We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Apres Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chateau Apres Lodge to your Saves list
Chateau Apres Lodge
1299 Norfolk Ave., P.O. Box 579, Park City, UT 84060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Special
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Location, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Footsteps away from Park City Mountain Lifts. Also, a direct bus runs to Deer Valley and Canyons nearby. Great place if you really want to ski and get into Utah at a reasonable price. Clean and comfortable rooms, but in reality you should be spending most of your time out on the slopes. 5 minute walk to Downtown Park City Main Street

Note this is not a 5 star hotel, but for the location, friendly staff, and value I highly recommend for any traveler

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
9
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The people were SO nice. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Free breakfast in the morning. Free parking in front. It took us 2 minutes to walk to the slopes! Couldn't have been happier with our stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! You're right—you just can't beat our location. That said, I'd like to know more about your rating. What else can we do to make you feel at home? Let me know and I'll try to make your next visit even better!

Cheers,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Changed my previous booking with this place online via hostelworld.com, received a confirmation of the cancellation and a new confirmation number + price but Chateau Apres was still reluctant to give me a full refund because 'they don't allow late changes'. Strange that the website through which they sell their services allows that then.
Very unfriendly owner who apparently does not care at all about customer relationships.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauapres, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
We remember you well and refunded you $166.00 for your last minute cancellation. We felt this amount to be more than fair. The fee of $40.00 went to pay commissions and services rendered by a 3rd party in which you made your booking, along with multiple credit card transaction fees. Our policies are simple and to the point and are available on our web site and through all other reservation services that we are associated. We acknowledge that you required personal exceptions to our policies as well as more detailed personal attention. We are a small simple place, open seasonally and after nearly 50 years in buisness were not perfect and are always looking for areas to improve, but one thing is certain, we are always fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Chateau Apres Lodge. Adorable lodge with convenient location to the main street. We did giggle a bit when we were handed our room assigned remotes and actual metal keys to the rooms at check in. And we were winded after climbing 2 flights of stairs to our 3rd floor room. Furnishings are dorm room chic. (One bed was missing a knob at the top of the bed post and the knobs didn't match on the dresser.) The rooms were very clean though with new carpet and what looked like brand new LCD TVs. We had another laugh when my father tried to get into the shower and promptly realized he was taller than the stall. (He's 6 feet 4 inches tall.) There was a mysterious community table in the hallway with magazines, shampoo and even a bottled of liquor. It all added to the charm of this very comfortable and easy going lodge. We completely made ourselves at home. The staff was friendly and all our requests were met cheerfully. The lobby area is cozy and quaint with plenty of games and books to keep you busy during non-skiing hours. We throughly enjoyed ourselves and are planning another trip for next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I've stayed at Chateau Apres two years in a row, both for 2 nights. The first time I stayed here I was pleasantly surprised to find a place with such a great location and so affordable. You can walk to the PC ticket booth in under 10 minutes. This is extremeley convienient especially since the parking lots get full quickly and if you don't get to the resort in time you may have to pay for parking or just not get any at all. That happened the first day we got there.

This year I stayed there and was unfortunate to get a room right above the kitchen/breakfast area. From about 8-8:30am you can hear the talking and laughing from the people eating breakfast right under you. It is really loud and woke me up. You can almost make out what the people are saying and when someone laughs loud it feels like they are right outside your door. If you are an early riser then no problem. But if want to sleep in then you may have some problems. Last year this was not an issue because I was not above the kitchen.

It also hailed the night I stayed there and it was extremely loud. It sounded like someone was throwing rocks at the window. This problem was also due to location of the room. We were in the corner of the building where we have two single pane window facing out.

This year we noticed that the rooms were upgraded with a small flat screen tv and lots more channels. There is also a new mac to use in the lobby. The wireless was extremely slow but that was also probably due to the location of my room. Last year it was better as room was in the center of the building.

The rooms are clean but not updated. The towels are white but feel very old. It didn't seem like the central heat was working so we had to use the small but loud space heater.

Pros: Great location, affordable, free breakfast, clean
Cons: Not updated, can be noisy, no spa or pool, no laundry facilities

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I have stayed at the Chateau Apres three times now. The first two times were just one-nighters because I arrived before the rest of a larger group got to town.

The last trip was a longer stay (28 Dec 09 - 3 Jan 10). Our group of six stayed in three rooms, and enjoyed the trip. The rooms were small and comfy, but clean. The accomodations had everthing needed and served the purpose (saving money and being close to the action). Reservations are not needed except for the Sundance period.

It was a short 5 minute walk to PCMR, and about a 10 minute walk to Main Street. The bus stopped just across the way to take you to town in case the weather made it too uncomfortable to walk. The staff was helpful nice. In the morning, there is a free continental breakfast that hits the spot. About the only thing that I can say that would be considered negative is the limited parking available.

Chateau Apres is not the place for a honeymoon, a romantic getaway or for someone looking for four star accomodations. It is a nice place to stay, reasonably priced (for Park City), centrally located, and comfortable. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I stayed in a dorm room, the rooms were exactly as pictured in the website. It wasn't cheap for a 26 person dorm $48USD but considering it was the busiest time of year i.e Sundance Film Festival. It was definitely worth it though, 2 min walk to the ski lifts, 1 min walk to the free town buses which take you to all the cinemas and other ski resorts.
The staff were genuinely friendly, free communal computer with internet, free breakfast in the morning and free warm apple cider in the evening, the lodge is also quite charming.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Apres Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Apres Lodge

Address: 1299 Norfolk Ave., P.O. Box 579, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Apres Lodge offers affordable, convenient and comfortable lodging in Park City. We are a true "Skiers Ski Lodge!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau Apres Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Apres Hotel Park City
Chateau Apres Lodge Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Apres Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.