We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newpark Resort & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Newpark Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Newpark Resort & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1476 Newpark Blvd, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 59 hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Value and Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Overall, we cancelled a hotel in park city itself in lieu of the great rate we received at this hotel. It is farther out near I-80, and we were unsure if this was good or bad in the big picture. Turns out this really was just fine - and overall our decision to stay here was a good one. Overall we rated it a five. A couple things to consider

1. If you stay here, you are really at the end of a shopping complex - which is good in terms of available resources, etc. Downside is that you are not in the city of Park City itself - and thus some people might prefer that location. I would estimate you receive at least a 50% reduction in price, however, for staying here in comparison - for a brand.new resort with upscale ammenities. you choose pending you desire.
2. while there is a shuttle that goes to the major ski resorts, we always rent a car out here - and found it MUCH easier just to drive to park city, deer valley, and/or others - and during the week (President's week, mind you) we had no trouble finding close parking. I would thus definitely recommend a car while here
3. we were 'upgraded' from the hotel into a townhome condo. Turns out these condos are quite impressive. they have the best view in comparison to the hotel. very large. fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, and a garage. The hottub outdoor on your porch - was super, and the kids, etc. loved as well.
4. best part of staying here were the other people - all very nice. kid friendly. and we met a continual group of talkative interesting individuals in the pool/hot tub daily.

Overall, I would return. I understand the other comment on being in a 'shopping center' , but that wouldn't deter me at all from returning. This place had everything

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    74
    24
    14
    4
See reviews for
105
121
10
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

The location is OK. It is in a shopping center about 15 minutes drive from Park City/Deer Valley and maybe 5 minutes from Canyons.

We stayed in a large suite with great room and separate additional bedroom. The additional bedroom had no window. The lighting is really bad. There was no humidifier, so we had to go to Rite Aid and buy one. There were a lot of other quirks about the rooms. But it was spacious and the finishes were reasonably attractive, and the bathroom was quite nice with a big shower and soaking tub.

The hotel touts its hot tubs in every room. Well, we had one on our second floor balcony overlooking the scenic parking lot of Bed, Bath & Beyond and into the windows of a bank. We were unable to access the balcony for a couple of days when the door handle/lock broke and had to ask twice for it to be fixed.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, contrary to what one poster asserted.

The pool area was OK, like a Holiday Inn.

The desk staff is generally clueless. Room staff OK, but common areas not cleaned up after a meeting for 1-2 days was kind of gross.

This is an adequate hotel. I'm not outraged but would not go back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Our hotel room was amazing! It is by far in the top 3 nicest hotels that we have ever stayed in. The other 2 for comparison standards are the Le Meridian in Bora Bora & the Beverly Hills Hilton Hotel in CA (one of the remodeled rooms). It has a W/D. The bathroom is all beautifully tiled with a zero entry shower, huge tub, 2 sinks, & heated floors. The bathroom had very soft robes & towels. The bedroom has a huge comfy king bed (better than ours at our own home) with tons of pillows & a great little closet with a safe in it. The living room has a leather sofa that pulls out into a bed, lots of chairs, a little table, a coffee table full of games, a fire place, & a flat screen TV. The kitchen is also a very nice asset. It has stainless steel appliances (full size fridge/freezer, dishwasher, & microwave). It also has a bunch of extras like a toaster, Keirug coffe pot, dishes, & cooking essentials. Our patio is semi-private with a hot tub on it. The hot tub fits 2 people comfortably. The patio overlooks a little shopping area with a distant view of the surrounding mountains. The room was great for cooking breakfast in to save money. The maid actually does the dishes for you. That is service! The hotel room is so incredibly affordable for the quality. It is by far a 5 star resort & it is only $169 a night. Just for comparison basis, the Hampton Inn down the road was like $230 a night. The hotel is not slope slide, but it is only a 10-15 minute drive to Deer Valley, Park City, Olympic Park, & The Canyons. It is about an hour drive to Powder Mtn...etc. The hotel has a great restaurant in it called Maxwells. I recommend their Brown Butter Sage Pine Nut pasta sauce & their Italian grilled cheese sandwich. The hotel also has a great ski rental shop inside of it. If you book your boots & skis ahead of time online, you can save 30% off of the rental price. The guys that work in the shop are so nice. It was my first time skiing & they gave me a whole tutorial on putting on my boots, skis, & getting out of it all. The hotel is really close to banks, grocery stores, Walmart, restaurants, an outlet mall, & Main St. The lobby staff can seem standoffish, but if you start to ask them questions about places they recommend...they really warm up and are super friendly. The only downsides to the hotel were that the bed was a little too high off of the ground, but we got adjusted to that. The thermostat on the A/C system seemed to have a mind of its own, but we just figured out that if we wanted to warm up, we would turn on the fireplace & if we wanted to cool down, we would open up the doors. The hotel was not very receptive to us checking in early, but it gave us an opportunity to drive around the town before check in. The toilet paper wasn't Cottonelle, but what hotel offers that? The wireless internet connective password didn’t work for us, but we had our own wireless connection, so we never investigated getting that corrected. Those would be our only gripes & we are very picky. The room was very clean, comfy, & had a great a contemporary feel to it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

