We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go explore (with convenience and safety)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Pacific Rail Trail

Union Pacific Rail Trail
Park City, UT 84060
435 649-6839
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 33 attractions in Park City
Type: Trails
Activities: Biking
Attraction Details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go explore (with convenience and safety)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've run, hiked and biked along this trail over the last year (on various visits) and I love that this trail is well-maintained without losing too much of the natural elements around it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Biked the Trails around Park City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I'm not sure if we technically were on the Union Pacific Rail Trail, but there are so many wonderful bike trails around Park City, you can choose your route. We headed out of Park City toward Kimball Junction, following a paved trail toward a historic barn, with beautiful mountain scenery all around. This route went under the highway and then by a stream and into aspens - beautiful. We didn't turn around when the trail stopped but followed a residential road and made a circuit route, stopping midway at the rec center at Kimball Junction to use the bathrooms. We'd packed our lunches, ate and headed back to the bike shoppe (Cole sports, rented the bikes for around $20 each - look for a discount coupon in the tourist coupon book). The total route we took was about 17 miles, would've been about 7 if we hadn't continued on to the junction. Beautiful country with wonderful bike trails, the ride was a highlight of our trip for both the kids and adults.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Got to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great views, wildlife aplenty. If you have the time and have a mt. bike or love to hike you got to hit the Trail.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great when it is cool outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a great trail for an easy jaunt on a bike or walk with the dog. For one thing, it's huge. There are tons of sections you can do, depending on the length you want to travel. After a big breakfast in town, we like to take our dog to the leg that leaves Park City proper. On cloudy days, we go out East of 40 to walk along that section. Only caveat: it can be really unpleasant on days that are really sunny and hot. There is no shade and little water on the sections across I40. It's also unpleasant when it is really windy. But if the weather is right, and you'd prefer a walk to a hike, this is a great place to spend the afternoon.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Rented bikes for 1/2 day for $28 per person @ the depot.
Nice bikes. Service- outstanding. Trail paved first 3miles then
DG surface. Great ride but at about mile 6 you go between the freeways which is loud and distracting. Scenery is beautiful.
Many wildflowers even in the dry year. Trail is quite long-26 miles, I think. We turned around at miles 9 for total 18 mile ride due to thunderstorm building overhead. There are lovely trails all over Park City area and biking is great!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Pacific Rail Trail also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Union Pacific Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Pacific Rail Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Union Pacific Rail Trail to your Saves list