We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, Cheap Place with Average Quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn & Pancake House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn & Pancake House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn & Pancake House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6560 N Landmark Dr, Park City, UT 84098   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent, Cheap Place with Average Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

This hotel is in a small mountain town about 40 minutes east of Salt Lake City. It seems geared toward the skiing during the winter, and obviously the summer is the cheaper off-season. It's an older hotel that appears to have been upgraded - some of the older parts clearly show wear, whereas the other parts are more modern. The hotel is in an area off to the side from the mall and other urban parts, but within easy access to the slopes. The lobby serves as a breakfast area. It's very close to I-80 making it easy for travelers. There are a number of stores/restaurants nearby in an outside mall area - plenty to do and get. Some of it appears to be under construction to add more buildings. A Walmart is nearby too if you want cheap stuff.

Front desk staff was very nice/accommodating and got us a room with two queen beds. The beds were a bit soft for my wife's taste, but seemed ok to me. A dresser, table, mini-fridge. microwave, and coffee maker were provided (nice, and certainly not all standard in other hotels). Everything was clean and maintained. With the exception of our room over the pool area, we didn't hear much noise from the other residents or the road. The rooms seem older, so I could certainly see other travelers problems with thin walls.

Within the hotel is a place to rent a car, in-door pool, hot tub, exercise room, pool table (pay), and ping pong table. Breakfast in the morning was served in the hotel lobby. There was a large variety of almost every breakfast item you could think of.

There were several negatives however:
- The first room we got overlooked an indoor pool area in the center of the hotel. There were a number of teen/college students that used it up until it closed at 10pm. It echos badly in there and makes it impossible to sleep early in the evening. I recommend getting a room over the front desk, away from the pool, as we did on our second visit.
- The hotel has a confusing policy of charging a $1.50 "in-room safe warranty" fee at check-in - regardless if you want it or use it. They will remove it from your bill if you ask at check-out, but not at check-in. Maybe its some dumb agreement they have with the insurance company, but the only reason I can think of is to get a little extra from those people who forget to ask, or use the express checkout.
- The TV reception is ok, but not great. One of our rooms had an LCD TV that had distracting lines running through every channel (I checked, it was the signal not a loose connection). The other room had a tube TV - which looked better, but it was smaller and I couldn't find the remote for it. I didn't bother the desk to get a replacement (wasn't staying long), but it seemed like they would have if I did.
- The water pressure appears low. The shower has nice adjustable heads, but regardless of the setting it doesn't put out much water. Good for going green, but bad for taking a shower in a reasonable amount of time.
- The AC unit was loud, there were no adjustable fan speed settings, and it didn't turn off when the temp was reached - it was either manually off or on. Hard to sleep in.
- Breakfast could have been better. There was a wide selection, but the coffee was clearly instant (still powdered in my cup from the machine), the OJ was watered down, and the eggs were tasteless (probably powdered).

Regardless, I'd give it a 3.5 out of 5. True there are some problems you need to put up with, but you won't find many places offering that much value for $65/night (including taxes/discounts) in June. During the ski season I'm sure the prices go up, so the value may be lost. If you want a decent, safe, cheap place to stay with plenty of amenities, this is it. Just don't expect much in the quality department.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    98
    48
    15
    10
See reviews for
119
104
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed here for two nights, and it was a totally unremarkable stay. The staff didn't go out of their way to answer our questions, but they weren't rude. Just there. Same with the rooms. They're on the small side and just okay. The bathroom was also on the small side, and the water pressure in the shower was really low. The breakfast is the same every day, and it's okay. The pool and hot tub area are nice, and the kids enjoyed it there. It's quite a drive to Main Street and just about everything else, but it's close to the freeway, which worked out well. It is fairly easy to hear people in the hallway and doors slamming.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, Utah
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

This is one of the best priced hotels in the area. They have free cookies at check-in and one of the best complimentay breakfast. It's across the street from the Taggarts Mall. They is a free city bus that will take you to down town and to the ski resorts. Clean, safe and afordable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We were fortunate to spend 4 nights in the luxurious and spacious 2 bedroom family suite. We had 3 adults and 2 teenage boys and a ton of ski equipment and we never had to trip over everything. The kitchen has ample counterspace with a full sized fridge, stove,microwave and dishwasher. The table seats 8 easily. The living room is huge with a flat screen tv mounted above the corner fireplace. The bedrooms are spacious with super comfy beds. The 2 bathrooms were spacious and clean. All granite counters , new flooring and leather furniture. As a bonus the hotel pool and hot tub were large and the breakfast was good. The location is about a 5 minute drive from The Canyons ski resort and 10 minutes to Park City. The outlet mall and other shopping are all within walking distance. The staff were very pleasant, knowledgeable and professional.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

My son and I stayed here during a spring break ski trip. While a few miles down the road from the actual town of Park City, the hotel is conveniently located. There are 3 ski areas within 10 minutes. There is also a new upscale shopping area being built across the road. The hotel was quiet, clean, well kept and the rooms look to have been updated recently. The mattresses were very comfortable and were of the newer pillow top variety. Our room included a flat screen TV. The hot breakfast included biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. There was also cereal, fruit, pastries, and bagels. After checking online, I got the best price by calling the hotel directly. The staff was friendly and very helpful. This hotel is the best value in the Park City area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

First, the hotel is located close to the interstate and is near the outlet mall and several restaurants and stores. The ski resorts are just ten to fifteen minutes away. However, the room was tired and worn out, with peeling wallpaper, thin walls (we could hear our neighbors' conversations), and the hallway outside smelled of skunk on two of the four mornings we were there. Our room was across from an Enterprise car rental office, so often there would be customers just sitting on the floor in the hallway outside of our door waiting to rent a car. There was a ski rack in the room, though, and the bathroom was large and had plenty of towels. But the shower had too little water pressure; and the TV was small and old, and the beds were lumpy and concave. Furthermore, there were no comforts one might find in other hotels, such as an in-room refrigerator. It was not the most comfortable room. The lobby was nice, and the breakfast was filling enough for a good day of skiing, but one thing a tired skier wants at the end of the day is a relaxing rest in the hot tub. Three days we went to the hot tub there were infants and toddlers in the hot tub in diapers (!), and there were small kids splashing around in it like a pool. It was hardly conducive to relaxing one's sore muscles. The staff were helpful and friendly, and there were freshly-baked cookies out on the desk every day. That was a nice touch. Otherwise, there was little good about this hotel. I will stay somewhere else the next time I ski in Park City.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We booked through hotels.com and got a discount rate. We weren't expecting much but the hotel was clean and the workers were very helpful. In the morning they serve a free hot breakfast and bake cookies in the afternoon. There is also a free shuttle to the ski resorts. It is a short drive to the Canyons Ski Resort and Park City Resort. The hotel is close to a lot of shops and restaurants.

  • Liked — Breakfast and cookies!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn & Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn & Pancake House

Address: 6560 N Landmark Dr, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Park City
#13 Business Hotel in Park City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn & Pancake House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn & Pancake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn & Pancake House Hotel Park City
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn And Pancake House
Best Western Landmark Hotel
Best Western Park City
Park City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn & Pancake House Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn & Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.