We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food fine, but beware of downstairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chimayo

Chimayo
368 Main St, Park City, UT 84060-5102
+1 435-649-6222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chimayo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 208 Restaurants in Park City
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 4th Street
Transit: Free Bus System throughout Park City and a Free Trolley on Main Street.
Description: Step through the door, and you’ll think you stepped across the border. Festive lighting, wrought iron detail, Southwestern throw pillows in each booth and an authentic Mexican tile floor create this fabulous illusion. Start with a signature Chimayo Margarita, a local’s favorite. Don’t miss the dipping sauce that’s served with the fresh baked bread. Favorites include the Crown Roast of Barbecue Spareribs with a chipotle and caramelized pineapple glaze served with buttermilk whipped potatoes and Dos Equis beer-battered onion rings. The Mexican Chocolate Fondue for four served with a tureen of melted espresso-cinnamon chocolate with dipping favorites of cinnamon sugar churros, peanut butter cookies, Mexican wedding cookies, banana, pineapple, and seasonal berries is sure to finish this delectable experience with a warm cozy feeling.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“food fine, but beware of downstairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Despite making reservations two weeks in advance we were seated downstairs where the food is the same, but the ambiance is anything but. We've eaten in ChuckieCheezes that were less noisy. Really more the parents fault, than the restaurant's, but we were just not expecting to be in the middle of a kids birthday party at this price point. Had we been walkins, would have been different than a meal we planned that far in advance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    65
    41
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Valentines day dinner ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Chimayo for dinner tonight for Valentines day. We are locals to Park City but thought we would head up to Main Street to check out this restaurant. We had the elk, the duck enchiladas, the chicken, and the buffalo steak, all of which were amazing. The atmosphere was fun and the drinks were fantastic. The service was great as well which made for a very romantic evening. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a unique cuisine and a fun atmosphere!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing for this former park city all-star restaurant.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've been coming to Park City for years and Chimayo has always bee a group favorite in the past with a lively atmosphere and an inventive menu of gourmet southwest cuisine and creative drinks. But the menu has completely stalled, the service deteriorated, and most importantly the quality of the food grossly declined. Even the top shelf margarita, the pomegranate margarita etc etc were all huge disappointments. Eveything is now premixed and way over sweetened. We tried each one of the three soups. Tortilla, crab and corn chowder, and butternut squash. All way too creamy rich and filling with very little taste. Notmone was finished. For entrees all are over $40 and each one very disappointing. Snapper with so much crust you can't taste the fish. Ossobuco totally bland in flavor and needs a new presentation. Duck enchilada appetizer way too oily and lacks former taste. Caesar salad with grilled shrimp another huge disappointment in taste. Scallops ok but not anywhere near the $46 price. Wine list likewise needs major update. We expect high price but we also expect a much higher standard and quality of food. This was a huge disappointment and i would highly recommend not wasting your money here until they regroup and get a new chef and new menu and a new commitment to being a quality restaurant. Very disappointing to see this once all star now at this level today.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious. Consistent. Worth the $”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We visit Park City every year. This is our favorite restaurant. Is it consistently delicious every time. Exceptional service, quality food, creative preparations. The lamb osso bucco was amazing, as was the elk. Apps are also great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Crowded, popular, excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Loved the food, but the crowd was a bit overwhelming for a place with such potential. Food is as good as I remembered from 10 years ago. avoid tables near the hostess stand. Salmon is yummy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimayo also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Chimayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.