We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful vistas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway

Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway
1845 E Cedar Trails Way, Park City, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 attractions in Park City
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
Idyllwild, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a very leisurely trip. Also called Big Cottonwood Canyon, we were afforded beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. Some of the trees were changing color and you were surprised by the splash of color. We went through areas that were totally evergreens down to below the tree level into various trees such as aspen, etc. There is a lovely restaurant on the way down with a beautiful outdoor deck. We returned to Park City via the interstate.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top of the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This highway is for the skilled mountain driver. Lots of sharp curves, cliffs, rapid ascent and very rapid descent. 11000Ft at the summit and the views are fantastic. We were very fortunate as the leaves were almost at peak....Be sure to take the trip up to Guardsman Pass from Park City. Incorporate the trip down to Brighton and make sure to hike around Silver Lake and up to the twin lakes. When finished, cap you trip off with a drive back up to Gurardsman Pass and then to Midway...Well worth while and a drive to remember.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top of the world - THE VIEW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a must see in the summer months!!! The road is paved most of the way with some of it a bit washboardy. We had a compact rental car and it handled it easily. THE VIEWS of the mountain ranges and valleys is incredible and is a must see. We went from the Park City side to the Big Cottonwood side. I think in the future, I will pack a picnic and spend some time along the creek at the picnic sites in Big Cottonwood Canyon! Really great!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular...but not for the faint of heart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We drove the winding back way to Park City from Salt Lake City through Big Cottonwood Canyon. Lots of climbers out on the steep rock cliffs as we wound our way up to Guardsmen Pass. Be sure to stop at the top and gaze down into the valley and across the mountains you have just come through. A few aspens are already golden against a sea of dark green. This picturesque drive is not for the faint of heart--no guard rails and the road is narrow.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stop and hike or bike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We hiked on the Wasatch crest trail - which is also a bike trail. Everyone was enjoying the trail and the views were immense.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway to your Saves list