We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you get the room you want” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2307 W. High Mountain Rd, Park City, UT 84098   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early - Save 20%
Ranked #14 of 59 hotels in Park City
Troy, MI
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Make sure you get the room you want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful property with absolutely outstanding service. Ski-in, ski-out and just a sort walk to the restaurants and bars in the village at the Canyons. The price is very good for the location and service, but there were two things that I was disappointed in. The first is that the web site is deceiving about the rooms. What is pictured as "Guest Rooms" shows a room with a bed, kitchenette and a sitting area with a couch. This is NOT the room we got. While our room was very nice, it was also incredibly small, especially when you have two large bags with ski clothes. There was a lot of furniture crammed into this room (king bed, small table w/ two kitchen chairs, and dresser with very small drawers, and a padded chair that could in no way be classified as "easy"), and just enough room to walk around all of it. The bath was quite large with a separate tub and large shower, but I would rather have more room in the bedroom. The other thing I didn't like was the noise. We were in the bedroom of a larger suite that shared a vestibule. At the beginning of the week we did not have suite-mates and all was quiet, but as soon as they put people in the other room the noise traveled across the vestibule as if they were in the same room with us. We also had the thermostat problem mentioned by another reviewer. All-in-all we enjoyed our stay very much because the people who work there are really wonderful. Just make sure you get the room you think you are booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    71
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
97
122
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently stayed at the property, located in the Canyons Resort, for Sundance with a few friends. The property is about 10 minute drive from downtown Park City and a taxi shouldn't be more than $10. The concierge will be there to assist you with that if need be. As far as the lodge it is brand new so there were no issues as far as that goes, pool and hot tub were both nice and warm and clean. The rooms were large with full kitchen in the larger suites and I highly recommend for a family or group of friends who want to be together but also get some of their own space. The property sits near a ski lift so by definition it's ski in-ski out, but I recommend walking the 5 minutes over to the main gondola you'll get further quicker. Overall would definitely stay here again. No restaurant on property which means no room service. But it was fine, just a short walk over to the main Canyons area to have all the food and drink options for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Sunrise Lodge is mostly a walk-in and walk-out lodging which is not to be confused with ski-in and ski-out. That's okay because the walk is a modest one to the lift even with gear in tow.
The property is very nice and confortable. On our stay, we were expecting a full kitchen in every room; however, the studios only have a kitchenette which is useless. Otherwise, the studio is set up like a regular, small hotel room. But hey, at least there's complimentary wi-fi.
The ammenities are nice. The ski valet in the back is very useful. The weight is fully stocked as far as most hotel weightrooms go. The outdoor pool and hottube are heated yearround. The rooms all have safes. And the valets and bellmen are quickly, friendly, and efficient.
How could this hotel improve? Well, short of rebuilding the studio rooms, there are some things left. There doesn't seem to be any priority or perks for Hilton Honors members. If Hilton values loyality, couldn't they throw a bone to loyality customers? The rooms really need a desk. You can get a desk in a room at cheaper hotel chains so at least Hilton could've thought of this. The concierage desk could be more informed. When asking for restaurant recommendations in town, the concierage had a difficult time. Now, if a concierage can't give good restaurant recommendations, there is something seriously wrong. Well, at least there is a concierage for what it's worth. The maids don't like to leave new soaps. After a stay of 5 nights, we never once got a new soap from housekeeping. Instead, everyday we would track down housekeeping in the halls for soap. Another word about housekeeeping is that they are late finishing their rounds at 5 PM. Since the lifts close at 4 PM, most people are returning to their rooms at some times when housekeeping is there.
When it's all said and done, you can get a good night's sleep here. So, should you stay here? That depends on what you are after. If you want a good location close to Canyons and a clean resort, this place is it. If you want ammenities with your stay such a restaurant, bar, spa, full kitchen, market, etc., you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us and highlight some of our outstanding team members and letting us know where we can improve. We appreciate your review and will use it to improve our guest experience.

J. Rafe Sykes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just finished a stay @ this property in relatively peak season (end of February), and I'm so happy with the choice to stay here. It's in Canyons, very easily walkable to the main resort area with the Red Pine lift & restaurants. Literally, the distance from the middle of a mall parking lot to the department store door. When researching hotels, the other prices in Canyons (or PC overall, really) for relatively comparable properties were literally coming up $500 a night, minimum. Some stuff was coming up $900-$1200 a night. We wanted a nice property...but $1200 a night? Two nights, and that's a nice mortgage payment, that's dumb (unless it's your honeymoon or something). If you need room service or on-site restaurant, they don't have that, but honestly, you can walk about 500 feet out the door & get whatever you want. Nice hot tub & heated pool area, centrally located & sunny gym. Awesome staff & enough space in the room (we got the studio) for everything - alot of open areas for ski boots, skis, etc. Good bathrooms & the usual small area w/ microwave, sink, & coffee. I booked an AAA discount & got about 10% off web rates.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms due to split stay (went to southern Utah for a bit) - 442C faces ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Brand new but not great. Studio rooms are small and very poorly lit. Despite our thermostat being on 69 the room was an unbearable 81 degrees all night. The hotel doesn't have robes yet to enjoy the hot tubs outside. There is no signage so it's nearly impossible to find the ski valet. Even though I'm a Gold HHonors member and there were nicer rooms available, they wouldn't upgrade me. The most egregious omission is the lack of a restaurant on site (we were told Cantons resort forbad it). There's not even a store or market for snacks and the hotel only provides cheap k cup coffee in the lobby. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send your thoughts. We appreciate the feedback and will use the information provided to make improvements. New signage is now in place and robes will be in rooms soon. I’m sorry that your experience was not what my team and I expect. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss your stay directly. I can be reached at rsykes@hgvc.com.


J. Rafe Sykes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The experience has to do with the dedication of the persons on the property. I can't stress enough the professionalism knowledge and dedication Renee at the front desk, whose manager was also very helpful, mark should be commended for their efforts. I would highly recommend using their services, mad

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been HGVC members for 2 years - and feeling so so about it - but this really is a great property: ski lift is 100' from Hotel, one-bedroom units and up are spacious (but studios are much smaller), the place is brand new and solidly built, there are only a little bit more than 80 units and thus it has a boutique feel to it, staff is very friendly and helpful. Only minus: it doesn't have a bar or restaurant (but free coffee/tea in the lobby and there is a restaurant next door at the Hyatt Escala). Bottom line: We liked it so much that we bought a time share there! (for HGVC members: this works differently than the other HGVC resort, as you can buy a specific week here)

Room Tip: Some studios have a couch and a fireplace, but they feel more cramped, the bed is smaller and they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review us and congratulations on your purchase! We look forward to welcoming you next time!

J. Rafe Sykes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club

Address: 2307 W. High Mountain Rd, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Park City
#4 Family Hotel in Park City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable vacation at Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club. Nestled in the mountainside village of the Canyons Resort, the resort offers a year-round destination for skiing, hiking, exploring and relaxation. Surrounded by the Wasatch Mountain range next to the Sunrise Lift, we are just minutes from Park City Mountain Resort and Deer Valley Resort. Rooms range from studios with sofa sleepers up to four bedroom suites with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Lodge, a Hilton Grand Vacations Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.