We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort exceeded our expectations!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2307 W. High Mountain Rd, Park City, UT 84098   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Nights - 20% Off!
Ranked #16 of 59 hotels in Park City
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Resort exceeded our expectations!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a beautiful resort and we loved everything about it! The staff was so kind to us and overall amazing!!! They called prior to our stay to welcome us and when we checked in everyone immediately came to aid us in getting checked in and settled into our room! Upon entering our 2 bedroom suite we were completely blown away! "WOW!" was the first word that came out of the mouths of my family when we walked into the room!! The facilities were new, stylish and very classy! The view was gorgeous and the staff was ready to accomodate us in getting our excursions booked. The ski school staff arrived at our rooms to measure us for our ski boots and the staff at the Canyons resort ski school were magnificent as well!! This was one of our favorite vacations and we travel quite a bit. I came on this trip with my husband, parents and two small children. My parents were blown away and my very reserved husband (who rarely comments about much) remarked to me "this is a very nice resort and you really planned a great vacation!" We hope to return here in the future!

Room Tip: I have no tips because we loved everything!! I would suggest buying groceries and cooking in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    55
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
80
90
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

As a family who travels a lot to Hilton properties all over the USA, we expected the usual high quality service and amenities Platinum Awards members are usually given. Unfortunately, this place needs help!

Although this property was virtually empty, they refused to upgrade our family of 4 to a 2 bedroom room. After resigning ourselves to trying to squeeze into what they gave us, we requested 1 roll-away bed, to be told, "We don't have any at all on the property" and to use the fold out couch in the living room. That doesn't exactly work with a 24 daughter and 30 year son. In desperation, at bedtime, we broke down and agreed to pay for the connecting studio room. This is a racket because each 1 bedroom has a studio next to it which is part of the same room entrance, and it's obviously unrented. The management suggests it as a solution to a room that is too small for the family. What a rip-off!

It is not a "ski-off" property. You have to carry your skis up a rocky, muddy, ice-chunked hill to the Sunrise lift within sight. How nice it would be for Hilton to at least pave a clean, safe walkway there.
The room temperatures were burning hot in spite of keeping the thermostat on off.
The 2 hot tubs are miniature for the size of the property.
The front desk staff can't answer a question without calling 3 managers down to tell them what the answer is.
An when you check out, don't ask for any copies of the bill showing a breakdown of costs and to separate the charges on to 2 credit cards, because if you do, you risk the chance of missing your return flight due to their confusion at the most basic computer work.

These employees need more training or perhaps, they just don't get enough practice dealing with customers due to property's vacancies.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the big parking lot across the street. The ski operation employees careen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us and let us know how we can improve. I’m sorry that the experience you had was far below what we expect from our team and our facilities. Please know that we will share your feedback internally in an effort to improve the experience at Sunrise Lodge. Also, please note, we were not able to give you a complimentary upgrade as you expected. Please refer to http://hhonors3.hilton.com/en/explore/benefits/index.html for specifics on all the benefits of the HHonors program.


J. Rafe Sykes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I recently spent 5 nights at the Sunrise Lodge in Utah. It is a new, well designed property. The rooms come equipped with small fridge, microwave and cook-top for drinks, snacks, and light meals which I find very convenient when traveling for that long. In the lobby each day there was an assortment of Keurig coffees and teas for you to enjoy.