My wife and I spent five days at the Newpark Resort and had a wonderful experience. We were in a suite, number 411 which was located on the top floor middle, the views were just sic!!!

We had all the tools of home - fridge, stove ect. which was nice, after the third day of skiing we were happy just to be sitting inside looking out.

The lobby is world class and is only out done by the stunning panoramic views of all three Park City Ski Resorts in front of you.

We really enjoyed the location as well. Food, shopping, movies and nightlife were just a short walk from the hotel giving us the freedom to enjoy the ski resorts during the day, but all that Park City has to offer at night. The price seemed very economical compared to ski in / ski out places we looked.

I would definitely stay again and reco this resort hotel to anyone planning on staying in PC

  • Liked — The Views
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

The facility is very nice - nice lobby with fireplaces, great pool and decent workout room. Note that there's no continental breakfast (at least there wasn't when we were there).

I stayed in a double rather than in one of the suites, and the size of the doubles would be one of my only complaints - it is pretty cramped in there. There's no desk, though the coffee table swings up to serve as a desk, which didn't work out that badly in the end. Otherwise the room is very nice too - large bathroom, comfy bed and very plush comfy towels.

It's in a suburban "lifestyle" mall-type setting - there are a number of stores and cafes and a Whole Foods market. Check out Reef's Kitchen Middle Eastern nearby, one of the best (and cheapest) restaurants in Park City.

  • Liked — Clean, high-quality facility.
  • Disliked — Forgot to mention in the review - the walls are thin and sound travels.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

This hotel is brand new and lovely. We stayed in a suite. It was beautiful and fully equiped. It was so nice that one afternoon of our trip we stayed in our room, sat on our leather sofa, turned on the fireplace and just relaxed looking out at the beautiful view of the Utah mountains right outside our balcony!

The hotel is located just a few miles outside of town, across from a wildlife preserve, so it is relatively quite. But it is at the end of a complex that has restaurants (everything from an ice cream shop to a few high end restaurants), boutiques, stores, and even grocery shops. So the hotel is conveniently located with access to everything, without being in the middle of too much hustle and bustle. It was relaxing and made our stay so enjoyable! We hope to be back again soon.

  • Liked — Modern and new
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed in this resort during President's week in February. Our unit was townhouse #17, right around the corner from the hotel that was still being built. There was a lot of construction going on while we were there, welders, dump trucks, back hoes, and construction workers everywhere, but since we were skiing most of the day, it didn't bother us too much.

The unit had nice granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances, a big master bedroom and bathroom with a large walk in shower, but the other bedroom and bath was small, with two twins. There was also a futon in the upstairs hall. Perfect for a family, but not equal sleeping accommodations for two couples. We enjoyed the small private hot tub on our deck after skiing all day. It didn't work the second night, but was repaired immediately the next morning. Also, this unit didn't have any internet access. The front desk was kind enough to let me use their computer to check on flights though.

The location was great, lots of shopping including a Whole Foods, plus it's right off the highway and right down the road from the ski resorts. There was also a free shuttle but after they forgot to pick us up from the mountain (after calling for 2 hours), we drove to the ski resorts ourselves the rest of the time. Olympic Park is right across the street which we really enjoyed.

Overall, I would recommend Newpark Resort, but since it wasn't completed when we were there, I would call to make sure you won't have to deal with any construction if that might bother you.

  • Liked — Proximity to the slopes, comfortable and relaxing accommodations once inside the unit!
  • Disliked — The construction and lack of internet access in the townhouse.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newpark Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Resort & Hotel

Address: 1476 Newpark Blvd, Park City, UT 84098
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Park City
#10 Business Hotel in Park City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newpark Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Newpark Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Park City
Newpark Resort & Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newpark Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.