We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimball Art Center

Kimball Art Center
638 Park Ave, Park City, UT 84060
435 649 8882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 34 Attractions in Park City
Type: Educational Sites, Art Galleries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Kimball Art Center is the heart of Park City's historic and vibrant arts community. We are a non-profit center for the arts, committed to engaging individuals of all ages in diverse and inspiring experiences through education, exhibitions and events.
Soda Springs, Idaho, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I love going to the Kimball's shows. They have the most interesting and eye-catching stuff in there! A few years ago (don't know if the program is still running) they had kids' art projects and activities. Lots of fun!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Kimball Arts Festival was awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We attended the Kimball Arts Festival, held annually, on Main Street in Park City, Utah. There were 200 artists, most with very affordable pieces. The cost is $10 per person and well worth it. There are many nice/casual restaurants and shops to walk in as well. If you are in Salt Lake or Park City the first week in August, plan to attend the Kimball Arts Festival.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Simple”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Little too simple compared to normal art centers. Artists only so-so and mediocre. Small facility. Save your donation.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiesue, Public Relations Manager at Kimball Art Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I'm sorry you felt the art to be "simple" at our community art center. We program 15-18 exhibits in our 3 galleries throughout the year. In order the satisfy the desires of the thousands of visitors from all over the country, we rotate a wide variety of art from internationally known artists such as Ansel Adams, Chihuly, and Nathan Sawaya as well as local and regional artists depending on the time of year. We are a non profit community art center and we rely on local funding to bring exhibits to the galleries. We also offer art classes and free art talks. We are always looking for feedback and recommendations so if there is an affordable exhibit that you would like to see at our center, please let us know at membership@kimballartcenter.org.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World Class Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just love this venue. It's always changing and has the most diverse art exhibits. Great little coffee shop right in the building and they even offer art classes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Have dessert after lunch instead...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not much to see, a paper cutting exhibit. Was hoping to see a collection of best works by local artists. Those are best viewed in the gallieries around town. Glad the Kimball was free...and did not waste more than five minutes of our time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiesue, Public Relations Manager at Kimball Art Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear RW,

I am sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with the Ink Paper Scissors Exhibit featured at the Kimball this past Spring. Printmaking is one of the most complicated art forms, and consequently the least understood. MOMA has an extensive collections of prints and has an interactive piece on their webpage that provides more insight into this complex process. http://www.moma.org/explore/multimedia/interactives/57/interactives-online-projects

The exhibit featured prints published by American Print Publisher, Shark's Inc. Prints from Shark's Inc. are included in numerous private and public collections including the Museum of Modern Art, NY; The Whitney Museum of American Art, NY; The Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY; Yale University Art Gallery, New Haven, CT; The New York Public Library, NY: The Library of Congress, Washington, DC; The Art Institute of Chicago, IL; The Hirshhorn Museum, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC: The Philadelphia Museum of Art, PA and many others.

Finally, one of the paper sculpture artists featured in the exhibit, Lenka Konopasek, is a talented local artist who has had 23 solo exhibitions and over 70 group exhibitions throughout the Southwest. She has also won several awards and has been represented by a variety of Park City galleries during her career. The other paper sculpture artist featured was Danielle Wyckoff, who has held over 40 solo exhibitions all over the country.

I hope that you will come visit us again as our exhibits change every 8-10 weeks. In Feb/March 2014 we will feature the Art of the Timepiece, a private collection of antique Patek Philipe watches and time pieces from a Los Angeles collector and engineer. Over the summer we will feature photographs from Elliott Erwitt , an internationally recognized and award-winning photographer from France, and finally in November, we will feature Christo and Jean Claude: The Tom Golden Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimball Art Center also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Kimball Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimball Art Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.