We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is over farm land so if you dont get out of the city you might like the scenery. We live in the country so wrural nes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Union Pacific Rail Trail

Union Pacific Rail Trail
Park City, UT 84060
435 649-6839
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 34 Attractions in Park City
Type: Trails
Activities: Biking
Attraction Details
Delta, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It is over farm land so if you dont get out of the city you might like the scenery. We live in the country so wrural nes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Well maintained trail. Lots of ponds and trail markers with information. Very flat and easy to bike ride.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really nice, beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Beautiful well maintained trail. Enjoyed a long easy hike. Nice scenery, not very crowded. Easy off road parking. Wonderful views.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The "Rail Trail" runs through the heart of Park City. From Historic Main Street all the way to Coalville. Once the rail bed for the UP Train that would haul the silver from the mines in Park City. It is a great trail for, walking, hiking, bike riding, and skiing in the winter.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go explore (with convenience and safety)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've run, hiked and biked along this trail over the last year (on various visits) and I love that this trail is well-maintained without losing too much of the natural elements around it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Biked the Trails around Park City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I'm not sure if we technically were on the Union Pacific Rail Trail, but there are so many wonderful bike trails around Park City, you can choose your route. We headed out of Park City toward Kimball Junction, following a paved trail toward a historic barn, with beautiful mountain scenery all around. This route went under the highway and then by a stream and into aspens - beautiful. We didn't turn around when the trail stopped but followed a residential road and made a circuit route, stopping midway at the rec center at Kimball Junction to use the bathrooms. We'd packed our lunches, ate and headed back to the bike shoppe (Cole sports, rented the bikes for around $20 each - look for a discount coupon in the tourist coupon book). The total route we took was about 17 miles, would've been about 7 if we hadn't continued on to the junction. Beautiful country with wonderful bike trails, the ride was a highlight of our trip for both the kids and adults.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Pacific Rail Trail also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Union Pacific Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Pacific Rail Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.