We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Save Saved
You added Prospector Accommodations to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prospector Accommodations
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1940 Prospector Ave., Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Horrendous experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Reserved the prospector for three nights just this past week for New Years. The reviews were decent and the photos looked OK. Arrived to find the place under construction which would've been nice to know. There was a temporary check in location and the computers were down to check us in. We left for the day and received a call that our room was ready. We went back to the hotel to find out room was not ready. There were other guests complaining about no water, no wi fi and key cards that didn't work. The staff were in complete disarray. We finally got our room and it was a mess, very outdated, black water out of the shower tap and the TV didn't work. Not at all representative of what Expedia showed. There were people in the halls trying to find a wi-fi signal. We decided to leave and go somewhere else. I went back and forth with the staff to get a refund over which time they didn't return my calls and claimed "they didn't have a phone to use" Really? No phone and you're a hotel? I got more attitude from the staff and they finally decided to cooperate and work with Expedia for a refund. This place apparently will be re-branded and for good reason. It was a mess of an experience with complete incompetence with the staff. If you can't operate during construction, then don't be open. Worst hotel experience in my 38 years.

Room Tip: Just go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I'm sorry to hear about the bad experience you had staying at The Prospector. The unit you stayed in is not a part of our companies rental pool so I am not able to address the issues. I will make sure The Prospector Hotel sees your review. Even though the unit you stayed in is not ours, I'm still very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

No frills but it did have a small kitchenette, small refrigerator and coffee maker.
Very basic but suited our needs.
The ice machine never worked.
The location was great.
Some of the previous complaints about no reception area was not a big deal.
We had to drive about 1 mile away to get the key, a little inconvenience but not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I greatly appreciate it! I'h glad you enjoyed staying with us. If you have any maintenance issues while in house please let us know right away so we can take care of them for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the second summer I have come to Park City for a three week math institute. The condos are comfortable, though pretty small. They are situated right on the Rail Trail and on the bus line, too, so it is very easy to get to the center of town, and all sorts of other places. Lots of good places to eat within walking distance, or a quick bus ride away. Tere is no fitness center, but the health club next door is available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

As long as you know this isn't a regular hotel, you'll be satisfied. It's clean, the bed is comfortable, but there is some quirkiness that is more annoying than anything else. Examples: you can't turn off the lights from the bed, there is no bedside table, no outlets near the bed for phone, the key has the number clearly marked on it (don't lose it!), and there is no desk for working (only a table made more for eating). The most annoying thing was the placement of the air conditioner, which was quite loud and blew across my head all night long.

On the other hand, the stuido I stayed in had a full sized refrigerator and oven, cupboards stocked with dishes, a small balcony (on the parking lot), a comfy couch, and plenty of room to move about.

Clearly this is set up for multiple-night stays, not hotel dwellers who are looking for full-service hotel accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to hear the nice was nice and clean. We hold our cleaning standards extremely high. I will address the other things you mentioned with the owner. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Price is the one thing in favor for this place. The accommodations are sparse, but adequate..
If I return to Park City I would spring for a higher price and step up to a higher price room. The staff in the booking area were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It's well appreciated! If you return to Park City in the future I'm confident we could provide you with the accommodations that completely satisfy your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Traveling as much as I do, I get tired of overpriced, generic hotels. Last year I found a great website www.vrbo.com (vacation rentals by owner) and scored a charming studio apt here for a lot less than a hotel. Bed is great, satellite TV, balcony porch, full kitchen, and the people who own it are very nice and great to work with. Next time I have to layover in between shows, I'll be back right here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and your positive feedback about Carriage House. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed 5 days in a kitchennette studio in Park City. The rooms are average, beds and pillows hard. The building security pad - never worked, so couple of nights we had some visitors sitting on the entry floor. Front desk closed at 8 pm - so there was no one to call. This enviroment did not feel very safe.

The conference center and Spa were fine.

Employees were accomodating and polite

Room Tip: The walls are paper thin - so perhaps a corner unit would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHVManager, Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I am sorry that you experienced problems with the entry door. While our front desk does not stay open 24 hours for parts of the year there is always an All Seasons Resort Lodging Associate available 24 hours a day to assist with any concerns a guest may have. Please don't hesitate to call us if you need help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prospector Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Accommodations

Address: 1940 Prospector Ave., Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prospector Accommodations 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Seasons Resort Lodging welcomes you to Prospector Accommodations, comprised of three centrally located properties in the Prospector Square area. Each property is within one mile of Park City Mountain Resort and historic Main Street. And just a couple more miles away, guests will find Deer Valley and The Canyons resorts, accessible via the free citywide bus system which stops in front of each property every 10 minutes. These affordable properties are literally minutes away from shops, restaurants, entertainment- everything. Guests will also enjoy complimentary access to the adjacent Silver Mountain Sports Club and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Prospector Accommodations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Park City
Prospector Accommodations Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospector Accommodations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.