We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hide away in Park City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Apres Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Apres Lodge to your Saves list
Chateau Apres Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1299 Norfolk Ave., P.O. Box 579, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect hide away in Park City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We love to ski, but because we live in Arizona we rarely get the chance. So when we book a trip, we want to go were we know there will be snow. We discovered Chateau Apres on the internet and it is everything they said it was. First of all it is the best price for accommodations in Park City. Second, it is less than a 5 minute walk to the lifts. Third, the original old section of town with all the boutiques and awesome restarants is less than a 10 minute walk away. The rooms are a little small but clean and there is plenty of hot water to shower with. We loved the free breakfast in the morning and the family atmosphere. We wish they had a hot tub, that was the only downer, but the price and location made up for that. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
12
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau Apres Lodge in February 2012. The location is excellent - a 2 block walk to the Park City Mountain Resort and less than a mile walk into town. However, the hotel is very, very bare bones. We wanted to save money, and we sure did, but we will probably stay somewhere else during our next visit to Park City. Pros - location and free continental breakfast (cereal, oatmeal, canned fruit). Cons - noisy neighbors, threadbare towels, quirky host.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Although I'm glad we were able to help you save on your ski vacation, I wish that the rest of your stay had left you with a better impression. While the minimalistic approach we take has made us who we are, we've made several changes since your last stay, and they've only made us better. We'd love for you to see them first hand! Until then, thanks for your candor.

Best,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiânia, Brasil
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Positive things about this hotel:
Location. Only 5min walking to Park City Mountain Resort. Close to Main Street. The bedroons are big and clean. The beds and pillows are good. There's a computer that you can use with internet free for 10 minutes, and wifi free is also available.
There's a continental breakfast included.

Negative things:
There's no lifts. You have to go upstairs with your luggage.
The water doesn't keep the same temperature during the shower. And it's hard to find a good temperature. It's too hot and when you open the cold water a little bit, it gets cold.
The space of the shower is small.
The towels are small and old. Maybe you should bring your own towel.
There's no ski lockers.

They change the towels everyday and clean the bathroom, but they don't do the bed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I spent seven nights in one of Chateau Apres Lodge's third-floor rooms near the base of Park City Mountain Resort. The room itself is nothing to brag about - simply offering a bed, TV and private bathroom - but the location is fantastic.

In one direction, you're about 200 steps from Chateau Apres property to Park City Mountain Resort property. From here, you can easily access the Payday and Cresent lifts, as well as the restaurants and ski shops at the base. I simply put on my boots in the room and made the five-minute walk to the lift each morning.

In the other direction, you're a 10-minute walk (1/2 mile or so) to restaurants and shops on Main Street. It's close enough that your legs will still hold up for that evening walk after that long day on the mountain. We saw no need for a taxi at any time.

Also, free public transportation by bus is available to The Canyons or Deer Valley resorts, as well as a shopping center with a bowling alley, movie theater, etc. The buses seemed to run every half hour or so - depending on the route - and there are stops very close to the lodge (e.g., at the base of the PCMR resort).

The room itself is sparse - and can get noisy depending on how late your next-door neighbors and their friends decide to drink beers into the night - but it serves its purpose: a warm bed at night and a free breakfast every morning.

Room Tip: The second floor is on the same level as the lodge's back door, which leads to the resort. A ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very basic lodging: a clean motel room, free basic breakfast ( cereal, oatmeal, pastry, coffee, juice). For the price, I can't imagine a better deal in Park City.

One block from the free busses to Deer Valley and the Canyons, three blocks to the Park City lifts. Can't be beat. Main St is an easy walk.

Parking is at a premium on busy weekends.

I might bring a better pillow next time. That and the towels are a bit small. Typical motel material.

The owners are super nice, answer questions and are always around. Show a sense of pride in the place. Very clean and neat.

Only downside I can think of is their no refund policy and pay up front policy. We were worried about that but it worked out fine. I guess they've been screwed over the years. Don't know what to say, but it's not the only place in town with the same policy.

I'd stay here again over the more expensive resorts. Save the extra money for lift tickets and food!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place is perfect for a snowboard or ski trip. It's in walking distance to the Park City Mountain Resort lifts. Just imagine staying in your grandma's house... The rooms have the old fashion locks on the door where you have to push in the door knob to lock... All of the employees were so friendly. The rooms are super basic. It was perfect for my fiance and I. We went to snowboard and this lodge was exactly what we were looking for... We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Footsteps away from Park City Mountain Lifts. Also, a direct bus runs to Deer Valley and Canyons nearby. Great place if you really want to ski and get into Utah at a reasonable price. Clean and comfortable rooms, but in reality you should be spending most of your time out on the slopes. 5 minute walk to Downtown Park City Main Street

Note this is not a 5 star hotel, but for the location, friendly staff, and value I highly recommend for any traveler

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Park City
0.9 mi away
Marriott Park City
Marriott Park City
#22 of 58 in Park City
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Silverado Lodge
Silverado Lodge
#28 of 58 in Park City
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 58 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Regency Hotel
Park Regency Hotel
#33 of 58 in Park City
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Apres Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Apres Lodge

Address: 1299 Norfolk Ave., P.O. Box 579, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Apres Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Apres Lodge offers affordable, convenient and comfortable lodging in Park City. We are a true "Skiers Ski Lodge!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Chateau Apres Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Apres Hotel Park City
Chateau Apres Lodge Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Apres Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.