We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but wonderful bites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa

Mariposa
7600 Royal St, Park City, UT 84060-5108
(435) 645-6715
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mariposa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 208 Restaurants in Park City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sterling Court
Description: The Mariposa’s intimate setting including crackling fireplaces sets the mood for an extraordinary dinner at Deer Valley’s premier dining establishment. Savor The Mariposa's tasting menu, dining the way chefs love to, exploring and tasting as many of the offerings as you desire. Each menu item is a tasting size portion, allowing you to enjoy multiple selections. Four courses are suggested plus a dessert, but the choice is yours. Should you desire a more traditional à la carte dinner of heartier portions and fewer courses, every item may be scaled up, doubled or tripled in size. Vegetarian specialities and gluten-free options are available. To complement your meal, pair wines from our list which consistently receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Wine pairings are suggested below and may be ordered as three ounce tastings or five ounce wines by the glass. For larger groups, the Cedar Room accommodates private parties of 13 or more and features the Mariposa menu.
Los Angeles, ça
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small but wonderful bites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I dined here and this was the perfect place as we had had appetizers at our hotel earlier. The service was very attentive. The menu is designed to have 3, 4, or 6 courses. They are all 2 to 3 oz portions. We ordered 8 dishes and shared them as a family. My sons favorite was the bison--first time he had ever tried it. It is one of their signature dishes. The bur rata salad with tomatoes was excellent and the crab appetizer delicious. We did not order dessert as we were all too full. I would highly recommend this very quaint restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    9
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
parkland, fl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tiny but tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Procuring a table at this highly sought after #1 Zagat rated Utah restaurant proved quite simple when compared to finding the restaurant itself! Be sure to get directions in advance and know where you are going! We had a late reservation and were lost. The hostess called to see where we were. After relating our woes and basically conceding we were close, but still lost, she talked us through the parking garage and up the steps. She greeted us from the porch with a friendly smile and a warm hello! We checked our coats and were escorted to our table.

The restaurant was quite full for 9 pm. We were escorted to our private table upstairs. Our waitstaff was excellent, tending to our every need. Led by Alex from Romania, they did not miss a beat! The dining style behind Mariposa is a tasting menu. Between our party of 6, I think we may have tried everything on the menu! By far our favorite was the burrata cheese with heirloom tomatoes. It was served over arugula and drizzled with an amazing balsamic vinegar and oil. The Maine lobster chowder was divine - rich and delicious. All of the meat selections sampled by our party were prepared to perfection. I had the short rib and I highly recommend it. Dessert was a treat. The signature dessert is the Snowball. It is a MUST try!

The wine selections were sufficient and unique. We tried a bottle of Altamura, followed by a Pio Cesare Barbaresco. Both delicious. All in all, we enjoyed a lovely evening out at The Mariposa. Kudos to the staff and chef for a job well done! Put this restaurant on your list next time you visit Deer Valley! Reserve a table in advance!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good meal, great presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The food was fabulous and the desserts were outstanding.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife and I dined at Mariposa for our anniversary in February. We were in town for a wedding and were able to find a sitter for our 3-month old that night. I was so pleased with the experience after we'd left, and I'd love to be able to go back at some point. Mariposa combines a robust and creative menu with the charm of a lodge-style setting to create a relaxing and intimate dining experience. I highly recommend the bison fillets, which left me debating whether it was my new favorite red meat (I would have previously gone with the elk at Hudson's on the Bend in Lakeway, TX). Overall, we really enjoyed the food and ambiance. Check them out!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fine dining restaurant a little out of the way from Park City.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are in staying at Silverlake, the decision is easy; you have to have a meal at Mariposa. Otherwise it is a bit of a drive and and not that easy to find. The restaurant is buried deep in the bowels of the ginormous Silverlake Lodge. It is very elegant with nice furniture and dim lighting. The service is fine dining. The wine list is excellent. There is a wide selection in the menu or you can have the wine and multiple small samples combination which works quite well. It is worth considering for a special dinner.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposa also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.