We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Sage

Purple Sage
434 Main St, Park City, UT 84060
(435) 655-9505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 229 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
172 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quiet and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great food and atmosphere. Nice place to enjoy with a date or friends. Pear and arugula salad was awesome. Lamb chops were also very good. Prices weren't outrageous. Service was very good and friendly. Would definitely come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs to learn better manners.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family had a reunion in Park City last week which was a lovely gathering. As a christmas gift we treated my parents to a dinner out. We choose Purple Sage after reading reviews on trip advisor and receiving direct reviews from friends. I really wanted to like the place but after our experience I can't. The food was good but the way we were treated was not. I had a 7pm reservation for Wed night, we stopped in on Tues. evening to confirm (with the owner)...all seemed ok. When we arrived at 7 on Wed, the owner proceeded to scold us that we were late, that he never makes dinner reservations for 7 always 6:30, and we should go to the table and hurry up with dinner because he has more customers coming at 8:30. At that point I wanted to give any other restaurant in town my business, but the rest of the family was already seated, so we decided to stay. The waiter did his best to serve us in a friendly manner, but at 8:30 when we were done eating dinner, our plates were not cleared, the waiter brought us our bill which included an 18% gratuity. I asked if they serve dessert and his reply "Yes, but we need you to leave for our next customers to be seated" The waiter also said "This is a busy time of year and we cost him a lot of money" ??? Not sure what that means. Too bad for him, he could have gotten more business from us with dessert... and we saw NO ONE at the front waiting for a table. I hope to return to Park City some day to enjoy the skiing, shops and any other restaurant besides Purple Sage.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanmeanmommymachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“4.5, but my best meal in Park City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The blue cheese fondue, duck, and bread pudding were all fantastically prepared and seasoned. We also at at Cafe Terigo, Chez Betty, and Chimayo. I'd rank them in that order with Purple Sage as the leader. Would definitely return to Purple Sage.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown,NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are a family of four that had dinner at the purple sage on new years eve.
I have reserved the restarunt about a month ago but they had a hard time locating it. Owner was a bit cold and resistant but after a short search found my reservation and accepted us in. This was the only snafu , other then that the service was good and freindly, the waiter was extremely nice and the food was excellant.
I don't want to sound snobby but we live in the New York area and are exposed to top of the line eateries and this one can be rated up there.
Recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eyal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
130 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Solid meal in Park City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Ate at this resturant last night. Very busy as this was christmas week. The food was excellent and the ambiance is a combo of western and chic. We started with the blue cheese fondue which was great, add the sausage and you wont be sorry. The mail meals that were outstanding was the fried chicken, sounds boring but my daughter scarfed it down stating "best fried chicken ever". The trout was good, not great. Ice cream cookie for dessert was a great end. Pricey but that is what you expect in Park City.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationisfun_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Sage also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Purple Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing