We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Event Staff was Attentive and At Your Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sky Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Sky Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sky Lodge
201 Heber Avenue, Park City, UT 84068   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 59 hotels in Park City
Waco, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Event Staff was Attentive and At Your Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My daughter used The Sky Lodge as the venue for her wedding ceremony and reception, and the management and staff were as helpful as they could possibly be before, during, and after the festivities. Event Coordinator Teri Nani, Mgr.'s Kevin and Lawrence, and Chef Kevin were at every beck and call, especially when an elderly guest needed special care and attention. Every staff member we encountered was genuinely kind and helpful. Thank you, Sky Lodge, for all you did for this Texas Mother-of-the-bride, her gorgeous bride to be, and all the Texas family and guests in attendance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCFoodieGirl, Public Relations Manager at The Sky Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Wedding planning and hosting is something we love to do, and we're so glad you were so pleased with your daughter's wedding and our team. I have passed your great feedback along to them. We wish that happy couple a lifetime of love and wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    28
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
89
93
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Sadly, a BIG disappointment! Not sure where to begin. We LOVED Park City but not this hotel.
The rooms are tired and dark, although the hotel is well located. We had a two bedroom suite with a hot tub on the balcony. On our first day of skiing we arrived back to the room with a flood on the balcony. A spigot had burst and water was everywhere and leaking into our room, it took two calls and my finally going to the front desk to get any action to repair this situation. That said, it was not an issue with the front desk, it was the "engineers" that were slow to respond. In general the front desk was responsive, friendly and as helpful as possible.

The next day we returned at about 5:00PM to find that our room had not been cleaned. When I called the front desk I was told that "they were short staffed and they were not sure they would get to our room". Are you kidding me! They suggested that I speak with the manager and connected me to his voicemail. I left him a message, but no a return call. We paid full price for the room and booked in August, so I can't imagine why the issue. The spin is that they are "in transition" but let guests know that in advance and manage the expectations and price. Great location, but will not return! Also, I have read the responses to the other bad reviews on Trip Advisor...my take is...lip service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCFoodieGirl, Public Relations Manager at The Sky Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Staffing up for the season was a challenge and much of what you experienced was a byproduct of being understaffed. We have since been able to add more housekeeping and engineering staff and the recent guest satisfaction we are seeing reflects that. Our new management and ownership team is working diligently to provide exceptional, memorable experiences for guests.

Following the ski season, we will be upgrading the guest rooms, including some new furnishings, new paint and carpeting with the goal of brightening them up.

We hope that when your travels find you in Park City next that you will come by to experience our improvements, including our new restaurants Table One and Tavern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is as advertised! Room was clean and beautiful, bed was comfy, hot tub was perfect even on a -6 degree night. Location is the best part. Able to walk to all the best restaurants within minutes. We stay all over and this was hands down one of the best in recent memory! Staff was very accommodating and well aware of recent negative publicity. They went out of their way at every turn. Thank you Sky Lodge for a wonderful Park City experience!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCFoodieGirl, Public Relations Manager at The Sky Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the nice words! Hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We're locals but had reason to stay on Main Street a few weeks ago. Since it's owner is buying half our town, we gave the "new" Sky Lodge a try. We had been guests at this hotel several times when it was under the previous management and enjoyed it each time. Much has now changed, unfortunately not for the better. The lobby has been redone but I wouldn't say it's an improvement. It looks cheap and unfinished. Rooms have seen no updates and look run down. So do the halls. There is also a really odd smell in the building that I can only describe as wet socks. When calling the front desk, the phone rang with no answer multiple times. The worst part though was the snotty staff, seemingly because we are locals - the attitude started when our address was confirmed at check in. I thought this was not only strange but unbelievable!

