We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location- so close to the slopes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Lift Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sweetwater Lift Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sweetwater Lift Lodge
1255 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredible location- so close to the slopes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Lift Lodge during the ski season last year and had a great time. We really couldn't ask for a better location. We'd walk to and from the slopes, and it was super convenient to head back to our unit for lunch, too. Saved a fortune that way! I'm here already looking at making reservations for this next ski season. Loved the heated pool and large jacuzzi after a day of skiing. Free internet, too!
The place has been recently renovated, and the staff was so responsive to anything we might need. We found the beds super comfortable, too. This place has a more homey and friendly feel than when we've stayed at big hotels prior. The lobby is a really nice place to hang out with the big fireplace and leather furniture. Plus, it's a great deal for the money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Sweetwater Lift Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
What a great review! We love hearing feedback from satisfied vacationers. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Lift Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

In summary, I wouldn't stay here again. It was okay, clean, updated (for ski property) and in a pretty location, but we were not impressed with the hotel itself. Lots of room for improvement.

POSITIVES: We stayed here for one week. There was plenty of space for 10 people. We stayed in unit 49 which had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a Murphy bed. Two of the bedrooms had queen beds, the third room had 2 sets of bunk beds, and the Murphy bed was a queen. One of the bedrooms was a loft upstairs with the 2nd bathroom. The beds were comfy. There was lots of natural light and the location on the mountainside was very pretty. The space was very clean and the furnishings updated. The kitchen wasn't laid out very well but was stocked with everything I needed to cook for the family.

NEGATIVES: We received phone calls THREE times on separate nights at 10:40pm about the noise and that we needed to "settle down". I can understand if it was after midnight, but to have quiet hours start at 10:30 at night in a vacation home is ridiculous. We had four generations of my family there, playing board games, visiting together, and drinking root beer. Not exactly rambunctious party goers. It seems they only wanted senior citizens who go to bed at 9pm staying there.

Parking is already very sparse and inconvenient, but there was construction on one side of the hotel which we were not made aware of until the night before it started, making finding a parking space even more hard to come by because the parking space was cut in half.

We stayed in the summer, so we knew it would be hot and we knew there would be little to no a/c . We didn't expect that most of the windows would have no screens and the ones that did would have to be propped up with whatever we could find to keep them open (we used butter knives). When we did open the windows at night we were inviting moths, bugs, and even a wasp into our room because half the screens were missing.

The carpet was not pulled tight, resulting in bumps throughout that tripped several of us. The spiral staircase to the loft was very narrow, steep, and honestly, a little dangerous. Perhaps the noise complaints were from my family tripping at the bottom of the stairs and on the poorly installed carpet.

Maybe it would be fine in winter when you're skiing all day and just coming home at night to sleep, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Sweetwater Lift Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the Lift Lodge. We're sorry your stay wasn't at the level you expected. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address your specific concerns. Please email us at swll@tradingplaces.com with your name, dates of stay, and unit number so we can resolve anyissues in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location at the base of Park City Mountain Resort only a 3 minute walk to the ski lifts. Great views of the city. The one bedroom is so large with two huge beds in the master suite, one queen size Murphy bed in the family room and one sleeper sofa in the same room also. Easily can sleep 5 people with max capacity at eight

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Sweetwater Lift Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We appreciate your review and thank you for staying with us at the Lift Lodge. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although the hotel itself is showing a little wear, I still gave it 5 stars because of all of the other "pluses" that it has. The rooms are clean, spacious, and all that you need for skiing or exploring the area. If you are looking for Gold Crown accomodations, then you will be disappointed. However, what it lacks in luxury it makes up in overall experience. The staff is incredibly friendly and will help you with whatever your needs are. We arrive hours early and our room wasn't ready. They opened up a private room for us so we could sit and eat our lunch in private.
We were there for a ski vacation which, out of the many places I have been in the country, is unbeatable. Once you arrive at the hotel, you do not need a car to get anywhere. You can walk (about an eight mile) to the lifts at Park City Ski Resort (my personal favorite), or, at the same place, get a FREE bus either to Deer Valley, The Canyons, or the beautiful, historic town of Park City. If you ski at Park City, you can ski directly down into the town, then either take the Town Lift back up and ski home or take the free shuttle back to the hotel.
The area has lots to offer besides skiing and definitely a great place to vacation. I highly recommend Park City and the Sweetwater Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Sweetwater Lift Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort. Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Sweetwater soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Every year, for the last 10 years, my boyfriend, Brook Budd, has stayed in Unit 1 of Sweetwater for a week of skiing. The staff consistently provides exemplary service. The frequent updates to the unit and property and the friendly and professional service make Sweetwater THE place to stay in Park City. Specifically, Tille Tillekeratne, Assistant Resort Manager, is always happy to help guests and runs the place like a well-oiled machine. Tille and his staff know the area well, gladly answer any questions, and ensure the resort is the perfect home away from home for a skiing vacation. Arvin Frago, Front Desk Supervisor, and Anna of the front desk, are consummate professionals too. Sweetwater has convenient parking, both indoor and outdoor, comfortable suites, and close proximity to fantastic skiing. Park City skiing is within walking distance of the resort. Brook and his friends return annually for great skiing at this convenient resort with a welcoming staff. When you want exceptional skiing, Park City is the town and Sweetwater is the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Sweetwater Lift Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for this excellent review! We are happy to welcome you back to Sweetwater every year - we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location of he Lift Lodge is perfect..across the street from Park City Mtn Resort and/or the bus stop that takes you to the other resorts or around town at no charge. The facility is older but the new renovations are very good and the management team, maintenance, housekeeping are all first rate. Nile, the general resort manager and his lodge manager, Tilly are friendly, eficient and true professionals. The SW property runs like a well oiled machine.

Room Tip: We stay in blg 1..3 floors with some underground parking. Blg. 5 is the closest to the PCMR..down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Sweetwater Lift Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of the Lift Lodge! We appreciate your positive comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great location, as it is within walking distance to Park City Mountain Resort, as well as great shopping and dining on Main Street. While it is an older resort, it is well maintained and seems to have been remodeled recently. What really made our stay was the management and employees who took great care of us while we were their guests. We would definitely consider staying there again for some R&R or outdoor adventure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Sweetwater Lift Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you, we appreciate your positive review of the Lift Lodge! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweetwater Lift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Lift Lodge

Address: 1255 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 Specialty lodging in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Sweetwater Lift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Lift Hotel Park City
Sweetwater Lift Lodge Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Lift Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.