We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience - Hospitality Done Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chateaux Deer Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Chateaux Deer Valley to your Saves list
The Chateaux Deer Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7815 Royal St E, Park City, UT 84060 (Formerly The Chateaux at Silver Lake)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Park City
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great Experience - Hospitality Done Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I own a business in Denver and recently took our company (5 of us) to The Chateaux for our annual company vacation. From the moment we arrived the staff took care of our every need ranging from ski valet, concierge, housekeeping and bar/wait staff. We dealt with the same people every day and they were personable and courteous. They set the tone for our trip and seemed like friends by the time we left. We rented a three bedroom suite that had all the amenities we needed and was perfect for a group of our size. Every morning we started off with the buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious. It was a great way to kick off a day of skiing. As great as the breakfast was to start the day, the hotel bar was the perfect place to come unwind after a day of skiing and the 200 yard walk from the base of Deer Valley Resort. The bar had live music in the late afternoon and the bar staff were great.

This was my first trip to Park City and Deer Valley in particular and the Chateaux was recommended to me by a very close friend. I have every intention of coming back and would love to bring my family next time. If you want a luxury hotel that looks after all of your needs but with a down to earth, friendly attitude, then this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    53
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
90
103
8
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodmere
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had 2 rooms from feb. 16-18. Standard room with double beds, each room cost $799 per night. We figured when we booked that it must be amazing, right, I mean $799. What a huge mistake we made staying here. A few problems we encountered. .
Room A - visible black mold in shower.
Tower warmer did not work.
Shower leaked water all over bathroom.
Ac did not work.

Room B - high hat light fixture was hanging from the ceiling..tv tiny (when we complained we were told it was a private unit and the owners chose not to have a large tv )

Oh and breakfast, free with room. I've eaten better at the holiday inn. No fresh eggs, only powdered eggs in a serving tin. No fresh Danishes, no fresh muffins, nothing. A huge joke, except very sad.
We will NEVER stay at this property again.
They should be ashamed of themselves for charging what they do and provide nothing more than. 3 star hotel.

Oh one more thing, we checked in late as we flew in from ny, no bell hop, not even an offer to help with our bags.

Room Tip: Forget which room, stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggendron, General Manager at The Chateaux Deer Valley, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Michael J,

Thank you for your post. On behalf of the entire Chateaux team, please accept our apologies for your experience. We genuinely care about each guest visit and strive for perfection, but clearly fell short with your stay and as a team we feel terrible you left unhappy. We will certainly use all of your comments as a tool for improvement (only clarification being we do not use powdered eggs) moving forward.

Respectfully,

Greg Gendron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just left this hotel after a four night stay. It was fabulous. The location made it so convenient for skiing, and when we arrived, the bellman even took our skis across the street to the storage facility for the Deer Valley runs. The next morning, all we had to do was walk across the street, step into our skis, and start skiing. Deer Valley did not charge for the ski storage each night, and would not even take a tip. Chateaux Deer Valley accommodations were great. We had a standard hotel room, and it had a lovely dressing/double sink area with a mini refrigerator, a microwave and coffee maker. There were dishes and utensils in the drawer, and coffee creamer/coffee/tea all ready to go. The bed was super comfortable and the instant on fireplace made it very cozy. There is a large flat screen TV in the armoire. We never heard another person in the hall, and maids magically came and left without being seen or heard. There was apres ski music in the bar, and a nice lounge/fireplace in the lobby. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The free shuttle into Park City stops conveniently just in front of the hotel and goes very regularly. The Chateaux, however, also offers their own free shuttle that you order, either from town or from the resort. This location at Deer Valley was perfect. You are already halfway up the mountain, and pretty much ski right from your hotel. Stein Eriksen's Lodge and Goldener Hirsch is immediately across the street, adding more dining options. We came from a hotel in Salt Lake City, and paid $110 for an SUV to bring us with our skis. The same car service picked us up and took us to SLC airport at the end of our stay for the same amount. Ordering a car to the airport through the hotel would have cost $175, therefore I recommend VIP Car Service instead. The only down point of the hotel was the included breakfast. It is all buffet, and the scrambled eggs and bacon sit on a steam table for hours, making them like rubber. If you stick with the other fare, it's fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel if you want to stay mid-mountain. It's luxurious, but also very quite. The rooms are terrific and the fireplaces are a nice touch. The linens and pillows are soft and comfortable and the humidifiers in each room come in very handy in the dry winter months.

My only minor complaints are #1 - the bar scene is dead past 8pm, and sometimes never gets going at all. While it's nice that the have live entertainment apre ski, it's uncomfortable to be the only one in the bar, and #2 - it's a little off putting to always be walking to and from your room to the lobby through an underground parking garage (you can traverse outdoors in warmer weather).

That said, a stay here is a very nice way to pamper yourself and the staff is outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our trip started out on the wrong foot when we arrived and were put in a suite that did not accommodate our family as promised/ reserved. Mistakes do happen and it is how they are handled that make or break your experience. The outstanding manager ( Mr. Greg Gendron) quickly rectified the situation and went out of his way to make sure we had a first class experience at the Chateaux. We found the entire staff to be extremely friendly and accommodating. My family raved about the breakfast every morning and my wife relied heavily on the terrific shuttle service.
The location was great and a very short walk to the slopes. Kudos to the entire staff at the Chateaux and we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Te4xas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Chateaux Deer Valley is one of the best winter lodges I know. I stayed during the Sundance Film Festival and, as crazy as it was, the service was excellent and the location was perfect for getting away from the noise and festival atmosphere down in Park City. One of the best things to do is stay in one of the condo's that have kitchens, fire places and lots of room but you still have the services of the hotel - housekeeping, free rides to anywhere and restaurant and bar. It is also ski-in/ski-out. Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Room 485 is great - excellent views, beautifully maintained by the owners and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is great to have a hotel that has a great location and comfortable rooms, but what truly makes an experience memorable from my perspective is the staff. In a day when it seems that customer service is a thing of the past, the staff at the Chateaux takes the extra steps to ensure that your stay is pleasant from all aspects. The attention paid at all levels including the front desk, shuttle drivers, concierge, wait staff and housekeeping were all impeccable! Many thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chateaux Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateaux Deer Valley

Address: 7815 Royal St E, Park City, UT 84060 (Formerly The Chateaux at Silver Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Park City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#6 Family Hotel in Park City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#10 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chateaux Deer Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateaux Deer Valley's elegant Deer Valley hotel and condos are located in the heart of Deer Valley Resort's mid-mountain Silver Lake Village. The Chateaux offers quality amenities, as well as a variety of finely appointed and spacious room types including hotel rooms, studios, and multi-bedroom suites. Simply walk out the door of The Chateaux and you are just a few steps away from the beautiful slopes of Deer Valley Resort, with three mid-mountain chair lifts and all the resort services at Silver Lake Lodge. Or take a short complimentary shuttle ride to Park City's Historic Main Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chateaux Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chateaux At Silver Lake Hotel Park City
The Chateaux Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chateaux Deer Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.