We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Pacific Rail Trail

Union Pacific Rail Trail
Park City, UT 84060
435 649-6839
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 76 Activities in Park City
Type: Trails, Sports
Activities: Biking
Attraction details
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“beautiful trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

You can go for miles and miles: by skates, bike or running... Former railroad trail going for many miles through bushland sharing nice views onto teh mountains

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Biking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Covering more than 30 miles the rail trail which starts in the Prospector Square area of Park City is great fun. The first few miles are paved than the rest is compacted gravel. Beware as you leave Park City you are headed downhill for the next 20 miles! Coming back is a lot harder. You can end at Echo reservoir, have a picnic and return. Stay in the middle of the trail near Echo as there are many goat heads waiting to flatten your tires.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun EZ Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Good access with parking at all trail entrances. Ride it all or part. Best with a guide provided lunch. We used Exclusive Excursions and it was A OK, 5Star

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Biking on the trails around Park City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We spent a day biking around the trails in Park City. The trails we rode on were within a few miles of Park City. They were all paved and nice. There were walkers, skaters, skateboarders, and bikers using the trails. People were all courteous and many responded to a greeting.

We asked our timeshare for bicycle rental recommendations and they gave us Cole Sports. We had never rented from them before and the rates seemed a bit high. We have rented and purchased skis from Utah Ski & Golf before, so we called and got a message stating the store in Park City is only open on weekends. I called the Salt Lake store and they said they would have Nick from the Park City store call us and arrange a rental. Nick was awesome and arranged to meet us at the Park City store for the pick up and adjustment of the bikes. The bikes were brand new and in great shape. The rental for 24 hrs (including the bike helmet) was the same price as the other guys' 4 hour rental!!! At the end of the day we called Nick and arranged the return. The whole bike rental was so easy and with the great Utah Ski & Golf personal service and attention. It seems that is getting harder to find Park City stores and services that give you the personal attention and reasonable prices.

We biked all around Park City and rode the rail trails that go along the creeks. The creeks were running high and swift with all the snow melt.

We wanted to have a picnic at the park, so we asked at a bank where we could buy some sandwiches. The teller said there was a Subway nearby and told us where to find it. As we were getting on our bikes, a nice local guy came out to tell us, "You don't want to go to Subway; Ledgers, a local sandwich shop even closer has real good sandwiches." After we thanked him, he went back into the bank... We went to Ledgers and got some amazing sandwiches (we recommend the sourdough bread!). Thanks nice local guy for taking a minute out of your day to point some visitors in the right direction.

It was a great day and lots of fun.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Pacific Rail Trail also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Union Pacific Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Pacific Rail Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.