. :)

Room Tip: There is also the option of booking dorms which I think is the only hotel in Park City having this o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We love to ski, but because we live in Arizona we rarely get the chance. So when we book a trip, we want to go were we know there will be snow. We discovered Chateau Apres on the internet and it is everything they said it was. First of all it is the best price for accommodations in Park City. Second, it is less than a 5 minute walk to the lifts. Third, the original old section of town with all the boutiques and awesome restarants is less than a 10 minute walk away. The rooms are a little small but clean and there is plenty of hot water to shower with. We loved the free breakfast in the morning and the family atmosphere. We wish they had a hot tub, that was the only downer, but the price and location made up for that. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau Apres Lodge in February 2012. The location is excellent - a 2 block walk to the Park City Mountain Resort and less than a mile walk into town. However, the hotel is very, very bare bones. We wanted to save money, and we sure did, but we will probably stay somewhere else during our next visit to Park City. Pros - location and free continental breakfast (cereal, oatmeal, canned fruit). Cons - noisy neighbors, threadbare towels, quirky host.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Although I'm glad we were able to help you save on your ski vacation, I wish that the rest of your stay had left you with a better impression. While the minimalistic approach we take has made us who we are, we've made several changes since your last stay, and they've only made us better. We'd love for you to see them first hand! Until then, thanks for your candor.

Best,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiânia, Brasil
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Positive things about this hotel:
Location. Only 5min walking to Park City Mountain Resort. Close to Main Street. The bedroons are big and clean. The beds and pillows are good. There's a computer that you can use with internet free for 10 minutes, and wifi free is also available.
There's a continental breakfast included.

Negative things:
There's no lifts. You have to go upstairs with your luggage.
The water doesn't keep the same temperature during the shower. And it's hard to find a good temperature. It's too hot and when you open the cold water a little bit, it gets cold.
The space of the shower is small.
The towels are small and old. Maybe you should bring your own towel.
There's no ski lockers.

They change the towels everyday and clean the bathroom, but they don't do the bed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village
0.9 mi away
Marriott Park City
Marriott Park City
#22 of 58 in Park City
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Park City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#31 of 58 in Park City
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Regency Hotel
Park Regency Hotel
#33 of 58 in Park City
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Apres Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Apres Lodge

Address: 1299 Norfolk Ave., P.O. Box 579, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Apres Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Apres Lodge offers affordable, convenient and comfortable lodging in Park City. We are a true "Skiers Ski Lodge!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Chateau Apres Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Apres Hotel Park City
Chateau Apres Lodge Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Apres Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.