We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chateaux in Park City is a gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chateaux Deer Valley

Save Saved
You added The Chateaux Deer Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chateaux Deer Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7815 Royal St E, Park City, UT 84060 (Formerly The Chateaux at Silver Lake)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dine & Stay
Ranked #6 of 59 hotels in Park City
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“The Chateaux in Park City is a gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently stayed at the Chateaux from Feb 13-17, 2013. This was my first time staying at this property. I must admit I was super impressed. This kind of praise for a hotel stay does not come often from me as I am seasoned traveler for business and pleasure. First off, the location of this property is awesome and close to the mountain if you are skiiing. The hotel was very nice and really had that luxury ski lodge vibe. The room was clean, with a large bathroom, mini kitchenette including a microwave and small fridge. My room had a cozy fireplace which was great to turn on after a day of skiing. My great experience actually stemmed from the amazing level of service. Front desk staff were super cheerful and helpful. The courtesy shuttle dude was excellent and timely. He made sure I was dropped off to the right restaurant on main street and would even come get me when I was ready. The staff in the restaurant and the bar within the hotel were super cool and friendly as well. All the staff really made an effort to know who you were and to be as helpful as possible. The level of service was akin to my expectations of staying at the Four Seasons - on this trip, the people at the Chateaux exceeded my expectations in almost every way possible. A very nice suprise for this seasoned traveler.

Room Tip: I would get a room with a fireplace - so nice after being outside all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    49
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
82
93
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The room was extremely small and the room was located separate from the main building so you had to walk through the underground garage to get anywhere. The ceiling was peeling in the bathroom and just looked unkept and old. The blowdryer in the room also didn't work. For $400 a night all of this is absolutely unacceptable. The service was pretty good considering everything else. The ski hill is just a short walk across the street so that wasn't bad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear aabarton,

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments regarding our service and easy access to Deer Valley Resort, both of which are certainly pillars of our success.

Please accept our apologies for the room and its accessibility not being to your liking. We should have done a better job in showing you how to access all of our rooms through our outdoor courtyard that has a beautiful water fountain and outdoor fire ring.

Please come back to visit us again as I am certain given another chance we will exceed your expectations.

Respectfully,

Greg Gendron
Hotel Manager
The Chateaux Deer Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed Feb 20-25 at the Chateau in Unit 399, a one bedroom condo overlooking a pool and hot tub. It had a fully equipped kitchen, that we did not use, but admired for its snazzy appliances. The two gas fireplaces created a nice ambiance, particularly for the snowy day we stayed indoors. There were a couple of room issues that were brought to the front desk, but resolved immediately. The service was spot-on. Everyone from the front desk, the concierge, the bar/wait staff to the ski rental shop were friendly and made us feel special. The morning breakfast could not have been better. We like a healthy and hearty breakfast and the Chateau's was exceptional. The location in Deer Valley to the lift was great. The driver service rounded out the excellence of the stay. No matter where you wanted to go, you could get there. No need for a vehicle. And All Resort Shuttle services the Chateau, making for seamless service from the airport. A shout out to all staff - your cheerfulness goes a long way. We will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I own a business in Denver and recently took our company (5 of us) to The Chateaux for our annual company vacation. From the moment we arrived the staff took care of our every need ranging from ski valet, concierge, housekeeping and bar/wait staff. We dealt with the same people every day and they were personable and courteous. They set the tone for our trip and seemed like friends by the time we left. We rented a three bedroom suite that had all the amenities we needed and was perfect for a group of our size. Every morning we started off with the buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious. It was a great way to kick off a day of skiing. As great as the breakfast was to start the day, the hotel bar was the perfect place to come unwind after a day of skiing and the 200 yard walk from the base of Deer Valley Resort. The bar had live music in the late afternoon and the bar staff were great.

This was my first trip to Park City and Deer Valley in particular and the Chateaux was recommended to me by a very close friend. I have every intention of coming back and would love to bring my family next time. If you want a luxury hotel that looks after all of your needs but with a down to earth, friendly attitude, then this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had 2 rooms from feb. 16-18. Standard room with double beds, each room cost $799 per night. We figured when we booked that it must be amazing, right, I mean $799. What a huge mistake we made staying here. A few problems we encountered. .
Room A - visible black mold in shower.
Tower warmer did not work.
Shower leaked water all over bathroom.
Ac did not work.

