We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent gourmet food with reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Sage

Purple Sage
434 Main St, Park City, UT 84060
(435) 655-9505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 196 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
northern Michigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent gourmet food with reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We visited on a Monday evening in January. We made reservations but probably could have gone without as they were not too busy on a Monday night. The decor is a little odd- cowboy murals covered the walls. Although I realize they promote themselves as a cowboy bistro, this was definitely not cowboy food. I am not sure anyone would associate cowboys with the type of food offered at Purple Sage.
The server was knowledgeable and helpful. He was very accommodating when my husband requested a vegetable change with his meal. My husband ordered their signature meatloaf. It was very good and a generous portion. I ordered the sea scallops served over grits. The scallops were perfectly seasoned and cooked. Grits seemed like an odd accompaniment but actually enhanced the scallops and veggies.
The price was reasonable. Each entree was about $25.00.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    79
    24
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truly Lovely Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

You could go to a steakhouse, but then you'd probably have steak and a couple of sides. Or you could go to Purple Sage and have duck and green chili mac and cheese or fondue or any number of other interesting, creative dishes. Service was everything you could hope for: informative, attentive server was also unobtrusive. Excellent wine list and the server was willing to make recommendations within our price range. Quiet. Creative interior. All good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We made reservations and enjoyed a wonderful meal here. Service was good. Ambiance was quaint. Bartender was exceptional.
We had chicken tamales as appetizer. Very good.
For entree, I had butternut squash ravioli. Yum! We also had bison sliders with a side of homemade pickles and veal meatloaf. Cookie dessert, too.
Everything was awesome!
We will return to this restaurant next winter.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

After being unable to get a table in three other restaurants on a busy Sunday evening during Christmas week in Park City, our party of four (two adults and two 13-year-old girls) ended up dropping into Purple Sage, where we were immediately made to feel welcome by the very friendly host. Although they couldn't seat us for 20 minutes, he took us downstairs to a comfortable lounge area and took our order for cocktails and sodas. I highly recommend the Uncle Val's Garden made with a delicious small batch gin, cucumber, lime juice and soda.

The meals were great; two of us had large appetizers (bison sliders and barbecue chicken tamale pancakes), and two had entrees (veal meatloaf and chicken fried chicken with chorizo gravy). There were plenty more choices on the menu which I would have liked to try. Excellent desserts, as well. We shared a butterscotch pudding and a lavender creme brulee.

Our server was totally friendly and professional, and it was obvious that the entire staff was top-notch. Finally, for a gourmet restaurant in the heart of Park City's Main Street, the prices were quite reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Solid American Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very good service. The food is also very good make sure you get the chips for a starter; they're really good. I got the chicken fried chicken it was pretty good. This is a really solid restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Sage also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Purple Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Sage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.