We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the point?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kimball Art Center

Kimball Art Center
638 Park Ave, Park City, UT 84060
435 649 8882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 33 attractions in Park City
Type: Educational Sites, Art Galleries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Kimball Art Center is the heart of Park City's historic and vibrant arts community. We are a non-profit center for the arts, committed to engaging individuals of all ages in diverse and inspiring experiences through education, exhibitions and events.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What's the point?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hardly worth going to see the 'collections'. Be ready to be treated like going through airport security. (Really, at an 'art museum'?) Was made to leave my personal belongings including my wallet with the front desk. Totally ridiculous policy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiesue, Public Relations Manager at Kimball Art Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Frequent Traveler,

I apologize for having to leave your personal belongings with our front desk staff. As you may know, when we rent an exhibit to display in our Gallery, we must abide by the rental contract which is drawn up by the exhibition manager, not by the Kimball Art Center. Depending on the nature of the art and its value, guests are often not allowed to bring food or drink or sometimes back packs into the museum. In the case of Chihuly, because the sculptures are so delicate, we were required to eliminate as much bulk from visitors as possible to prevent accidents. Please understand that we are legally bound to the contract elements and our goal is to display and protect the art while giving our visitors the best possible experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome lego display!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We took our two young children to the Kimball for the lego display and it was amazing!! The artist did a phenomenal job! It blew us away! I think my husband and I were more floored by the level of talent than our children!! If you are in Park City while this display is in town you've gotta check it out! The staff at the museum were kind and gracious as well!! They even suggested yummy lunch ideas for us to try! Definitely plan to visit the Kimball when you go to Park City!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Usually family friendly, and free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just went to the Lego exhibit, and we have been during thier art weeks. The kids loved the crafts offered during art week (might be called something else). It is free, which makes it a standard stop every time we head up to Park City. Some exhibits are better than others but that can be expected.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very, very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Kimball is in an excellent location and what it offers - for free - is an excellent value. That said, the quality of their offerings varies widely and many of their exhibits, while interesting, are hardly spectacular. Individual artists are given space and promotion, but some are less worthy. The current stuff is a perfect example. The Lego art display is quite interesting and a delight for children, but to be honest it doesn't pass the interesting stage. The artist is good but not great. The other two exhibits are much lower on the scale. The 'line art' was so imaginary it is a wonder it passes at art at all. Different strokes for different folks, but everyone I saw in the basement had a What? expression. Then there was the playing card size house paintings in the canteen. Hmmmmmmm.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiesue, Public Relations Manager at Kimball Art Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Very Very Average,

The very same Lego sculptures featured in the The Art of the Brick exhibit at the Kimball Art Center in early 2013 for FREE went on to be displayed in the Discovery Museum in Times Square New York for an admission fee of $20 per person. We feel very fortunate to have received funding from several sponsors and foundations to bring this nationally recognized exhibit to our state. Moreover, our goal as a community art center is to provide free art education to our schools and inspire students to express themselves through the visual arts. Art of the Brick allowed us to incorporate all kinds of cross curriculum lessons into our class tours including geometry, math, and writing narratives. Students understood that Art can be made from anything and in many ways, its value and beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

As for our emerging artists, we strive to feature a range of talent in our rotating exhibits and they don't always appeal to everyone. Please stop by again, we have a great line up for 2014 that can be viewed on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lego exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a neat little spot. We've been to PC many times but have never visited the Kimball Art Center. The Lego exhibit caught our eye, and we all (young and old) were very impressed. I will check it out again on our next trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimball Art Center also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Kimball Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimball Art Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kimball Art Center to your Saves list