We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lego display!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimball Art Center

Kimball Art Center
638 Park Ave, Park City, UT 84060
435 649 8882
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #16 of 31 attractions in Park City
Type: Educational Sites, Art Galleries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Kimball Art Center is the heart of Park City's historic and vibrant arts community. We are a non-profit center for the arts, committed to engaging individuals of all ages in diverse and inspiring experiences through education, exhibitions and events.
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome lego display!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We took our two young children to the Kimball for the lego display and it was amazing!! The artist did a phenomenal job! It blew us away! I think my husband and I were more floored by the level of talent than our children!! If you are in Park City while this display is in town you've gotta check it out! The staff at the museum were kind and gracious as well!! They even suggested yummy lunch ideas for us to try! Definitely plan to visit the Kimball when you go to Park City!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springville, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Usually family friendly, and free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just went to the Lego exhibit, and we have been during thier art weeks. The kids loved the crafts offered during art week (might be called something else). It is free, which makes it a standard stop every time we head up to Park City. Some exhibits are better than others but that can be expected.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very, very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Kimball is in an excellent location and what it offers - for free - is an excellent value. That said, the quality of their offerings varies widely and many of their exhibits, while interesting, are hardly spectacular. Individual artists are given space and promotion, but some are less worthy. The current stuff is a perfect example. The Lego art display is quite interesting and a delight for children, but to be honest it doesn't pass the interesting stage. The artist is good but not great. The other two exhibits are much lower on the scale. The 'line art' was so imaginary it is a wonder it passes at art at all. Different strokes for different folks, but everyone I saw in the basement had a What? expression. Then there was the playing card size house paintings in the canteen. Hmmmmmmm.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiesue, Public Relations Manager at Kimball Art Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Very Very Average,

The very same Lego sculptures featured in the The Art of the Brick exhibit at the Kimball Art Center in early 2013 for FREE went on to be displayed in the Discovery Museum in Times Square New York for an admission fee of $20 per person. We feel very fortunate to have received funding from several sponsors and foundations to bring this nationally recognized exhibit to our state. Moreover, our goal as a community art center is to provide free art education to our schools and inspire students to express themselves through the visual arts. Art of the Brick allowed us to incorporate all kinds of cross curriculum lessons into our class tours including geometry, math, and writing narratives. Students understood that Art can be made from anything and in many ways, its value and beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

As for our emerging artists, we strive to feature a range of talent in our rotating exhibits and they don't always appeal to everyone. Please stop by again, we have a great line up for 2014 that can be viewed on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lego exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a neat little spot. We've been to PC many times but have never visited the Kimball Art Center. The Lego exhibit caught our eye, and we all (young and old) were very impressed. I will check it out again on our next trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I love the Kimball”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I live in Park City and I feel like the Kimball enhances our city tremendously. The recent Chihuly (sp?) exhibit was wonderful, the detail he can get out of glass is amazing. My kids and I are excited about the Lego exhibit coming up soon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimball Art Center also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Kimball Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimball Art Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.