We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway

Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway
1845 E Cedar Trails Way, Park City, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 attractions in Park City
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
Newport Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The road is closed for at least 4 months a year, depending on the weather. Summer or fall, however, the views and trees are absolutely beautiful. It's a great way to feel like you're in the middle of nowhere while actually being close to the Montage or the Homestead resorts. A gorgeous drive!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gotta do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Of course it may not be open when you're visiting, but should be on your list of mountain adventure experiences. It's a great way to venture up Big Cottonwood and come down into Park City. We went up this spring with out of town visitors and I was surprised how good the was. We all had a fun time on that beautiful day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Fall drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We made this drive after eating lunch at the Montage Resort. We come to Park City every year and had never been on this road....shame on us! In the Fall, it's amazing with all of the beautiful colors. If you like, you can continue the road to Salt Lake, or to Midway, but going to the summit is spectacular.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a very leisurely trip. Also called Big Cottonwood Canyon, we were afforded beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. Some of the trees were changing color and you were surprised by the splash of color. We went through areas that were totally evergreens down to below the tree level into various trees such as aspen, etc. There is a lovely restaurant on the way down with a beautiful outdoor deck. We returned to Park City via the interstate.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top of the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This highway is for the skilled mountain driver. Lots of sharp curves, cliffs, rapid ascent and very rapid descent. 11000Ft at the summit and the views are fantastic. We were very fortunate as the leaves were almost at peak....Be sure to take the trip up to Guardsman Pass from Park City. Incorporate the trip down to Brighton and make sure to hike around Silver Lake and up to the twin lakes. When finished, cap you trip off with a drive back up to Gurardsman Pass and then to Midway...Well worth while and a drive to remember.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway to your Saves list