There is a ski valet that checks your skis and poles from you almost right at the lift, such convenience! It takes a little planning to be sure to end up back at the right lift at the end of the day, so that you end up at the resort and not have to walk, but its doable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a top floor as we could hear the people above us walking back and forth - surprisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful property with absolutely outstanding service. Ski-in, ski-out and just a sort walk to the restaurants and bars in the village at the Canyons. The price is very good for the location and service, but there were two things that I was disappointed in. The first is that the web site is deceiving about the rooms. What is pictured as "Guest Rooms" shows a room with a bed, kitchenette and a sitting area with a couch. This is NOT the room we got. While our room was very nice, it was also incredibly small, especially when you have two large bags with ski clothes. There was a lot of furniture crammed into this room (king bed, small table w/ two kitchen chairs, and dresser with very small drawers, and a padded chair that could in no way be classified as "easy"), and just enough room to walk around all of it. The bath was quite large with a separate tub and large shower, but I would rather have more room in the bedroom. The other thing I didn't like was the noise. We were in the bedroom of a larger suite that shared a vestibule. At the beginning of the week we did not have suite-mates and all was quiet, but as soon as they put people in the other room the noise traveled across the vestibule as if they were in the same room with us. We also had the thermostat problem mentioned by another reviewer. All-in-all we enjoyed our stay very much because the people who work there are really wonderful. Just make sure you get the room you think you are booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently stayed at the property, located in the Canyons Resort, for Sundance with a few friends. The property is about 10 minute drive from downtown Park City and a taxi shouldn't be more than $10. The concierge will be there to assist you with that if need be. As far as the lodge it is brand new so there were no issues as far as that goes, pool and hot tub were both nice and warm and clean. The rooms were large with full kitchen in the larger suites and I highly recommend for a family or group of friends who want to be together but also get some of their own space. The property sits near a ski lift so by definition it's ski in-ski out, but I recommend walking the 5 minutes over to the main gondola you'll get further quicker. Overall would definitely stay here again. No restaurant on property which means no room service. But it was fine, just a short walk over to the main Canyons area to have all the food and drink options for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Sunrise Lodge is mostly a walk-in and walk-out lodging which is not to be confused with ski-in and ski-out. That's okay because the walk is a modest one to the lift even with gear in tow.
The property is very nice and confortable. On our stay, we were expecting a full kitchen in every room; however, the studios only have a kitchenette which is useless. Otherwise, the studio is set up like a regular, small hotel room. But hey, at least there's complimentary wi-fi.
The ammenities are nice. The ski valet in the back is very useful. The weight is fully stocked as far as most hotel weightrooms go. The outdoor pool and hottube are heated yearround. The rooms all have safes. And the valets and bellmen are quickly, friendly, and efficient.
How could this hotel improve? Well, short of rebuilding the studio rooms, there are some things left. There doesn't seem to be any priority or perks for Hilton Honors members. If Hilton values loyality, couldn't they throw a bone to loyality customers? The rooms really need a desk. You can get a desk in a room at cheaper hotel chains so at least Hilton could've thought of this. The concierage desk could be more informed. When asking for restaurant recommendations in town, the concierage had a difficult time. Now, if a concierage can't give good restaurant recommendations, there is something seriously wrong. Well, at least there is a concierage for what it's worth. The maids don't like to leave new soaps. After a stay of 5 nights, we never once got a new soap from housekeeping. Instead, everyday we would track down housekeeping in the halls for soap. Another word about housekeeeping is that they are late finishing their rounds at 5 PM. Since the lifts close at 4 PM, most people are returning to their rooms at some times when housekeeping is there.
When it's all said and done, you can get a good night's sleep here. So, should you stay here? That depends on what you are after. If you want a good location close to Canyons and a clean resort, this place is it. If you want ammenities with your stay such a restaurant, bar, spa, full kitchen, market, etc., you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us and highlight some of our outstanding team members and letting us know where we can improve. We appreciate your review and will use it to improve our guest experience.

J. Rafe Sykes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just finished a stay @ this property in relatively peak season (end of February), and I'm so happy with the choice to stay here. It's in Canyons, very easily walkable to the main resort area with the Red Pine lift & restaurants. Literally, the distance from the middle of a mall parking lot to the department store door. When researching hotels, the other prices in Canyons (or PC overall, really) for relatively comparable properties were literally coming up $500 a night, minimum. Some stuff was coming up $900-$1200 a night. We wanted a nice property...but $1200 a night? Two nights, and that's a nice mortgage payment, that's dumb (unless it's your honeymoon or something). If you need room service or on-site restaurant, they don't have that, but honestly, you can walk about 500 feet out the door & get whatever you want. Nice hot tub & heated pool area, centrally located & sunny gym. Awesome staff & enough space in the room (we got the studio) for everything - alot of open areas for ski boots, skis, etc. Good bathrooms & the usual small area w/ microwave, sink, & coffee. I booked an AAA discount & got about 10% off web rates.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms due to split stay (went to southern Utah for a bit) - 442C faces ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club

Also Known As:
Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club Park City, Utah
Address: 2307 W. High Mountain Rd, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Park City
#10 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable vacation at Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club. Nestled in the mountainside village of the Canyons Resort, the resort offers a year-round destination for skiing, hiking, exploring and relaxation. Surrounded by the Wasatch Mountain range next to the Sunrise Lift, we are just minutes from Park City Mountain Resort and Deer Valley Resort. Rooms range from studios with sofa sleepers up to four bedroom suites with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.