Room B - high hat light fixture was hanging from the ceiling..tv tiny (when we complained we were told it was a private unit and the owners chose not to have a large tv )

Oh and breakfast, free with room. I've eaten better at the holiday inn. No fresh eggs, only powdered eggs in a serving tin. No fresh Danishes, no fresh muffins, nothing. A huge joke, except very sad.
We will NEVER stay at this property again.
They should be ashamed of themselves for charging what they do and provide nothing more than. 3 star hotel.

Oh one more thing, we checked in late as we flew in from ny, no bell hop, not even an offer to help with our bags.

Room Tip: Forget which room, stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Michael J,

Thank you for your post. On behalf of the entire Chateaux team, please accept our apologies for your experience. We genuinely care about each guest visit and strive for perfection, but clearly fell short with your stay and as a team we feel terrible you left unhappy. We will certainly use all of your comments as a tool for improvement (only clarification being we do not use powdered eggs) moving forward.

Respectfully,

Greg Gendron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just left this hotel after a four night stay. It was fabulous. The location made it so convenient for skiing, and when we arrived, the bellman even took our skis across the street to the storage facility for the Deer Valley runs. The next morning, all we had to do was walk across the street, step into our skis, and start skiing. Deer Valley did not charge for the ski storage each night, and would not even take a tip. Chateaux Deer Valley accommodations were great. We had a standard hotel room, and it had a lovely dressing/double sink area with a mini refrigerator, a microwave and coffee maker. There were dishes and utensils in the drawer, and coffee creamer/coffee/tea all ready to go. The bed was super comfortable and the instant on fireplace made it very cozy. There is a large flat screen TV in the armoire. We never heard another person in the hall, and maids magically came and left without being seen or heard. There was apres ski music in the bar, and a nice lounge/fireplace in the lobby. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The free shuttle into Park City stops conveniently just in front of the hotel and goes very regularly. The Chateaux, however, also offers their own free shuttle that you order, either from town or from the resort. This location at Deer Valley was perfect. You are already halfway up the mountain, and pretty much ski right from your hotel. Stein Eriksen's Lodge and Goldener Hirsch is immediately across the street, adding more dining options. We came from a hotel in Salt Lake City, and paid $110 for an SUV to bring us with our skis. The same car service picked us up and took us to SLC airport at the end of our stay for the same amount. Ordering a car to the airport through the hotel would have cost $175, therefore I recommend VIP Car Service instead. The only down point of the hotel was the included breakfast. It is all buffet, and the scrambled eggs and bacon sit on a steam table for hours, making them like rubber. If you stick with the other fare, it's fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel if you want to stay mid-mountain. It's luxurious, but also very quite. The rooms are terrific and the fireplaces are a nice touch. The linens and pillows are soft and comfortable and the humidifiers in each room come in very handy in the dry winter months.

My only minor complaints are #1 - the bar scene is dead past 8pm, and sometimes never gets going at all. While it's nice that the have live entertainment apre ski, it's uncomfortable to be the only one in the bar, and #2 - it's a little off putting to always be walking to and from your room to the lobby through an underground parking garage (you can traverse outdoors in warmer weather).

That said, a stay here is a very nice way to pamper yourself and the staff is outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chateaux Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateaux Deer Valley

Address: 7815 Royal St E, Park City, UT 84060 (Formerly The Chateaux at Silver Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Park City
#5 Spa Hotel in Park City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#6 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chateaux Deer Valley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateaux at Silver Lake's elegant Deer Valley hotel and condos are located in the heart of Deer Valley Resort's mid-mountain Silver Lake Village. The Chateaux offers quality amenities, as well as a variety of finely appointed and spacious room types including hotel rooms, studios, and multi-bedroom suites. Simply walk out the door of The Chateaux and you are just a few steps away from the beautiful slopes of Deer Valley Resort, with three mid-mountain chair lifts and all the resort services at Silver Lake Lodge. Or take a short complimentary shuttle ride to Park City's Historic Main Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chateaux Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chateaux At Silver Lake Hotel Park City
The Chateaux Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chateaux Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.