We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newpark Resort & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Newpark Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Newpark Resort & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1476 Newpark Blvd, Park City, UT 84098   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Park City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We would stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great summer rates, huge room, top floor with balcony and sauna. Added bonus was a Park City summer concert held at a pavilion which our room overlooked Thursday evening. The kitchenette was fully stocked with glassware, plates, etc. Kitchenaide refrig, dishwasher, microwave. HUGE bathroom with walk-in shower and large tub. Very clean, new appearing. Quiet at night. The kingsized bed was VERY comfortable. Overall, a wonderful place with great views of the mountains and close to nearby shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: 4th floor was the top level and provided, I believe, the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    76
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
108
124
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

There's no doubt that the Newpark Resort provides some of the nicer accommodations (in terms of the fit and finish of its facility) for a very good (off-season) price in Park City. We have stayed at the Lodges in Deer Valley as well as at the Best Western Landmark - both roughly the same price range - and the Newpark feels a cut above.

The challenge is that to hit the great price, you wind up in a room that is not too dissimilar from a really nicely appointed submarine berth: small, essentially windowless, and somewhat oddly laid out. Pluses are a full-sized (nice quality) sleep sofa, a deep soaking tub, a fireplace, and overall nice quality finishes, but the window looks out onto a shaft. So this is not a room you'd want to hang out in -- just sleep. (Ironically, there was daylight coming into our room in the morning from a couple of small glass block "windows" in the bathroom - it was enough to wake us up early!)

In theory this room can sleep 4 people, but it would be very awkward. Other downsides included very poor water pressure (it would take ages to actually fill that nice soaking tub), bad pillows, and an inconveniently placed closet in the bathroom. There is a small bar fridge and sink plus plenty of dishes but no microwave. Another pet peeve: cleaning staff occupying the only elevator with carts of dirty laundry.

The booking website for the hotel does not offer any other options, although clearly there are other types of rooms which people have reviewed. I have no idea if they are affordable or how you book them.

Still, the location is very convenient since there are a number of nice restaurants within walking distance, so if you don't mind being sort of an afterthought in what is essentially a condo property (not a hotel) and you want to be able to walk to shopping and restaurants without the price of Main Street, then this could be a good choice for you.

Room Tip: Do not choose a queen room if you are claustraphobic as it is very small and essentially windowless
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chriseggs, General Manager at Newpark Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
First, thank you for your review. Feedback from our guests is essential to ensuring we continue to provide the products and services that exceed expectations. Second, I am sorry that you found some features of the Deluxe Room less than desirable. I have sent a private message to you in hopes that we can discuss further.

To address your cocerns, the Deluxe Room is our smallest room type and can sleep up to four people - recommended only two adults and two children. As you indicated there our other accommodations, including hotel Suite and private Townhomes that provide more spacious layouts and additional amenities. All rooms types, when not sold out, can be booked online, through our reservations department.

Again, thank you for your review.

- Chris Eggleton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great location, hot tub on the deck, kitchen, comfortable beds!!!!!! Are you kidding me?!!!!!! I can not wait to come back!!! AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This place was amazing!We actually stumbled upon it. From the amazing service and the breathtaking room, breautiful view, and all the shopping and restaurants below the hotel, which our daughter loved! Would highly recommend this wonderful place, and we will definantly be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at this property in March of 2011 and there apparently was some problem throughout the property with the heating system (heater would not switch off) which made all units in the building very warm. This was an issue with the central system due to some sort of technical difficulty which took several days to correct. The front desk was very apolgetic about the situation but couldn't do anything over the weekend to resolve the matter and referred us to the Hotel Manager, Jana Sturo. I did contact her after checking out and Jana was also very apologetic and super professional. She indicated this was not the kind of guest experience the NewPark wanted people to experience and without asking comp'ed our next stay at the property and even gave us an upgrade to a luxury suite. She probably would have found another way to take care of the situation but I didn't contact her until almost a month after we had checked out.

We recently stayed at he property again and it was a wonderful experience. Great property, excellent value, good location, and fun restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommend this property! We've stayed at this property four times in the past 9 months.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We decided to stay at Newpark based some wonderful things we heard about the hotel. Even during a week where the hotel was full and super busy with the softball tournament, we were blown away by how perfect our trip was! Newpark is absolutely gorgeous! From the moment we set foot in the lobby we were shocked with the beauty surrounding us and quickly and warmly greeted by Jennifer at the desk. She was so friendly and helpful with recommendations for activities on our stay. She even let us in on what seemed like a 'locals secret' for the perfect hike! Jana was very kind and always made it a point to ask how we were enjoying ourselves; even in the middle of the parking lot she stopped to ask us how our dinner was downtown. Even with that many people staying there, Jennifer, Jana and everyone else made us feel like we were their only guests. I still don't know how they did it!

We stayed in the One Bedroom Suite and it was everything we could've asked for and more. The bed was incredibly comfortable! The housekeeping staff was so detailed and efficient. We would leave the room for an hour and when we returned, everything was perfect! We never even saw or heard anyone enter.

Watching the free concert from our balcony was the cherry on top for us. Overall, our trip to Park City has turned into the most memorable one thanks to everyone at Newpark! We'll be back!

Room Tip: The One Bedroom Suite is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend for a girls overnight getaway. I'm glad we only stayed one night with the room we had!

The Bad:
When I went to book online, only 1 room option showed up as available. (I should have called the hotel and made sure it was the only option). It was the one bedroom- 1 queen bed, 1 sofa bed room. Like previous reviewers have said, it was extremely small and dark. Even though it says it accomodates 3-4 people, I would not recommend it for more than 1-2 (and only if you don't mind feeling boxed in). It would have helped to have more windows (there was only one small one that looked directly into a square of other windows.....no sunlight or view at all. The bathroom was very nice and open, but you don't spend most of your time in the bathroom. The 3 of us also tend to have allergies to feather pillows. When we called down to ask for polyester pillows....apparently they only have feather. Every hotel I've been to before always had both options....next time I'd bring my own. The pool was very small, but I did like that you could swim indoors or outdoors without leaving the pool The hot tub was decent sized and pleasant...but they turned the lights out at 10:00. I wished it would have stayed open later!

The Good:
The front desk staff was very nice. The hotel was near lots of shopping and cheaper food options. The Good Thymes restaurant was great for breakfast. We enjoyed eating on the patio and the mountain views. Even though the room was small, it seemed very clean.

Overall :
It was fine for a one night stay, especially for the price. If we were going to stay longer, I would have definitely tried to swich to a larger room. I know they have rooms with balconys and private hot tubs. I wish we could have stayed in one of those!

I do not think I would stay here again. I have stayed in much nicer places in Park City and I prefer to have a little more space and actually have windows to appreciate the gorgeous mountain views. The only benefit was the price...but I don't think it was worth it. (although I cannot speak for those who had the larger rooms).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newpark Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Resort & Hotel

Address: 1476 Newpark Blvd, Park City, UT 84098
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Park City
#5 Family Hotel in Park City
#7 Business Hotel in Park City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newpark Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Newpark Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Park City
Newpark Resort & Hotel Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newpark Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.