Our event in town started late so we had a light early dinner in the new restaurant, Table One. First off, the set up is already dated with its "community" dining table. And I really don't agree that this style of dining warrants a $32 Monkfish. The menu is trying too hard to be cutting edge but really, it's the same trendy line up on every other mediocre menu in Utah. Further, I was brought the wrong dish. Twice. My husband finished his rabbit (just okay) before I even got my $28 quinoa (blah). No apologies, no rush getting the right one to me, so the service was just as lacking as the food. Our desert was a sticky overdone mess of a 'smore. Way too sweet. A man at the next table had to send his $50 steak back for being overdone and the waiter was outright rude to him about it. Not my idea of fine dining at all.
We've heard that the Sky Lodge has really gone downhill with this new ownership but now that we've seen it for ourselves we definitely won't be back.

Room Tip: Call the St Regis
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCFoodieGirl, Public Relations Manager at The Sky Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a candid review.. It sounds like things were unfinished during your stay. In fact, our lobby is just being completed this week, so you are correct by noticing it was unfinished. In the last two weeks, we have been receiving fabulous feedback about Table One - I'm sorry to hear your experience was not on par with that. I hate to make the excuse of it being a new restaurant, but there are always kinks when restaurants first open. We recently were called by the head concierge of a five star hotel in Deer Valley who said their guests are raving about Table One, so I hope you will come back to give it another try.

Our new owner plans to update the guest rooms this spring, during which time the entire property will undergo significant upgrades, most notably Amatsu Spa. Between SKY and our other, newly acquired Main Street properties, the objective is to elevate the accommodations and commercial offerings in Historic Park City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a great location. The staff is very nice and helpful. We had a few issues...hair in the shower when we arrived and no turndown serice one night. My wife used the spa and really liked it. The workout facilities are not good as they are very small. Almost everyday we used them the power went off, I am not sure why.

Overall it is a nice place to stay in Park City, but it should be as it is very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the mountian side otherwise you will be looking at a road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardinal, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Together these two units sleep 8 comfortably. There is a huge hot tub with privacy on a deck with a fireplace. It is neatly tucked away in an area of the deck and although outdoors is nicely protected from weather and eyes. The decor is contemporary-lodgey. The bath tubs are a must see!!!! The staff are amazing ~ friendly, helpful, even delivering warm cookies in the evenings. If you need batteries, the staff will get batteries. If you need a ride, the staff will take you where you need to go. Park your car in the garage and let Sky take care of everything for you. If you have ever imagined a perfect accommodation on dry land this is it!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 207 and 307. Walking distance to the Town Lift. 207 on ground floor has one bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Someone told us that the hotel was going through new management and our experience reflected this -- I felt that the hotel has great potential but is going through a transition period. We thought the shuttle service was terrific, and the drivers very friendly and helpful. The front desk -- some folks could use some additional training while others were terrific (like one staff member who helped us celebrate a special birthday). The housekeeping and the rooms (at the price point we were paying) were not up to standard. (There also was a loud clanking noise at night through the heating system in one of the three bedrooms.) We will likely try the Sky Lodge again (particularly because of the shuttle service) but we think the experience could have been much better with some training of the housekeeping staff and some additional front desk staff. (All calls were sent to the front desk and they were overwhelmed -- housekeeping calls should go to the housekeeping staff, for example).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCFoodieGirl, Public Relations Manager at The Sky Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
You are correct that The Sky Lodge has been in a transitional period. We are under new ownership and have a new management team in place. We are doing our best to get all our new staff up to speed and trained so that they will surpass your (and all guest) expectations very quickly. We appreciate your patience and have great confidence in our new team. We take pride in offering personalized service such as the birthday being recognized in your party. We hope you enjoyed some of our new amenities like Tavern and Table One during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon when we will be fully rebranded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sky Lodge

Address: 201 Heber Avenue, Park City, UT 84068
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Park City
#6 Spa Hotel in Park City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#11 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soho meets the mountains at the best address in Park City, Utah. The Sky Lodge, a luxury boutique hotel like no other in the Mountain West, inhabits the heart of historic Old Town at the corner of Main Street and Heber Avenue. The Sky Lodge's every detail, every vista, every service, every interaction, every bite was thoughtfully created and is meticulously polished each day with you in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sky Hotel Park City
Sky Hotel Park City
The Sky Lodge Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sky Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.