We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park City, Utah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Save Saved
You added Prospector Accommodations to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prospector Accommodations
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1940 Prospector Ave., Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Park City, Utah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the second summer I have come to Park City for a three week math institute. The condos are comfortable, though pretty small. They are situated right on the Rail Trail and on the bus line, too, so it is very easy to get to the center of town, and all sorts of other places. Lots of good places to eat within walking distance, or a quick bus ride away. Tere is no fitness center, but the health club next door is available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Salt Lake, Utah
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

As long as you know this isn't a regular hotel, you'll be satisfied. It's clean, the bed is comfortable, but there is some quirkiness that is more annoying than anything else. Examples: you can't turn off the lights from the bed, there is no bedside table, no outlets near the bed for phone, the key has the number clearly marked on it (don't lose it!), and there is no desk for working (only a table made more for eating). The most annoying thing was the placement of the air conditioner, which was quite loud and blew across my head all night long.

On the other hand, the stuido I stayed in had a full sized refrigerator and oven, cupboards stocked with dishes, a small balcony (on the parking lot), a comfy couch, and plenty of room to move about.

Clearly this is set up for multiple-night stays, not hotel dwellers who are looking for full-service hotel accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to hear the nice was nice and clean. We hold our cleaning standards extremely high. I will address the other things you mentioned with the owner. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Price is the one thing in favor for this place. The accommodations are sparse, but adequate..
If I return to Park City I would spring for a higher price and step up to a higher price room. The staff in the booking area were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It's well appreciated! If you return to Park City in the future I'm confident we could provide you with the accommodations that completely satisfy your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Traveling as much as I do, I get tired of overpriced, generic hotels. Last year I found a great website www.vrbo.com (vacation rentals by owner) and scored a charming studio apt here for a lot less than a hotel. Bed is great, satellite TV, balcony porch, full kitchen, and the people who own it are very nice and great to work with. Next time I have to layover in between shows, I'll be back right here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, General Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and your positive feedback about Carriage House. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed 5 days in a kitchennette studio in Park City. The rooms are average, beds and pillows hard. The building security pad - never worked, so couple of nights we had some visitors sitting on the entry floor. Front desk closed at 8 pm - so there was no one to call. This enviroment did not feel very safe.

The conference center and Spa were fine.

Employees were accomodating and polite

Room Tip: The walls are paper thin - so perhaps a corner unit would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHVManager, Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I am sorry that you experienced problems with the entry door. While our front desk does not stay open 24 hours for parts of the year there is always an All Seasons Resort Lodging Associate available 24 hours a day to assist with any concerns a guest may have. Please don't hesitate to call us if you need help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011 via mobile

My father booked our family here for a quick overnight stay. I read some reviews on another site and was concerned but hoped for the best.

He had already checked in before we arrived and said that was a nightmare and involved a safe in a building down the street.

The building we're in looks like a run down apartment complex from the outside and really isn't any better once you're inside!

Here's where it gets extra weird. We both have rooms with 2 beds, the rooms are right next to each other. Their room is much nicer. Newer carpet, nicer furnishings, flat screen TV, updated bathroom with newer tile. Then you go in our room.

First thing that hits you is the funky smell;) then you notice the bathroom that is stuck in 1985 (along with the lovely black mildew), the carpet that is probably 15 years old, the beat up furniture and the very old TV.

For a second I thought I stepped through a time warp! We quickly realized the TV was half dead and was pretty much un-watchable as it kept flickering and freezing up. We also realized that there are no curtains on the 1st floor street facing window, and we can't close the miniblinds because they too are broken.

I'm actually writing this review while laying in the bed wide awake at almost 1am because of the car lights shining in my face.

Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. I think sleeping in my car would be better than this!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASRL, Manager at Prospector Accommodations, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Prospector Accommodations consist of eleven different building and therefore has a central check-in location. The interior and exterior of the check-in location has been renovated in the last seven years. It is not a high end property nor is it fair to say that it is "run down." This review has been very helpful to us and we have made significant upgrades to this room since this guest last stayed. As was stated, the other room was "much nicer," and is the direction we are moving with all of the rooms at Prospector Accommodations. We continue to make improvements to the rooms and property to provide a better guest experience, and value customer feedback. We will always take care of our guests if given the opportunity before, during, or after a stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Had a great stay with my family. Impressed with both the quality of the accommodations and the ease of getting around to the ski resorts and the town. Highly recommend this location, especially if you are traveling with your family!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prospector Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Accommodations

Address: 1940 Prospector Ave., Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prospector Accommodations 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Seasons Resort Lodging welcomes you to Prospector Accommodations, comprised of three centrally located properties in the Prospector Square area. Each property is within one mile of Park City Mountain Resort and historic Main Street. And just a couple more miles away, guests will find Deer Valley and The Canyons resorts, accessible via the free citywide bus system which stops in front of each property every 10 minutes. These affordable properties are literally minutes away from shops, restaurants, entertainment- everything. Guests will also enjoy complimentary access to the adjacent Silver Mountain Sports Club and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Prospector Accommodations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Park City
Prospector Accommodations Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospector Accommodations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.